We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Booked in for two nights, however only ended up staying one. The welcome by staff was excellent and very professional. What we didn't realise was that a conference had been booked in and their last night was that night. They had a bit of a party with music been very loud and going through to about 11pm, on top of that, the room we had been issued was on the way out next to a carparking area, so when the party finished, every one drove past or hopped in their car. It was disruptive and made it a very long night. In saying, Monaco is lovely and a nice set up. It is a littel way out from Nelson so if drinking you are restricted to either the pub across the road or the restaurant on site. For the right occasion I would stay there again

Room Tip: Upgrade and stay at a apartment or Studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toja69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear toja69
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apts. I am really happy to read that you found the staff to be welcoming and professional. I am sorry that you were disrupted by our conference guests but glad that you liked the setting and we hope to be able to welcome you back one day in the future.
Thank you again for your comments.
Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    329
    94
    32
    19
See reviews for
172
455
40
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Service once again was excellent as were the facilities. Signature lamb dish in the restaurant lived up to the usual high standards.
Room was immaculate and spacious, better than some of the hotel units.
Back again this week and looking forward to it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Steve B
Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely comments on tripadvisor.
I am really pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal in the Orangerie Restaurant, I will definitely pass your comments onto our head chef regarding the lamb dish, I am sure that he will be delighted to hear your comments.
I am glad that you enjoyed your room and found it immaculate.
Thanks again for sharing your comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We used to live in Nelson and always admired the hotel. Now we are visiting we decided to stay for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. It was fantastic. We had super friendly staff throughout our stay. The bed was comfortable and each room had its own ensuite, no waiting for a bathroom once our teenage daughter locked herself in there !!! Nice spa, pool and gymnasium if you feel energetic. The room had a small kitchen with a dish drawer , front loading washing machine , 2 burner gas hob and a fridge. Well worth visiting if you want something a little special.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Charles B
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments on tripadvisor. I am really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be friendly. At the Grand Mercure we are constantly striving to provide a superior service experience so your comments are much appreciated and I will be sure to pass these onto the rest of the team.
Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

If you are looking for something a bit more special than your average hotel, try the the Monaco. This was out third stay. The standard rooms are very tight but pay a bit more for a studio or an apartment and there is plenty of space to spread out - and make sure you take a walk out to the point at low tide. It is magical!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank PMJ138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear PMJ138
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us at The Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. I am really pleased to hear that you keep coming back. The Standard hotel rooms are best suited to those travellers who require a quick overnight stop, however you are right in saying that the One Bedroom Studios are definitely worth spending a little bit more on.
Thank you again for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again next time.
Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Who would have thought that somewhere in the South Island is a tiny little English Tudor village. Oh wait, no, it's the Monaco Apartments!

We arrived late and night and came across typical excellent service from friendly staff as I've come to expect from Mercure locations around the world. We weren't expecting a Mercure that was some combination of top tier motel, hotel and serviced apartments.

Somehow, it works really well, and we ended up staying for two comfortable nights and really enjoyed Nelson and the surrounding area, as our last stop on a road-trip around the South Island before heading to the North Island.

We stayed in apartment 714 (downstairs in a little town house) and the apartment was well designed and comfortable, although we found it a little dark. The kitchenette was perfect for our needs, and the living room and bedroom was comfortable.

It's the staff that make it in the end, and every interaction was friendly, helpful and professional.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonButcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear SimonButcher
Thank you for sharing your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco.
I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff to be friendly, helpful and professional and the service to be excellent.
I will share your comments with the rest of our team as I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all as we continuously strive to improve the quality of our services.
I will also pass your comments regarding the lighting onto our maintenance manager for him to follow up on.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Great location and great hotel, beautiful tudor style but only built in 2004 so modern fittings and fixtures. The bird houses built into the side of the building are a nice touch.

Very close to a five star hotel and would not take much to make it that and defiantly one of the better properties I have stayed in..
Very clean and tidy, very helpful staff.. the level maintenance could be improved though..
Looks like a great location and setup for weddings, they were setting up for one during my stay.

Close to the airport ($17 taxi ride) but a bit further to town, plenty of parking.

Restaurant was ok, service was good but the breakfasts are very basic and not that well thought out. i.e all the fruit was tinned.. (This is Nelson and it shouldn't be..)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snmp68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear snmp68. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we appreciate your constructive feedback about the maintenance and the breakfast buffet. I will be following up your comments with our Food & Beverage Manager and Maintenance Manager to address these issues, and prevent future occurrence wherever possible. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.
Kind regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We were impressed with the reception staff right from the start of the stay. They new their 'stuff' and it has been a long time since we have been that impressed with front of house people. Well done Jackie and Sharon.
We arrived for a couples weekend with a studio booking. On arrival we asked if we could up-grade to a suite and nothing was a problem. Suite was great, nice size, clean. Staff were great, weather was great. All in all a very pleasurable weekend.
We would have no hesitation in recommending a stay at the Monaco, and we will be back too.

Room Tip: Studio rooms face the water and the suites have the village green for ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank autoadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear Autoadvisor, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel and I am pleased that you enjoyed staying in one of our suites. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will pass your great comments on to Jackie and Sharon as I know that they will appreciate them. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
4.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
4.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
3.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
3.7 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#6 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Property: Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Address: 6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nelson
#3 Family Hotel in Nelson
#6 Business Hotel in Nelson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers luxury boutique accommodation by the water in Nelson, New Zealand. Located only about five minutes' drive from Nelson Airport and 15 minutes drive to the city centre. Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers well-appointed accommodation for up to 215 guests in boutique hotel rooms, along with a range of self-contained apartment accommodation including one-bedroom studios, one-bedroom spa cottages and two-bedroom cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments Hotel Richmond
Grand Accor Nelson Monaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing