We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So sad to leave”
Review of Shortbread Cottage

Shortbread Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shortbread Cottage
Ranked #23 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We spent 2weeks here and felt at home the second we stepped in.We had the double room with a comfy bed and enough space to put stuff and even a piece of shortbread as a welcoming gift.The kitchen (with freshly baked bread every evening and an oven to make yummy pizza)and the dining area are very clean and spacious.The living room is nice and has a big TV with a choice of DVDs.The outside deck is nice to sit in the sun and enjoy a free coffee (tea and spices for free as well).Two bathrooms with shower are available.The staff at the time were very friendly and helpful as was Jimmy,the host,who is dedicated to his charity "Shortbread Trust".You can help by buying a piece of shortbread :) The city centre and supermarkets are all in walking distance.If you go to Nelson book yourself into this backpacker but do not forget to take some cash to pay since there's no EFTPOS or credit card accepted.Thanks for the experience!!!I was really sad when we had to leave and I'd come back any time.
Dany

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Wuschel-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

Honestly, this place ist very very clean, you have the best bathrooms I've ever seen in a Hostel and the lounge feels like home. Moreover you have excellent rooms, nice staff and a relaxed manager. The Kitchen is tiny but that's not a problem at all. All in all it is absolutely lovely and if you miss your home go there because it honestly feels like.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julius k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Nice little place with a cozy sense of "home" to it! Friendly people around you. Free wifi, coffee and tea, and oftentimes freshly baked bread late afternoon or evening. Warm and cozy fireplace! This is the closest you will get to a home away from home! Book well in advance during peak seasons!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is the perfect place to relax, with an excellent location (less than 5 min walk to town)!
Very cozy and warm hostel, the fire place is on every night and the living-room is very comfortable, with many books to swap.
The kitchen is tidy, well equipped and clean, the dinning area is lovely. The two bathrooms are pretty big and modern, and very clean.
The rooms are nice, well illuminated during the day (like the rest of the hostel) thanks to all the big windows. Great beds and mattresses, and you'll find a yummy shortbread in your pillow on your arrival!
Free unlimited wifi, which is a plus. Free tea and coffee and free homemade bread every evening!
Jimmy the owner is really friendly and helpful : he will introduce you to the other guests, rooms, light switches, etc, and will make you feel like home!
The garden is lovely, with a beautiful deck, a lot of flowers, tables to sit, and even a barbecue.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calendulaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Really lovely hostel, so cozy and homely, exactly what u want when u need somewhere to rest and chill out while travelling. The hostel offers free wifi, a huge plus for travellers, free tea and coffee and best of all a delicious short bread on your pillow on arrival. The place is kept really clean and tidy, the staff are friendly and do a great job maintaining the place. Couldn't fault this hostel, its location is great, great value for money, its small and homely, even when the hostel is full the place never seems crowded, best hostel we've stayed in on our travels.

Along with the hostel the owner also has a charity the Shortbread Trust that raises funds for people who really need it, u can buy shortbread, donate, or buy buttons in the cottage all in aid of the charity. Just adds to the lovely feel of the place, 10/10!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessie045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This is a lovely small hostel, only a 5 minute walk from the centre of town. The owner is a very nice guy - very helpful. You also get a shortbread biscuit on your pillow when you arrive! Has good kitchen and common room facilities and is one of the very few hostels I've come across with free wifi. I'd definitely recommend it and would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can, avoid the room that is directly adjacent to the TV room - chatter and noise comes right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fh375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I've been in Nelson many times and twice I stayed in the Shortbread Cottage. First of all I have to say it is a nice thing that you'll find shortbread cookies on your pillow. And they taste really good. The Hostel is very clean and the owner is very nice. The kitchen and the rooms are cozy and the hostel has a relaxed character. On my first stay one of the bunk beds was very noise but the second time I got another room and it wasn’t a problem at all. In my opinion the Shortbread Cottage is one of three top hostels in Nelson. And if you want to eat a good burger go to Milton Street at the Corner to Groove Street. Unfortunately I forgot the name of the burger place but they serve really delicious burger. Milton burgers or something like this?

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhileasFogg84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tasman Bay Backpackers
Tasman Bay Backpackers
#1 of 42 in Nelson
245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Gate Motel
Kings Gate Motel
#21 of 41 in Nelson
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Trafalgar Lodge
Trafalgar Lodge
#17 of 42 in Nelson
43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Almond House Backpackers
Almond House Backpackers
#12 of 42 in Nelson
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverlodge Motel
Riverlodge Motel
#23 of 55 in Nelson
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shortbread Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shortbread Cottage

Address: 33 Trafalgar Street, Nelson, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing