We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful folks and cottages”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harris Hill Cottages
Ranked #10 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We loved this. We stayed at Sunshine cottage. Sue drove down to the main street to guide us up the hill to the cottage. Cottages are up on top of a high hill with pretty views of the city and the sea. Clean cottage, large - was perfect for us - 3 adults and 2 kids. The sheep enclosure is adjacent to the cottage and we could feed the sheep by hand - which was very exciting for the kids! Sue, her daughter Rachel and husband Mike were great hosts. We Would certainly recommend this for any NZ itinerary via Nelson! The kids have the best memories for our stay here during our 2 week NZ trip.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Senthil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

We had such a lovely stay over 5 nights in City Lights. Couldn't fault this accommodation. If you want views, peace and quiet and wonderful hosts, this is the place to stay. It is the extra details that make wonderful memories and this is what we will always have from all at Harris Hill Cottages.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at Harris Hill over Labour weekend, and quite simply wow. Don't be turned off by the fact you can't book directly on the website -- Sue was very prompt in replying to me (like within the hour) assuring me that their "wee" Meg's Cottage was available for the weekend. Meg's must just be "wee" compared to their other abodes, for it was very spacious, fully furnished, and extremely comfortable for a couple's weekend away, with a bedroom, bathroom, lounge and kitchen, quite possibly the best views over Nelson, and at the same price as a motel room to boot. We always try to book a place with a kitchen to cook our own breakfast, and this kitchen comes fully equipped right down to the spices.

To get there, just follow the instructions on the website. An amazing drive starting between a few houses in a residential neighborhood takes you up for about a mile and to a completely different world of hills, trees and endless views. Did you forget your gym pass or your Buns Of Steel DVD? Fear not, you are free to walk and hike on the property on several paths for hours on end (just close the gates behind you). You thought the view from your cottage was nice? Wait till you get to the top of the hill!

Your night will be oh so restful with no sounds from the roads as it is extremely quiet, save for the occasional sheep's baa. Do yourself a favor, bundle up in a blanket or sleeping bag and spend some time outside looking at the stars -- it is far enough removed from the city that light pollution is minimal.

Our hosts were so kind and friendly and we must have spent nearly an hour talking to Rachel and petting the dogs before heading off. Would absolutely stay here again, and why not, pitch in to some of the farm work! Thank you again for a lovely weekend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bich-Han
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Family of 3. 1st visit to New Zealand. Very kind hosts! Stunning views from the Sunshine Cottage! Plenty of animals on the property! Cottage was very quaint & comfortable. Washing machine at property. A dryer would have been helpful since we visited in the "colder" months, but this is just a personal opinion. The cottage was fully stocked with just about everything else we'd need. Since it is a cottage on a farm, we did notice a few webs & insects at the property, but, this is certainly not something that should keep you away. Overall, fantastic visit...great treasure tucked up high in the hills!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BearFam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Family of 4, first holidays in a long time, eager to drive NZ from North to South, from East to West. Then arrived at "Sunshine Cottage" and simply didn´t want to leave...ever. It´s like visiting your grandma´s when you were a chile, in complete isolation, fully equipped, offering impressive views from Nelson while drinking some white -NZ- whine by the fire...A real pitty we only could stay for two nights, deserves at least four.
Things to improve: if you like to stay connected, the "Grandma" network was barely reachable and the amplifying antenna provided seemed to work only on laptops, but I guess nowadays tablets are more common while travelling.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cesar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We were in Grandmas cottage earlier this year. The lovely hosts -Sue, Mike and family had taken care of the minute things including a little high chair and a special bowls for my little one. The place was very homely, and well maintained. We found it very relaxing, spacious and safe With the little one running all around enjoying his time in the cottage playing with the calves. We have great memories of this place , the views are great. The time we spent here will be cherished for ever.
Thanks for making our holiday a memorable one.
Guna, Gokul and Satish.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSHulikunte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We the family of 4 people has spent a 23-day road trip in Southland, NZ and we've loved almost the every single place that we've been lived. However, the Harris Hill Cottages (esp the Maggie's!!)is undoubtfully the best amongest all!

I'd always check "things to do" when i travel to a new place, and i find those such as "mountain top" are always one of the most popular ones everywhere, for the breath-taking views... Well, come to Harris Hill, you will get the unbeaten view in every degree on the top of the hill. Bring your camara and you dont have to go anywhere else especially in the dawn and dusk.


You can get everything from here: cozy beds; stylish wood fireplace; a balcony facing the bottom sea and the whole city is below your eyes; a zoo including sheeps, horses, cows, dogs (awww i miss Tom), chickens, even a BOAR (YES!!! A BOAR!!! i thought i saw a huge feather duster when it lowered its head down!!!!!!!). and you get countless breads from Sue and the family to feed those animals!!! another "things to do" huh?

but the most important thing is, I love the host family!!! Sue and her whole family are just so kind and nice to show me around the whole farm, to give me suggestions on what to do, and provide help to almost every rediculous thoughts i had... it was just so nice to talk to them:) (dont forget to check Rachel's antique washing mashing which is a real blast >_< )

Well, everything's just wonderful here and we just wish we could spend more days... anyways i'd definately come back, and hope we can also meet up someday in Beijing! Bring your lovely kids here Sue!

Life is not measured by number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breaths away, isn't it:)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
3.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
679 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 41 in Nelson
385 reviews
4.0 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
153 reviews
3.3 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
3.4 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harris Hill Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harris Hill Cottages

Address: 23 Wastney Tce | Atawhai, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing