We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place I've stayed in new zealand” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harris Hill Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harris Hill Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best place I've stayed in new zealand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

I was a bit apprehensive about staying on a farm... But absolutely loved it, no noisy animals to wake you up, awesome views over Nelson, fantastic hosts.

Kiwi hospitality is awesome!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8411399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
50
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Sue Harris and family welcomed us with open arms when we arrived. We were given "Maggies" and the view of the alps and Tasman Sea was breathtaking and awesome. The rooms were very clean and they were very comfortable. We felt like we were at home because of the wonderful accommodation and Sue's hospitality. The farm animals were really cute and we felt really close to the sky at night. I will definitely go back again. Thanks Sue. :)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shinsan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

If you're reading this, then you've looked beyond the Hotels listings, and even the B&Bs to find something rare. Look no further. HH Cottages is a family enterprise, where the family lives on site in one property, and manages several cottages built on their working farm. Our hostess, Rachel, directed us further down the dirt road beyond their home to Sunshine Cottage where fresh flowers were on the table, and fresh cream in the fridge. We spent 3 days with Sunshine as our base, sight-seeing around Nelson, returning to catch the sunset over the bay from the deck, take an evening walk, enjoy a fire in the woodstove. We felt as if we were not just seeing NZ, but IN NZ. We'd go back in a heartbeat.... and stay a month.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

This place is just superb; it is in a great country location yet only a 5 minute drive from the centre of Nelson.

It was our 2nd stay in Sunshine cottage and they’ve now extended the veranda decking so you can enjoy the view of Nelson even more. The cottage is homely, has all you want and with a plentiful supply of logs for the fire you can really make yourself at home here.

The family are really welcoming and even give you food to feed the animals. Can’t wait to go back, thank you Harris family you’re fab!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erde
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

We found a place with the most scenic view overlooking Tasman Bay. The hosts are warmhearted, most helpful and friendly people. We felt very welcome. I spend a couple of vacations around Nelson, but this was by far the best place I've been to. You can spend your hole vacation here without leaving the place, despite all the things and places to see around - it is thaaaat good!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddinair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

This holiday home is incredible. Once you have conquered the vertigo-inducing driveway (which I left my other half to do the first time!), you are rewarded with some of the most spectacular views I have ever seen.

As if that weren't enough, the house itself is gorgeous, feeling more like a millionaire's retreat than a holiday cottage. It even comes with an upstairs suite with views that make you want to move in permanently.

And there's more...
For children (and the young-at-heart!) just walk over the hill to the main farm and join Sue in feeding the goats, Henry-girl the hairy pig and even the horses.

And there's more...
You get free use of the house's washing machine, there's an informal international "book swap" going on at the living room coffee table, you can wake up with views of the entire Nelson area bay at sunrise, there's a bath in the upstairs suite (and a dressing room!) and the kitchen includes a really handy food cupboard, with bits donated by previous guests that are the kind of thing you usually forget and then need.

There was also a phone that does free local calls (we have found these to be very rare), so we were finally able to use our phone cards to call the UK.

The family that owns Harris Hill is welcoming, friendly, helpful and truly goes the extra mile, to help make sure you enjoy your stay.

We were amazed...
... And gutted that we had only booked to stay for 2 nights!

The Lookout is reasonably priced. We have paid more for mediocre NZ motel family rooms over the past month, yet this gives you so much more.

Yes, it's away from the bustle of Nelson life, but sometimes you just need to go somewhere quiet and beautiful to recharge. And getting back into town doesn't take long.

Our top tip?
Book ahead and arrange to stay longer than you think you'll need. You won't want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Double Oak, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

We enjoyed a wonderful 4-night stay at the Harris’ Hill Cottages in April. The setting is sublime and the family that runs the operation is extremely welcoming and helpful. We met Rachel when we first arrived and were immediately convinced that we’d made a great choice for our stay. We were in Sunshine Cottage which is at the end of secluded drive, quite away from the other cottages. In fact, all the cottages are nicely isolated and very private. The Sunshine has two nice beds, a lovely living area and an incredible view. The cottage’s kitchen is modern and useful and the cottage has its own washing machine. Clotheslines are provided for laundry drying. In all, the cottage is well-appointed, comfortable and, with the wood-burning stove, cozy on a cool evening. Other reviews and the description on the TA site show the interior of the cottage, so I’ve concentrated my photos on the view and the neighborhood ambiance. The setting is such that it’s hard to tear yourself away to do any touring of the area, but Nelson and its surroundings are well worth the time. The Harris’ Hill compound is reached by a winding drive up the hill which affords stunning views of the Nelson harbor and surrounding countryside at each turn. We’ll be back to our new favorite place in New Zealand.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teds300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
3.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
7.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
3.4 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Harbourside Motor Lodge
5.7 mi away
Tahuna Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motel
4.3 mi away
Te Puna Wai Lodge
Te Puna Wai Lodge
#1 of 59 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harris Hill Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harris Hill Cottages

Property: Harris Hill Cottages
Address: 23 Wastney Terrace | Atawhai, Nelson, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing