We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Planned to stay 4 days; stayed 8. Hard to find. Drive towards the coast from Stoke along Songer St.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Somerville, Australia
Level Contributor
280 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Planned to stay 4 days; stayed 8. Hard to find. Drive towards the coast from Stoke along Songer St.”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We'd booked for 4 days, but there was lots to do in the Nelson region, and the accommodation was very good value for money so we stayed 4 more.
We booked a 1 bedroom apartment, and were updated to a 1 bedroom spa suite for the first 4 days. This is in the summer cottages, with a living area downstairs and bedroom and large bathroom upstairs. The bed, the most comfortable we have ever had in a hotel or apartment, was kingsize, with a firm cushiontop mattress. The kitchen had basic cooking equipment including a very small microwave-sized convection oven, but no microwave. It did have a washing machine. The bathroom had quality toiletries and was serviced everyday.

The second 4 days were in a studio apartment - more apartment than studio, with a separate lounge, bedroom, and bathroom, with a kitchenette along the lounge / bathroom wall. There was a washing machine/dryer, a microwave, and more kitchen utensils than in the spa suite.

Both apartments had small north-facing patio areas with a table and chairs - great for sitting in the sun.

The apartments were clean and comfortable. There is a free computer with wifi in the reception area, and bikes can be hired for a small fee.

There are lots of bike and walking tracks around Nelson. We found the hotel area to be quiet with good access to these. It was several km from the city centre, but did have a supermarket within brief driving distance (about 1 km).

Our only concern was the range hood in the kitchen of the studio which was very low and protruded and almost knocked me out several times, and the low sloping wall/ceiling upstairs which also almost killed me when I went to close the window; probably not an issue if you are less than 1.8 metres tall.

Staff were friendly and helpful, and we would stay again.

Room Tip: Ground floor and spas have outdoor tables and chairs. And ask for one with a washing machine if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Colin D
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a trip advisor review.
We really appreciate the detail of your review and I am sure it will be very helpful for future guests to read of the variety of quality accommodation on offer.
We look forward to you staying with us again when you next visit Nelson.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    340
    94
    32
    20
See reviews for
176
472
42
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Great accommodation but units could be better lit. Very good beds and a beautiful bathroom but water not hot enough.
Biggest issue with this place is location, a motorway on one side, and airport on the other, some aircraft landed at 3am but most started at 6am.
Disappointed will not return.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms furthest from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Dick943
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback on our tripadvisor page.
We appreciate your comments and are sorry that had a disturbed stay. It is most unusual for aircraft to be landing at 3.00am so may have been the air ambulance an dor the postal services as all commercial flights cease around 10.30pm. We appreciate your comments regarding the accommodation and are reviewing the lighting issue you spoke of.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
273 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We were welcomed by very friendly staff and given a free upgrade to a cottage room. Location is close to the airport but a little way from the town centre. The room was very nice and very large with the bedrooms and bathroom up stairs with a lounge and kitchen downstairs. The only thing missing was there was no TV in the bedroom and inadequate lighting over the bathroom mirror which seems to be the norm in hotels these days which makes for applying makeup extremely difficult. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Russdi,
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete our Tripadvisor feedback form.
We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and providing feedback on the design of the hotel room. We are constantly striving to provide excellent service and your comments are much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Sharon McGuire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
358 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was our first visit to the Nelson region of NZ and what a wonderful location it is. Our accommodation was simply wonderful and the one bedroom spa unit was a holiday delight. Plenty of space, an excellent kitchenette layout with larger fridge, hotplates, dishwasher and washing machine. The spa bathroom left nothing to be desired and the bed was super comfortable and roomy. Storage space abounded. The replica gas fireplace added a rosy glow to a stunning English cottage theme. A pool, gymnasium, village green and lovely restaurant topped off one of the best accommodation venues we have experienced when touring on our own. Congratulations to the designers and to the team who keep the GM in tip top shape.

Room Tip: The hotel is about 10 minutes out of Nelson and near the airport. The suburb of Monaco (near Stoke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JANDK2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear JANDK2265,
Thank you for taking the time to provide such lovely feedback on your recent stay at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco.
It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your accommodation with us and that you found that the facilities suited your requirements. I have passed on your positive feedback to our restaurant as well and I am sure that this will serve as encouragement to our staff.
Again, thank you very much for your feedback and we hope to be able to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Kindest Regards
Sharon McGuire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here because of it's location close to the airport and city
Very friendly staff
room was well appointed and clean
But the bed was so soft and uncomfortable ( I know this is a personal thing) neither of us slept all night so that was disappointing but this is only my problem.
Mentioned it to the receptionist in the morning and they politely took it on board.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acquirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear acquirer,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience on our Tripadvisor feedback form.
As you say beds are a personal preference but we are sorry to hear that you didn’t sleep well.
Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco and we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the South Island in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Sharon McGuire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
175 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We were not expecting the quaintness of this hotel. The English village theme works well and the location out of Nelson was fine for us.

Our comments:
- Very nice rooms with great décor. Gardens/grounds are also very nice.
- There is aircraft noise which we did not find intrusive.
- Without a GPS it would be a challenge to find.
- It is a large hotel and our room was only serviced at 3.30pm
- The restaurant was being refurbished. Room service for dinner was good, but the breakfast in a functions room was not that great
- Staff were very helpful and friendly
- The jeweller on site was wonderful and well worth a visit. There is also a beauty salon and hairdresser on the property
- Nice walks from the hotel - we walked around the airport which was very enjoyable
- Great pub across the road!
- Where your room is located in the resort would influence your visit - we had a room in "High Street" facing the garden which was really nice.
- Our Accor Advantage Plus membership meant the stay represented excellent value

Overall a good place to stay for a few days to unwind if you have a car. It would have scored full marks if not for the minor niggles

Room Tip: The rooms facing the green on High Street are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crazysteveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Crazysteveb,
Thank you for firstly choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience, as it is only through guests such as yourself who take the time to share their views with us that we are able to continually monitor and enhance our level of service.
In regards to our location, we have spoken to our Reservations team to ensure they provide clear directions.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future and appreciate your positive feedback.

Kindest Regards,
Sharon McGuire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
4.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
4.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
3.6 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
3.7 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
#20 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Property: Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Address: 6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nelson
#3 Family Hotel in Nelson
#6 Business Hotel in Nelson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers luxury boutique accommodation by the water in Nelson, New Zealand. Located only about five minutes' drive from Nelson Airport and 15 minutes drive to the city centre. Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers well-appointed accommodation for up to 215 guests in boutique hotel rooms, along with a range of self-contained apartment accommodation including one-bedroom studios, one-bedroom spa cottages and two-bedroom cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments Hotel Richmond
Grand Accor Nelson Monaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing