We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting, very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sussex House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, very comfortable”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here for one night in November 2013. David and Victoria were very welcoming and we appreciated the availability of fruit teas at the communal tea point. We had our tea on the balcony, (usable by all guests) sitting in the sun and listening to the birds.

There was good parking available and we had an easy walk into town, the use of wifi and a good night's sleep followed by a tasty breakfast. Had our journey taken us back through Nelson we would have happily stayed here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SussexHouse, Owner at Sussex House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you.. It was lovely to have you stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    33
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
94
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Sussex house had just been taken over by a new owner, we were her first guests. It is very convenient for the town on a quiet residential street. Once we'd parked the car, we didn't use it for the rest of our time in Nelson. There's a balcony that all rooms have access to, so it was very pleasant to sit with a G & T in the evening before going out to dinner. And there was Port in the room for a digestiv. Rooms are comfortable and quiet. No noise from other guests.and fresh fruit, cereals, artisan breads etc for breakfast. Worth seeking out first,if you are in/passing through |Nelson.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with direct access to the balcony. Saves having to walk to the communal door with you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gladiatorlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SussexHouse, Owner at Sussex House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This a clean, comfortable, well-appointed property in a very nice setting, next to the river and a beautiful public garden. It is a five minute walk to the Nelson town center, with fine shops and restaurants. Although Heather is the new owner, she is a personable and excellent host. She puts out an excellent continental breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SussexHouse, Owner at Sussex House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you.. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

A wonderful cosy bed and breakfast set to a very high standard in a period residence along the riverbank ( a beautiful spot ) .Heather is your perfect host and nothing is too much trouble in making your stay as comfortable as possible and I would highly recommend this place if your thinking of visiting Nelson , 5minute walk to town , restaurants , bars etc . We only stayed one night but felt as if we had been there a week , so relaxing and chilled , the continental breakfast was plentiful and very good . We arrived as guests and left as friends . Continued success Heather

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aristo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SussexHouse, Owner at Sussex House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your review.. It really was a pleasure to have you stay... I look forward to welcoming you back next year...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We very much enjoyed Sussex House and the owners, David and Vicki. The home has lots of character and is very comfortable and well located along a river and just a 3 minute walk from the heart of Nelson, a charming town with everything one could need - good restaurants and shops and a movie theatre. About a 20 minute walk/hike to the 'center of New Zealand' with a gorgeous view on a sunny day. Our room was great; nice balcony and a crystal carafe of port in the room. Laundry on premises at nominal price - you do it yourself at your convenience. Breakfast was adequate; there is tea and coffee and cookies on the landing by the guest rooms 24/7. Hosts were delightful. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oli h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Convenient location and only minutes away from the city center and a few steps away from the lovely Queen's Garden. We fell in love with our charming room with a balcony that overlooks the garden and the river--a perfect place to sip the house port (that was a nice treat!) Delicious home baked croissants and an array of other items including homemade yogurt were available for breakfast. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Pluses: beautiful property, excellent location, easy walk to the city centre.

The main issue we had was while staying there the hosts' data package for the Internet ran out and we and the other guests were asked about how much Internet we had used and so on. Understandably this is an issue for the hosts but it should be said up front (i.e. please restrict your Internet use or something like that; I have seen this at other NZ b&b's) rather than questioning the guests and lecturing them later on.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sapphirejk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.6 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.5 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
1.6 mi away
Te Puna Wai Lodge
Te Puna Wai Lodge
#3 of 55 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sussex House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sussex House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sussex House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 238 Bridge Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sussex House is a late Victorian town house (1880) five minutes walk from Nelson city centre. The setting is one of peace and tranquility as our property overlooks the Maitai River. Nelson's botanical gardens neighbor our property, and the Suter Art Gallery is less than a 5 minute walk. We are also a mere 1 km walk to the Centre of New Zealand. As of February 2014, Sussex House is under the ownership of Heather D'Arcy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sussex House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing