We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Mercure Nelson”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The studio room was lovely, with elegant décor, a big, comfortable bed and a great bathroom. The only real let-down was the sound-proofing - we could hear the TV in the room next door and a screaming child (also next door) woke us up in the middle of the night. If you have a car, the location is handy to the Wearable Arts museum and Broadgreen House and a fairly short drive into Nelson. It's not overly convenient for eating out - there are only a few restaurants in the area, and some of these were fully booked when we tried to reserve a table. It's worth planning ahead or making the trip into Nelson for meals.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussyflossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear fussyflosie
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at The Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco.
We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and providing feedback on the design of the hotel room. We are terribly sorry that you were disturbed by other guests. In regard to dinning we have recently rebranded our restaurant to The Monaco Kitchen were a very relaxed and casual atmosphere along with great food awaits you. Should you visit us again I would encourage you to try it out.
At the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco, we are constantly striving to provide excellent service and your comments are much appreciated.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (915)
There are newer reviews for Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

383 - 389 of 915 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We rented an apartment for 4 days and thoroughly enjoyed it. It does a motorway on one side but the soundproofing was excellent . The apartment was spacious,the kitchenette very useable, the bed large and soft. The bathroom was large and the were no problems with hot water. The only problem was the apartments need more lights as they are are a bit dark. The reception staff was friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay there again

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Robert L
Thank you for taking the time to complete Trip Advisor feedback of your recent stay with us at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would like to return. We appreciate your comments and will pass on your kind remarks to our front office team.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed two nights over a weekend in one of the one bedroom cottages, backing onto the stream behind.
Nice concept, more space than an average hotel room, very quaint from the outside. When inside, we found the interior, tired and not very well lit. The Mediterranean styled tiled floor looked filthy, especially the wide grouting between them, quite off putting.The covering on the chairs and soft furnishings was also dirty. We covered the sofa with a wool blanket when sitting. Although the spar bathroom was nice and bright with a heated mirror and spar bath with separate shower. The 4 poster Bed looked quite nice, but wasn't very conformable. The kitchen was adequate for a two night stay. All in all, a bit disappointing regards the standard of cleanliness. The room and its contents could have done with a good steam clean, and was ready for a repaint etc. Hotel location a bit out of it, and quite hard to find. The noise from the airport was sometimes disturbing. Probably wouldn't stay again. Too much choice in Nelson itself as an alternative, to revisit the Monaco apartments again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angef261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear angef261
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.
We appreciate your detailed feedback in regards to lighting and repainting. As the property is now 10 years old a full maintenance plan is underway so your comments are timely. It was disappointing to read about the less than acceptable presentation of the cottage and our house keeping team have addressed this. Please be rest assured that we are taking the steps required in order to prevent this from happening again in the future. Please know that this is not our normal level of standard and we really appreciate your constructive feedback.
We would welcome the opportunity for you to visit with us again when you next return to Nelson.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had two nights in this hotel, which is located a bit out of the way from Nelson town centre. It was a great little find, but don't let the quaint decor put you off! While it's a little bit dated at first glance, the overall look of the rooms and public spaces adds to the cottage-type feel of the property.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear T J
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience on our Tripadvisor page.
We appreciate your comments and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We'd booked for 4 days, but there was lots to do in the Nelson region, and the accommodation was very good value for money so we stayed 4 more.
We booked a 1 bedroom apartment, and were updated to a 1 bedroom spa suite for the first 4 days. This is in the summer cottages, with a living area downstairs and bedroom and large bathroom upstairs. The bed, the most comfortable we have ever had in a hotel or apartment, was kingsize, with a firm cushiontop mattress. The kitchen had basic cooking equipment including a very small microwave-sized convection oven, but no microwave. It did have a washing machine. The bathroom had quality toiletries and was serviced everyday.

The second 4 days were in a studio apartment - more apartment than studio, with a separate lounge, bedroom, and bathroom, with a kitchenette along the lounge / bathroom wall. There was a washing machine/dryer, a microwave, and more kitchen utensils than in the spa suite.

Both apartments had small north-facing patio areas with a table and chairs - great for sitting in the sun.

The apartments were clean and comfortable. There is a free computer with wifi in the reception area, and bikes can be hired for a small fee.

There are lots of bike and walking tracks around Nelson. We found the hotel area to be quiet with good access to these. It was several km from the city centre, but did have a supermarket within brief driving distance (about 1 km).

Our only concern was the range hood in the kitchen of the studio which was very low and protruded and almost knocked me out several times, and the low sloping wall/ceiling upstairs which also almost killed me when I went to close the window; probably not an issue if you are less than 1.8 metres tall.

Staff were friendly and helpful, and we would stay again.

Room Tip: Ground floor and spas have outdoor tables and chairs. And ask for one with a washing machine if you...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Colin D
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a trip advisor review.
We really appreciate the detail of your review and I am sure it will be very helpful for future guests to read of the variety of quality accommodation on offer.
We look forward to you staying with us again when you next visit Nelson.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Great accommodation but units could be better lit. Very good beds and a beautiful bathroom but water not hot enough.
Biggest issue with this place is location, a motorway on one side, and airport on the other, some aircraft landed at 3am but most started at 6am.
Disappointed will not return.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms furthest from road.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Dick943
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback on our tripadvisor page.
We appreciate your comments and are sorry that had a disturbed stay. It is most unusual for aircraft to be landing at 3.00am so may have been the air ambulance an dor the postal services as all commercial flights cease around 10.30pm. We appreciate your comments regarding the accommodation and are reviewing the lighting issue you spoke of.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We were welcomed by very friendly staff and given a free upgrade to a cottage room. Location is close to the airport but a little way from the town centre. The room was very nice and very large with the bedrooms and bathroom up stairs with a lounge and kitchen downstairs. The only thing missing was there was no TV in the bedroom and inadequate lighting over the bathroom mirror which seems to be the norm in hotels these days which makes for applying makeup extremely difficult. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Russdi,
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete our Tripadvisor feedback form.
We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and providing feedback on the design of the hotel room. We are constantly striving to provide excellent service and your comments are much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Sharon McGuire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
4.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
673 reviews
4.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
486 reviews
4.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
4.2 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
152 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 41 in Nelson
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Address: 6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nelson
#3 Family Hotel in Nelson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#6 Business Hotel in Nelson
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: £51 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers luxury boutique accommodation by the water in Nelson, New Zealand. Located only about five minutes' drive from Nelson Airport and 15 minutes drive to the city centre. Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers well-appointed accommodation for up to 215 guests in boutique hotel rooms, along with a range of self-contained apartment accommodation including one-bedroom studios, one-bedroom spa cottages and two-bedroom cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments Hotel Richmond
Grand Accor Nelson Monaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing