We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bug Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The Bug was my first experience in a hostel, and they set a high standard on how one should operate. I stayed in a private room that was clean and comfortable. The owners are friendly, helpful, and accommodating. This place is a great bang for your buck.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had planned to stay at The Bug Backpackers after completing Abel Tasman. However, part of the track was closed on our second day, so we were forced to end our trek early. With these conditions that were out of our control, we were no longer needing to stay at The Bug, but unfortunately finished after the noon deadline for cancellation policy. Though disappointed they were not more accommodating, I was understanding of their policy. However, on their site, they say "The cancellation fee will only be charged if we can't refill the bed, so always contact us, no matter how late your plans change." So when a friend was needing a place to stay for that night, I recommended calling the bug, where he was informed they were "fully booked." Yet, when I called back to ask about a refund since they had filled the bed, they informed me that they couldn't give it to me. If you're going to state policies, stick to them, not just when it's convenient for you! Can't believe I actually recommended a place that was so quick to dismiss me.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Miriam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebug226, Owner at The Bug Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hi Miriam
The reason we upheld our cancellation policy in your case was due to the fact that during a telephone conversation we had with you about your reservation it transpired that you were not stuck in Abel Tasman on the due date of your reservation but on the previous day..We had other guest that honoured their bookings,it seems you chose not to but are not sympathetic with the fact that we have a business to run and late cancellations are very difficult to fill..Regarding your friend ringing and us informing them we had no beds available,as I explained to you on the phone the following day we thought we had covered your cancelled reservation but the people rang later that evening to say they would not make it to Nelson due to the adverse road conditions.This unfortunately left the beds you had reserved unsold and you liable for the costs.We always try to be understanding of guest travel plans and frequently move bookings back a few days if there are problems with buses or ferries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed in this hostel with my parents for 3 nights. We booked the cottage and couldn't have expected anything better. This was by far the best hostel we stayed in in NZ. Room was incredibly clean, had a kitchen for ourselves to cook, bathroom with shower and bathtub, perfect to relax after a day of biking. Owners were really nice and gave us plenty of tips for excursions in Nelson and surrounding. Would highly recommend this hostel, great value for money

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank La_Belgicana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This hostel was OK....... Price was fine...... It was quite clean and our room was good.... Bathroom clean!!!! The owner picked us up from the bus station, so make sure you arrange that with him/her, otherwise it's a long walk :-)
Supermarket was nearby.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DFatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

I think this was my favourite place to stay in NZ so far! The room was newly renovated (lucky), clean and staff were helpful. If you get up early enough you can get some fresh warm bread but it goes fast!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank missfireflybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing stay at bug! Not only did the owners go out of their way to provide free transport to and from the centre when you were leaving/arriving, but they also made you feel at so home! The hostel itself was so lovely (the garden was gorg) and clean and the kitchen was THE BEST. The free bikes were also such a bonus and made Nelson such a fun place to be in. BEST HOSTEL WE HAVE STAYED IN!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annayork1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We spent two nights at the Bug while travelling to Abel Tasman. The staff running the place have a great personality and were very helpful with recommendations, as well as holding our bags for the night we were in the park, even though we weren't staying at the Bug.

We typically do not stay at hostels or backpacker places, but we got the private room and it was well apportioned for the price, private bathroom, comfortable bed and uniquely decorated room. The location is a 15 minute walk from town, however our outfitter in the park had no problem finding it to pick us up.

Give the limited range of reasonably priced options in Nelson, I would highly recommend The Bug!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mxbraun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1 mi away
INNBetween Lodge and Backpackers Nelson
1.6 mi away
Tasman Bay Backpackers
Tasman Bay Backpackers
#3 of 45 in Nelson
254 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace Backpackers
The Palace Backpackers
#10 of 45 in Nelson
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aurora Backpackers
Aurora Backpackers
#35 of 45 in Nelson
83 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Prince Albert Backpackers
1.5 mi away
Courtesy Court Motel
Courtesy Court Motel
#26 of 55 in Nelson
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bug Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bug Backpackers

Address: 226 Vanguard Street, Nelson, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Price Range: £14 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bug Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bug Backpacker is a small, friendly hostel with a welcoming atmosphere. The hostel offers FREE wifi, bikes,lockers in large dorm bedrooms, local pick up/drop off from the bus station and on-site parking. Rooms are clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. Beds are fully made. The Bug has two large, well-equipped kitchens with fresh herbs where you can cook your meals and store your food. The hostel is spread over three houses with a large connecting garden for you to relax. It offers hammocks, foosball and a BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bug Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing