We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bug Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed in a double room, comfortable, roomy, cute little chocolates on the pillows! Noisey fellow guest at 3am, but you can get that anywhere. Good email contact pre-stay, but didn't actually meet anyone during our one night stay- sent a text through to number on website to let them know of our later arrival but never got a response, did speak to a friendly staff member over the ph system when we got there. Got a grunt from a staff member when handing key in the next morning. Overall, was perfectly adequate for a travelling couple, clean room and clean bathroom facilities. Not sure about the fellow guest (? longterm) viewing objectional material on his laptop at breakfast...in full view of everybody else...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenNichol2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    44
    7
    2
    7
See reviews for
8
87
42
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I chose this backpackers because of the high traveller ratings. I wasn't disappointed. Richard our host is genuinely interested in his guests and the hostel reflects this with the freshly baked bread and brewed coffee in the mornings to the cutely decorated bmw beetle inspired door signs for each room. We stayed in the twin taxi bug room for two nights, then in the London bug room for 1 night after returning from Abel Tasman National park. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cornishgal02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here for a single night in a double room. The decoration is cute, the room spacious and clean, the bed very comfortable. The common areas are very welcoming and the bathrooms and toilets are extremely clean ! The lady at the reception was a bit rude when we arrived, maybe because it was in the late evening, but she got nicer after we talked a little bit. There is unlimited free wifi which is rare in NZ. Good value, good location, car park, clean and friendly. We didn't use the kitchen but it looked clean as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabichfabich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

The Bug was my first experience in a hostel, and they set a high standard on how one should operate. I stayed in a private room that was clean and comfortable. The owners are friendly, helpful, and accommodating. This place is a great bang for your buck.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We had planned to stay at The Bug Backpackers after completing Abel Tasman. However, part of the track was closed on our second day, so we were forced to end our trek early. With these conditions that were out of our control, we were no longer needing to stay at The Bug, but unfortunately finished after the noon deadline for cancellation policy. Though disappointed they were not more accommodating, I was understanding of their policy. However, on their site, they say "The cancellation fee will only be charged if we can't refill the bed, so always contact us, no matter how late your plans change." So when a friend was needing a place to stay for that night, I recommended calling the bug, where he was informed they were "fully booked." Yet, when I called back to ask about a refund since they had filled the bed, they informed me that they couldn't give it to me. If you're going to state policies, stick to them, not just when it's convenient for you! Can't believe I actually recommended a place that was so quick to dismiss me.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Miriam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebug226, Owner at The Bug Backpackers, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hi Miriam
The reason we upheld our cancellation policy in your case was due to the fact that during a telephone conversation we had with you about your reservation it transpired that you were not stuck in Abel Tasman on the due date of your reservation but on the previous day..We had other guest that honoured their bookings,it seems you chose not to but are not sympathetic with the fact that we have a business to run and late cancellations are very difficult to fill..Regarding your friend ringing and us informing them we had no beds available,as I explained to you on the phone the following day we thought we had covered your cancelled reservation but the people rang later that evening to say they would not make it to Nelson due to the adverse road conditions.This unfortunately left the beds you had reserved unsold and you liable for the costs.We always try to be understanding of guest travel plans and frequently move bookings back a few days if there are problems with buses or ferries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed in this hostel with my parents for 3 nights. We booked the cottage and couldn't have expected anything better. This was by far the best hostel we stayed in in NZ. Room was incredibly clean, had a kitchen for ourselves to cook, bathroom with shower and bathtub, perfect to relax after a day of biking. Owners were really nice and gave us plenty of tips for excursions in Nelson and surrounding. Would highly recommend this hostel, great value for money

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank La_Belgicana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

This hostel was OK....... Price was fine...... It was quite clean and our room was good.... Bathroom clean!!!! The owner picked us up from the bus station, so make sure you arrange that with him/her, otherwise it's a long walk :-)
Supermarket was nearby.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DFatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.4 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
1.5 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
1.3 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tasman Bay Backpackers
Tasman Bay Backpackers
#1 of 42 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.0 mi away
INNBetween Lodge and Backpackers Nelson
1.7 mi away
Paradiso Backpackers
Paradiso Backpackers
#10 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bug Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bug Backpackers

Property: The Bug Backpackers
Address: 226 Vanguard Street, Nelson, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bug Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bug Backpacker is a small, friendly hostel with a welcoming atmosphere. The hostel offers FREE wifi, bikes,lockers in large dorm bedrooms, local pick up/drop off from the bus station and on-site parking. Rooms are clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. Beds are fully made. The Bug has two large, well-equipped kitchens with fresh herbs where you can cook your meals and store your food. The hostel is spread over three houses with a large connecting garden for you to relax. It offers hammocks, foosball and a BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bug Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing