We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hosts lovely stay”
Review of Kings Gate Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kings Gate Motel
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Recently stayed at Kings gate motel for three nights for my first visit to Nelson. The motels are very clean, modern and really well priced for four star accommodation. Debbie and Ross were so helpful during our stay and gave us lots of advice, thanks for the great cafe hints! Would recommend Kings gate for anyone looking to stay in central Nelson and wanting to a great carefree experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessofox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed here for 6 days, nice room with everything we needed. The hosts were lovely and at the end of our stay our flight was later than the check out time of 10am, they kindly offered us another room for us to relax in until it was time to leave. It's a nice walk to town too.

Room Tip: There are no A/C's in the rooms. Get a can of spray for the ants and some insect repellant if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faye G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Wonderful hosts, amazing service, and everything a visitor could expect for. Very close to town center. We had a wonderful time in Nelson during our family trip. Our children relaxed in the pool after long days out doors. Very family friendly, even provided pool toys for the children to play with.
Thomas/Sudha

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sudha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

The room we had was very spacious and clean.The decor and furniture was very modern and it was well equipped with everything that was needed for a stay.We stayed for two nights and was very impressed especially with its position within walking distance of the town, so we did not need to use our car. The owners were very welcoming and friendly. A must visit is the Saturday market in the town and also the Sunday market which had a terrific atmosphere. We would certainly return to this Motel.

Room Tip: We had room 1 which was very spacious .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mod11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Kingsgate was lovely and we had a relaxing stay. We really liked how close to the city centre we were although it was a little loud - not a huge deal though because it definitely quietened by 8.30pm both nights we were. Rooms were clean and a decent size.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Kingsgate was a pleasant place to stay. The rooms were fresh and welcoming, and we loved the little pot of mints! It was nice how the motel was so close to town, but if you were to walk up, you'd still get some exercise. The motel isn't 'the flashiest ever,' but it is a sweet and inviting motel to stop off on your way.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tropicalmonsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsgatemotel, Owner at Kings Gate Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Motel is in a good location near city centre. Room was clean. Bathroom needs updating and water pressure in shower was very bad.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristchurchKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsgatemotel, Owner at Kings Gate Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Our showers are fitted with Eco heads.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.0 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
679 reviews
2.7 mi away
Amber Court Motel
Amber Court Motel
#18 of 41 in Nelson
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Nelson
Quality Inn Nelson
#13 of 41 in Nelson
114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#6 of 41 in Nelson
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Gate Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Gate Motel

Address: 21 Trafalgar Street | The Wood, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: £62 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Gate Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
11 Self contained units comprising of 3 studio's, 4 x 1 b/r units and 4 x 2 b/r units. Situated within 5 min's walk from CBD ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Kings Gate Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing