We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Nearby Hotels
The Sails Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbourside Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Century Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palms Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$134
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trailways Hotel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delorenzos Studio Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arcadia Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palazzo Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Crest Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (990)
Filter reviews
990 results
Traveller rating
452
375
100
40
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
452
375
100
40
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsenglish villagehonest lawyervillage greenbedroom cottageold englishonsite restaurantgas fireclose to the airportenglish stylewashing machinethe cottagesgreat pubhotel roomminute drivelounge areanew zealandlarge bathroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
523 - 528 of 990 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights during our 2 week New Zealand holiday. The hotel is laid out like an old English cottage town complete with a village green, Hyde Street and a nearby pub. The room itself was a one bedroom apartment with a kitchenette, refrigerator and washer/dryer. The hotel obviously responded to some earlier comments by having screens on our windows so they could be opened for ventilation. I noted some negative comments that they thought the hotel was on the water when it is actually on a tidal area that is often muddy. A quick check on map software had alerted us to that fact in advance, so it was not a surprise. The one drawback to the hotel is that it is about 5 miles from town, which is a pricey cab ride or a trip on the bus which only runs once an hour. However, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff truly made our stay. The ultimate example was when we reached the airport and found I had left my hat in the room. A call to reception confirmed that housekeeping had found it and I queried about overnighting it to our next destination. After a moment on hold reception said that the hotel manager was running it over to the airport to get it to me before boarding. Imagine that happening in the US!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BearTraveler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear BearTraveler69
Thank you for your positive comments regarding our friendly and helpful staff.
I am delighted to read that the reception team were able to help you with regards to your hat and that my front office manager was able to drop it off at the airport prior to you boarding the plane. I have shared your comments with the team and they are very appreciative of your kind words.
Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us.
Kind Regards
Clare Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Just superb setting and excellent staff.
We received an upgrade room without asking and loved the space. The orangerie restaurant is a lovely setting. Will definitiely recomend to others.
Loved the ducks that came to visit.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank disappointed653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear disappointed653
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful comments on tripadvisor.
I am delighted to read that you had such a positive experience with us and that you found the staff to be excellent, the setting superb, that you enjoyed the Orangerie Restaurant and not to mention our very friendly ducks! I am pleased that we were able to give you a complimentary upgrade. It is always such a pleasure to recieve wonderful feedback like this and we really appreciate you taking the time to share it with other travellers.
Kindest Regards
Clare Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful right from the get go - happily showing us a couple of rooms that we had to choose from. The rooms were comfortable, well priced and very quiet. This hotel is definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsMarg70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear MsMarg70
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apts. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Kindest Regards
Clare Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews