We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced pizza”

The Hot Rock Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar
Ranked #88 of 175 Restaurants in Nelson
Price range: US$11 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to the home of award-winning gourmet pizza in Nelson. Excite your tastebuds with our special wood-fired pizzas, be entertained by our lively atmosphere and treat yourself to a great night at The Hot Rock! Perfect for sharing with friends, or the whole family - we look forward to hosting you...
Nelson City, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Overpriced pizza”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Tourists stuck in tahuna might pay it but how does this place survive the rest of the year? Pizza was okay but way overpriced, can do much better at stephanos in town. Pasta okay but not worth money.
Just not special enough for prices.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamarilloinnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray W, Owner at The Hot Rock Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
We're surprised you feel our pizzas are overpriced. We believe our prices compare well with other similar high-end pizza establishments, such as Winnie Bagoes in Christchurch and Queenstown, GPK in Auckland and Barzouk in Hamilton, for example. When you employ only qualified and experienced chefs, purchase the freshest local top quality ingredients, use real mozzarella cheese, make your own doughs and sauces, and hand cook these in a genuine Italian wood-fired oven, we would not be in business if our pizza were cheap.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    38
    15
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything was bad”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We ordered ribs, wedges and 2 slices of cheesecake. Which wasn't cheap. The wedges were chewy and seemed under cooked. The wedges were just chopped up potato, with a dollop of sour cream. No seasoning at all. And just when I thought it couldn't get any worse, the cheesecake was like lumpy curdled milk! Not smooth the way a ricotta cheesecake is meant to be. Very disappointed. Waste of money. Worst restaurant experience of my life. So disappointed. Won't be returnng.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray W, Owner at The Hot Rock Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
I'm sorry you did not enjoy your meal which you asked us to deliver to your motel. You phoned the restaurant to complain about our Tuscan Ricotta Cheesecake. As I explained, our cheesecake is made from a traditional Italian recipe, is crustless, and doesn't necessarily have a smooth texture. We checked our cheesecake again after your call and it is the same as the thousands we have sold over the past ten years. When you phoned I asked if you were happy with the rest of your meal and you said yes, so I was surprised to read in your review that everything was terrible. With regards to the wedges our natural wedges are supplied by Talleys, a national supplier. We use natural wedges in our deep fryer as these are gluten-free.and we leave it up to our customers to add seasoning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Quick dinner stop”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Stop in for an impromptu dinner with my husband. We had a pizza between us and they did half and half. Both halves were very nice. Atmosphere was average and service was friendly enough but lacking on knowledge of their own range.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greiggarious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Good pastas too”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Good pastas (chorizo & mushroom and marinara) at a reasonable price with free wi-fi available. The service was fine and the place very relaxed and informal. Nothing special but definitely good enough for a return visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Delicious anniversary meal with friends and family”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We had a delicious meal here in March, it was fairly quiet, no problems getting a table but they take reservations. The pizzas were excellent, not the biggest and the childs pizza was too small for one of our friends children and we had to order another. Personally I would've preferred larger pizzas with slightly higher prices to avoid sizing issues. The staff were very friendly and gave all the children a lollipop at the end. Excellent place to walk to if you stay in Tahuna Beach park, they might do well sending some flyers to the holiday park for takeaway orders.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GBandLMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hot Rock Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Hot Rock Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing