We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, views”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harris Hill Cottages
Ranked #10 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Hello Sue, Lucy here, I had a fantastic time at your farm. I got Chance to feed the lambs, and the pig you give your food scraps to Daisy the pig she will be very grateful! Worth the climb, fantastic views. Loved the horses too got to feed them some bread, apparently one of them was in lord of the rings.
The cottage we were in had a double bed and bedroom with 2 single beds, I slept well. Had a washing machine and a washing line, one last thing I loved the views of the Able Tasman.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyE14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Harris Hill Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2012

We had made a telephone enquiry with the owner, Sue, but no firm booking. Upon arrival, we thought that the cottages were a little too far out of town for our liking but Sue said we could have a look at the two which were available and if we didn't want to stay, that was fine. When we looked at the cottages and the views over to the Abel Tasman National Park, we just had to stay. We were there for three nights in total and the whole experience was fantastic. The weather was really good and to sit out in the morning sunshine at a picnic table in the garden, overlooking the fantastic views below, disturbed only by the mooing of a cow, the bleating of the sheep and tthe singing of the Tui's, was something we will remeber for many years to come. Sue and her family are lovely people and will do all they can to accomodate you, I can recommend a stay at Harris Hill Cottages without any reservation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Wow, what a place to holiday!! Stayed in Maggies for 4 weeks and could have stayed for good!
Views to die for, great hosts, couldnt fault it really. If you want an amazing holiday cottage, stay at Harris Hill!! Thanks to Sue, Mike, Rachael, Wayne and Preston!!
Family R-B'S

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

If you want a spectacular view of the sea, Harris Hill Cottage is just right! Harris Hill Cottage is located on a hill by Tasman Bay. Sunshine Cottage has great view of the beautiful sea and rollubg hilla and offers privacy and perfect for taking beautiful pictures. We had a deck outside the cottage which we could relax and have breakfast while enjoying superb views. What adds to our excitement are the occasional cows outside our cottage mooing to us.

Harris Hill Cottage is a working farm with many cute farm animals such as the lambs, the horses, the sheep, and llama. All the farm animals like to eat bread except the lambs. The lambs like to drink milk and you can feed them! Sue the host of the cottage has kindly provided us milk to feed the lambs and bread to feed the other farm animals.

Our family had a great time at the Harris Hill Cottage. We hope to be back one day. This place is highly recommended for friends and family.

Room Tip: If seclusion and privacy is desired choose the Sunshine Cottage.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amuseboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

We stated here for 2 nights in grandmas cottage. Can not express how beautiful our stay was. A superbly set up cottage. Fireplace warming the house when we arrived. Amazing views over the hills to the wide ocean and Nelson. Various farm animals at your door step. The owners were friendly yet left you in peace and were unobtrusive.
A very steep hill to climb up the drive way to get there but the views are just indescribable. Would recommend to anyone traveling near Nelson.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jgsyd85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Not the best night to stay. The clag was down no view and we had a storm all night but the cottage was so cosy we just bunkered down for the night and we will be back :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sassysalnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

In a way, this was not the right place for us to stay. We had two nights, arrived quite late on the first and then spent the whole of the next day out on a boat trip. So we didn't really have time to relish the climb up to Harris Hill or to enjoy the views and rural delights offered by Grandma's Cottage, although we enjoyed the antics of two hares each morning and had visits from some very smart pheasants.

Grandma's Cottage was picturesque, charming and quite comfortable. A big bonus for us was the washing machine. The high beamed ceilings meant that the place got chilly at night through lack of insulation, but not bad enough to light the wood burner. The sofa wasn't very comfortable and there were a few other small niggles we had, and perhaps if the owners spent a night here they'd pick those up and amend them. But on the whole, tremendous value, a very romantic cottage for a couple, and deserves a longer stay that we could give it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
3.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
673 reviews
3.3 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
4.0 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 41 in Nelson
381 reviews
3.4 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
486 reviews
3.2 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harris Hill Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harris Hill Cottages

Address: 23 Wastney Tce | Atawhai, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing