We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice property but some confusion about the Internet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sussex House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Pluses: beautiful property, excellent location, easy walk to the city centre.

The main issue we had was while staying there the hosts' data package for the Internet ran out and we and the other guests were asked about how much Internet we had used and so on. Understandably this is an issue for the hosts but it should be said up front (i.e. please restrict your Internet use or something like that; I have seen this at other NZ b&b's) rather than questioning the guests and lecturing them later on.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Sapphirejk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2012 via mobile

this b&b is well worth to stay in when in nelson. hosts were lovely, nice chats upon arrival and while having breakfasts (incl. self-made croissants) with guests. location very nice, close to center but quiet with lovely garden around. would go there again. but: check my room tips!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank voeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Sussex House is a most attractive property dating back more than a hundred years, and very well-situated in Nelson. It has a lovely gracious atmosphere. It is very well set up to provide for its visitors with WiFi, a laundry and a small decanter of port in the room. Our room (Strauss) was comfortable and pretty. Vikki apologised that the television was under repair but we did not need to watch television and this did not bother us. We were glad to have tea/coffee making facilities just outside our room with biscuits and enjoyed the classical music wafting up from the dining room below during the day. A row in the street in the small hours disturbed our first night but that is what can happen in a town at the weekend.
David hosts the continental breakfast and offers his views on a variety of subjects. Vikki and David are, in their somewhat different ways, attentive and benevolent and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

A lovely B and B, beautifully kept and extremely well located for walking into town ( 5 mins) or walking along the river to some beautiful walks around Nelson. Very pretty cottage garden with hanging baskets creates a lovely relaxed and peaceful ambience for the house. Rooms are not big but have everything, including access through French doors to a balcony sitting area, and a lovely little jug of port to enjoy while sitting on the balcony. This is the second time we have stayed at Sussex House and would return again. Very helpful hosts, and David is full of interesting stories of his wild and adventurous life travelling all over the world. All that you would hope for in a B&B experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mozart room and would recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizandTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

What a fabulous stay we had at Sussex House. David & Vicky were gracious hosts. Enjoyed chatting with David, whose knowledge and humour was charming. The strauss room was cute, clean and comfortable. The Little bottle of sherry to welcome the weary was delightful.
Yes a beautiful B&B in lovely english like, surroundings with the river right next to the house and the rose gardens on the other side, close to town, and the Saturday Markets, and well worth the price. The weather was perfect to top it all off.
M&C Clark - 6/1/12

Room Tip: Check their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cameleon_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Large Victorian house located near CBD of Nelson. Rooms are not fancy, but comfortable. Rooms are all upstairs. Hosts very gracious and helpful with information of area. Complimentary Port Wine in our room!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rpciordia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

What a great place to stay!!! Located close to town in a very green area, just in front of the mountainrange, this lovely place offers a lot for a fair price. It looks beautiful from the outside, and when you enter you feel put back to the 19th century. It´s an old but very well maintained house, with big red carpets on the floor and rustic furniture. I´ve stayed in the Beethoven room which was amazing, a huge bed and a small, and two big doors to the verandah. All guests may use the verandah and it´s just nice to sit outside and relax. I got plenty of towels and blankets, as well as a little bit of portwine to taste. On the floor is a fridge, free tea, coffee and cookies. My private bathroom was on the other end of the floor (due to the design of the house), but all other rooms have their bathroom ensuite.
Breakfast in the morning included several sorts of cereals, croissants, toast, chease, jam, fruit, yoghurt, and orange and tomatojuice. Lovely.
The hosts, Vikki and David are very polite and correct, and they really give you a lot for the money you pay! On my last day David even gave me a lift to the busstation. I can highly recommend to stay at the Sussex House.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sonne83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.6 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
717 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.6 mi away
Joya Garden & Villa Studios
1.6 mi away
The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sussex House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sussex House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 238 Bridge Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: £86 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sussex House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sussex House is a late Victorian town house (1880) five minutes walk from Nelson city centre. The setting is one of peace and tranquility as our property overlooks the Maitai River. Nelson's botanical gardens neighbor our property, and the Suter Art Gallery is less than a 5 minute walk. We are also a mere 1 km walk to the Centre of New Zealand. As of February 2014, Sussex House is under the ownership of Heather D'Arcy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sussex House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing