We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theme Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great hotel if you are looking for a weekend away in a themed hotel.
I choose the hotel because of the special rate that I got on the Accor website... organised a weekend away for a group of 10 couples and families. We had a range of rooms from the hotel, studio and appartments. Myself I had a Hotel Room
The staff were friendly and helpful.
Yes the decor is fussy and over the top, the bed was comfortable.. the bedroom was facing the road however I didn't hear a thing... and overlooked a quaint pond and garden.
I used the pool and gym a couple of time and found it great
The hotel is close to airport and a 2 resturants in walking distance.
Great location and theme...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otagopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Otagopete
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco recently. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and the positive endorsement of our onsite facilities. We thank you for you feedback on the décor and will look to improve this in the near future.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (939)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 939 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

I thought I would treat myself to the grand sounding Grand Mercure. But I found the decor fussy with too many patterns, dark kitchen area, small bedroom and not the quality I had expected for the price. Some basic "rules" for luxury were wronged, eg. cracks in walls and the bedroom curtains did not go to the floor and light got in. If I had not prepaid I would have moved on after my first night. I wouldn't stay there again. It felt like a ye olde englishee theme park or grandmothers house.

Room Tip: some are up stairs (no lifts)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richards1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear richards1607
Thank you for taking the time to write a response regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco.
After receiving your feedback we have highlighted the points raised within the maintenance plan. I am very disappointed to read that you would not return and sorry that the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco did not meet your expectations with us on your recent visit.
However be assured that through your comments we are able to make improvements to the hotel and the service we provide.
Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel. The little studio apartments are well fitted out but very cold. We arrived early evening and had to wait for a few hours before the studio warmed up with the 2 heaters there. On our second night there after dinner out we returned hoping to watch a movie only to find that sky was not working so we had no tv to watch at all. It was the same the next day too. Also, during the night we were woken with a fire alarm that went off at 12.30am. As you can imagine quite cold waiting outside in the winter for instructions. When a staff member did arrive, they told us to return to our rooms. No apology, no explanation at all!! The next day when we were checking out we informed the reception of the TV situation and fire alarm she did say that she had heard and was sorry and deducted breakfast from our bill. We both felt that personally we should of got some kind of apology from management before we spoke about it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Travelkerry
Thank you for taking the time to complete Trip Advisor feedback of your recent stay with us at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco.
We appreciate all your constructive feedback. We would like to offer our sincere apologies for both the Sky TV signal not working along with the midnight fire alarm. We have since had the sky technician in to sort out the issue that arose to ensure this does not happen again. Regarding the fire alarm, I have spoken to our front office and night portering team and in future we will be more informative at the time of the event and by way of follow up the next day. We have also altered the preparation of arrival rooms to ensure the heating is on well in advance and if a late arrival, curtains are pulled with lights on to creat a sense of welcome and warmth.
We would welcome the opportunity on your next visit to Nelson to provide you the more typical levels of service we pride ourselves on. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank EtravelMotueka
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank elsthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The studio room was lovely, with elegant décor, a big, comfortable bed and a great bathroom. The only real let-down was the sound-proofing - we could hear the TV in the room next door and a screaming child (also next door) woke us up in the middle of the night. If you have a car, the location is handy to the Wearable Arts museum and Broadgreen House and a fairly short drive into Nelson. It's not overly convenient for eating out - there are only a few restaurants in the area, and some of these were fully booked when we tried to reserve a table. It's worth planning ahead or making the trip into Nelson for meals.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussyflossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear fussyflosie
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at The Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco.
We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and providing feedback on the design of the hotel room. We are terribly sorry that you were disturbed by other guests. In regard to dinning we have recently rebranded our restaurant to The Monaco Kitchen were a very relaxed and casual atmosphere along with great food awaits you. Should you visit us again I would encourage you to try it out.
At the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco, we are constantly striving to provide excellent service and your comments are much appreciated.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We rented an apartment for 4 days and thoroughly enjoyed it. It does a motorway on one side but the soundproofing was excellent . The apartment was spacious,the kitchenette very useable, the bed large and soft. The bathroom was large and the were no problems with hot water. The only problem was the apartments need more lights as they are are a bit dark. The reception staff was friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay there again

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Robert L
Thank you for taking the time to complete Trip Advisor feedback of your recent stay with us at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would like to return. We appreciate your comments and will pass on your kind remarks to our front office team.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
4.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
684 reviews
4.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 41 in Nelson
502 reviews
4.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
4.2 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
153 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 41 in Nelson
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Address: 6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nelson
#3 Family Hotel in Nelson
#6 Business Hotel in Nelson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: £66 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers luxury boutique accommodation by the water in Nelson, New Zealand. Located only about five minutes' drive from Nelson Airport and 15 minutes drive to the city centre. Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers well-appointed accommodation for up to 215 guests in boutique hotel rooms, along with a range of self-contained apartment accommodation including one-bedroom studios, one-bedroom spa cottages and two-bedroom cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments Hotel Richmond
Grand Accor Nelson Monaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing