We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with great service”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Gorgeous hotel near the bay. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom cottage which was perfect as we were there 8 days. Cottage included a full kitchen, dishwasher and laundry. Grounds of hotel were just stunning, with beautiful gardens and ponds. Hotel was very close to downtown Nelson and there were biking and jogging paths nearby. Bike rentals were available at a competitive price and the staff were superb, very attentive and provided some great recommendations for exploring both Nelson and Abel Tasman National Park. Would stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Kelly K
Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apts. I am really pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel grounds, gardens and ponds and that we were able to upgrade you to one of our lovely two bedroom cottages which provided all the facilities you required to make it a comfortable 8 night stay.
We are so appreciative of all your positive comments and feel very humbled that you would recommend our hotel to your peers – Thank you!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.
Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    342
    94
    32
    19
See reviews for
177
474
42
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bear, Delaware
Level Contributor
216 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights during our 2 week New Zealand holiday. The hotel is laid out like an old English cottage town complete with a village green, Hyde Street and a nearby pub. The room itself was a one bedroom apartment with a kitchenette, refrigerator and washer/dryer. The hotel obviously responded to some earlier comments by having screens on our windows so they could be opened for ventilation. I noted some negative comments that they thought the hotel was on the water when it is actually on a tidal area that is often muddy. A quick check on map software had alerted us to that fact in advance, so it was not a surprise. The one drawback to the hotel is that it is about 5 miles from town, which is a pricey cab ride or a trip on the bus which only runs once an hour. However, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff truly made our stay. The ultimate example was when we reached the airport and found I had left my hat in the room. A call to reception confirmed that housekeeping had found it and I queried about overnighting it to our next destination. After a moment on hold reception said that the hotel manager was running it over to the airport to get it to me before boarding. Imagine that happening in the US!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BearTraveler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear BearTraveler69
Thank you for your positive comments regarding our friendly and helpful staff.
I am delighted to read that the reception team were able to help you with regards to your hat and that my front office manager was able to drop it off at the airport prior to you boarding the plane. I have shared your comments with the team and they are very appreciative of your kind words.
Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us.
Kind Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Just superb setting and excellent staff.
We received an upgrade room without asking and loved the space. The orangerie restaurant is a lovely setting. Will definitiely recomend to others.
Loved the ducks that came to visit.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank disappointed653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear disappointed653
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful comments on tripadvisor.
I am delighted to read that you had such a positive experience with us and that you found the staff to be excellent, the setting superb, that you enjoyed the Orangerie Restaurant and not to mention our very friendly ducks! I am pleased that we were able to give you a complimentary upgrade. It is always such a pleasure to recieve wonderful feedback like this and we really appreciate you taking the time to share it with other travellers.
Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful right from the get go - happily showing us a couple of rooms that we had to choose from. The rooms were comfortable, well priced and very quiet. This hotel is definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsMarg70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear MsMarg70
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apts. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
4.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
659 reviews
4.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
3.6 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
477 reviews
4.2 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
142 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#15 of 41 in Nelson
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Property: Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Address: 6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nelson
#3 Family Hotel in Nelson
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
#6 Business Hotel in Nelson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers luxury boutique accommodation by the water in Nelson, New Zealand. Located only about five minutes' drive from Nelson Airport and 15 minutes drive to the city centre. Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers well-appointed accommodation for up to 215 guests in boutique hotel rooms, along with a range of self-contained apartment accommodation including one-bedroom studios, one-bedroom spa cottages and two-bedroom cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments Hotel Richmond
Grand Accor Nelson Monaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing