We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Monaco Apartments offer a variety of accommodation for those that appreciate character. It is well run, and beside the water and a cycleway. Only issue is the new menu - OK for a group - not for a couple

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Kiwi2NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Kiwi2NZ,

Thank you for review on Tripadvisor. We do offer a range of different sizes and setups to suit every need. We are all very happy that you felt the hotel well run.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards,

Dan McKeown
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

383 - 389 of 943 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Booked though accor website and got a really good deal. We arrived at around 9pm and staff were very friendly and welcoming pointed out how to get into town as we were too late for dinner downstairs. Bed was very comfty with good pillows. We were surprised to see a good sized spa bath in our room, was lovely!
Had a really good sleep with a lovely view to wake up to in the morning.
With the deal we got we recieved a free breakfast (each!! including coffee) which was really nice.
We had a lovely meal that night at the restaurant. Finally a restaurant in NZ that has gone for the sharing dinners! absolutely love them. Food was really good!
Thanks for a really nice weekend away in Nelson!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Eva N,

Thank you for review on Tripadvisor and such a fabulous score from a Senior Contributor. It is correct that the best deals are on that website. We are delighted that you enjoyed the meal in the restaurant. We have all worked really hard to provide something that people love, and the whole team is committed to make it the best it can be!
Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Dan McKeown
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Excellent choice of a hotel to stay in, great service by the friendly and helpful staff. Great location.Rooms are very clean. Outside they management and staff take great pride in the grounds and gardens




  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank dunedintimaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear dunedintimaru,

Thank you for review on Tripadvisor and scoring us 5 out of 5. Yes you are correct, we do take great pride in our ground and service that we provide for every guest. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and Nelson very soon.

Kind Regards,

Dan McKeown
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We were gobsmacked on arrival to see the beautiful cottage we would be staying in whilst in Nelson.
The cottage was lovely, with every facility we could possibly need. The lovely fire in the living room was perfect to sit around as a family after a day of sightseeing.
The staff could not have been more friendly, helpful or welcoming.
The on-site restaurant provided fantastic meals, that were delicious and very filling.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank TracyAnn143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear TracyAnn143,

Thank you for review on Tripadvisor and such a great review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay in one of our cottages. The restaurant and chef team was delighted to hear that your meal and experience was fantastic. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and to The Monaco Kitchen again.

Kind Regards,

Dan McKeown
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank kevalanis
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 August 2014

These apartments are lovely, clean and the kitchen wa swell equipped and would be great for a self catering stay. When we arrived it was going into winter and the room was chilly and took quite a while to warm up as there is only one electric heater.
The apartments are two stories we were on a months trip and so had quite a lot of luggage so it was great for us to be on the ground floor and near to the restaurant.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are lovely but if you have a lot of luggage it may be easier to be in a grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plumly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Plumly,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you would highly recommend the hotel and we looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
4.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
688 reviews
4.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 41 in Nelson
508 reviews
4.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
4.3 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
157 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 41 in Nelson
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Address: 6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nelson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#6 Business Hotel in Nelson
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: £45 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers luxury boutique accommodation by the water in Nelson, New Zealand. Located only about five minutes' drive from Nelson Airport and 15 minutes drive to the city centre. Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers well-appointed accommodation for up to 215 guests in boutique hotel rooms, along with a range of self-contained apartment accommodation including one-bedroom studios, one-bedroom spa cottages and two-bedroom cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments Hotel Richmond
Grand Accor Nelson Monaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing