We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    342
    94
    32
    19
See reviews for
177
474
42
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed here in a 2 bed 2 bath, for a friends son's wedding. impressed with the size & decor. The whole complex is like an old English village with so many quant spots. The staff were amazing nothing was any trouble. Highly recommended. I've already booked to stay again.

Room Tip: There is a choice of 1 larger bathroom with the two bed or 2 on suite, make sure you request what yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Fabulous,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apts. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we appreciate your continued loyalty in choosing to stay at our hotel whenever you are in Nelson.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back to sunny Nelson and Monaco on your next visit to Nelson.

Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Isa, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We used the hotel and grounds for our wedding ceremony and reception venue.
Excellent value, wonderful, friendly and professional staff keen to help.
Beautifully kept grounds, well maintained flower beds and grassy areas.
We had a perfect day thanks to the efforts of the staff, going the extra mile to ensure everything was set-up correctly and that nothing was missed. Couldn't have hoped for anything better.
Thank you team at the Grand Mecure Nelson.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLaffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear DLaffers,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent Wedding at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apts, congratulations on your special day! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback . I will be sure to share your comments with all our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed here two nights, three nights apart. The first night i was upgraded to a villa and the second night was in a normal room, which was still fabulous. Everything about this hotel is great. While i was staying by myself in the room, i was traveling with a group of friends. The hotel has lots of great facilities and is over the road from The Honest Lawyer pub and a short taxi drive away from the airport and into town. I would go back again. On my second night i had room service, it was good food and came within 25 mins. The restaurant was very busy for breakfast so you want to get in early.

Room Tip: Good for solo travelers, friends, tour groups and families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelChch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear BelChch
Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that we were able to give you a complimentary upgrade on one of your stays and that you enjoyed both the standard hotel room as well as the One Bedroom Studio. Thank you for your comments regarding your room service meal, I have passed your feedback onto our Chef who appreciates your positive feedback. We hope to be able to welcome you back next time you are in Nelson and thank you once again for your lovely comments.

Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

It is hard to describe this hotel because while it might perfectly suit some peoples' needs, it was not what I expected.

It's also hard to decide how to describe the decor. Is it outdated or quaint?

If you have a car and are able to navigate on your own, and if you are looking for a quiet location, then this may very well be the ideal lodging for you. It has a lot of amenities on site which you can find on their website,

Being young, single, and not willing to drive in NZ, this location was way too off the beaten path. It was a $25 cab ride each way to downtown Nelson. There was nowhere close by in walking distance to find any kind of nightlife.

The rooms were clean and the staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank navidad_not
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear navidad_not
Thank you for taking the time to review the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apts and we understand your comments regarding the hotel décor and location. We appreciate that we have a distinct style to the property, and that this may not always be suitable to everyone’s tastes. We do try to market our location so people are aware that we are not located in the Nelson city centre, but we believe that our location on the Monaco Point offers great views to our guests and is suited to guests that do have their own transport. I am pleased that you found our staff helpful and friendly as we do pride ourselves on giving good service. We hope you return to enjoy Nelson in the future and once again thank you for your honest feedback.

Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This hotel is one of the most impressive and beautifully maintained hotels I have ever stayed in. It is themed round an old fashioned village with each room having a front and back door surrounded by beautiful gardens. There is a "village green and Main Street". The whole thing could be too much, but it is so well done and thoughtfully maintained that it is absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear John L,
Thank you for your wonderful review. It sounds like you had a great stay! We truly appreciate all your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Our family of four stayed here for 4 nights and found the experience very good. The reception staff were great and very informative. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was spacious and well appointed with all you need for self catering. There is also a restaurant in site and a good pub across the road.
the weather was miserable while we were in nelson but the surrounds of the complex were welcoming and we used the spa to warm up as well. Only real criticism is the noise factor of wooden doors and brick and stone walls make noisy partners when climbing the stairs and going between rooms. The complimentary drink given to,us on arrival also made it easy for us to,try out the restaurant and bar on the resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stubby70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Stubby70
Thank you for your lovely positive comments about the reception staff, I will pass this feedback on to the team, I am sure that your comments will serve as an encouragement to all as we are constantly striving to improve the quality of our service. I am also really pleased to read that you found the two bedroom cottage to be well equipped and all you needed for your 4 night stay. I am sorry to see that the weather did not live up to our normal “sunny nelson” standard. I appreciate your comments regarding the building design and we will take these into consideration when planning future improvements.
We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future, perhaps in the summer months when you will be sure to experience some lovely sunny nelson weather.
Thank you again for your feedback.
Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
4.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
658 reviews
4.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
3.6 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
477 reviews
4.2 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
142 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#15 of 41 in Nelson
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Property: Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Address: 6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nelson
#3 Family Hotel in Nelson
#6 Business Hotel in Nelson
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers luxury boutique accommodation by the water in Nelson, New Zealand. Located only about five minutes' drive from Nelson Airport and 15 minutes drive to the city centre. Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers well-appointed accommodation for up to 215 guests in boutique hotel rooms, along with a range of self-contained apartment accommodation including one-bedroom studios, one-bedroom spa cottages and two-bedroom cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments Hotel Richmond
Grand Accor Nelson Monaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing