We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy”
Review of Shortbread Cottage

Shortbread Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shortbread Cottage
Ranked #23 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

A small hostel with a cosy feel. It feels like a home, not a hostel. The double we stayed in was a good size, heated and very comfortable. You get shortbread on arrival and free wi fi. This place is an absolute bargain. I also found the owner to be very friendly and welcoming. The hostel in the centre near the bus stops. I can't fault this place.

Room Tip: Book ahead. This hostel is very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed here with three friends in May 2014, it's a lovely small house, extremely clean, lovely fire in the sitting room! However certain staff members we encountered treated us appallingly, we came in at 10pm quite quietly and a member of staff stormed into the kitchen and told us off about turning on a light switch, then stormed out again! She then stormed into our room unannounced to ask us to be quiet, it was approx 10.30pm! The following morning we were again told off quite abruptly for ridiculous things like trying to close a door while having our breakfast! It did not feel like we were paying guests at all!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We love Nelson. This time we visited for an art exhibition. Shortbread Cottage is a lovely, boutique backpackers situated within 15 minutes of the Refinery Artspace and close to a large supermarket. It only houses 13 guests. We stayed one night in a three bed room and one night in the double. The double cost only $50. Where else can one get such quality accommodation for such a modest price. Toby and his partner, who are now looking after the place, provided excellent service. The kitchen is adequate for the number of guests. There are two bathrooms. Outdoor seating is pleasant. And there is a nice lounge. On all counts, five stars!

Room Tip: Take the double if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MykieHamiltonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DT
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We spent 2weeks here and felt at home the second we stepped in.We had the double room with a comfy bed and enough space to put stuff and even a piece of shortbread as a welcoming gift.The kitchen (with freshly baked bread every evening and an oven to make yummy pizza)and the dining area are very clean and spacious.The living room is nice and has a big TV with a choice of DVDs.The outside deck is nice to sit in the sun and enjoy a free coffee (tea and spices for free as well).Two bathrooms with shower are available.The staff at the time were very friendly and helpful as was Jimmy,the host,who is dedicated to his charity "Shortbread Trust".You can help by buying a piece of shortbread :) The city centre and supermarkets are all in walking distance.If you go to Nelson book yourself into this backpacker but do not forget to take some cash to pay since there's no EFTPOS or credit card accepted.Thanks for the experience!!!I was really sad when we had to leave and I'd come back any time.
Dany

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wuschel-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Honestly, this place ist very very clean, you have the best bathrooms I've ever seen in a Hostel and the lounge feels like home. Moreover you have excellent rooms, nice staff and a relaxed manager. The Kitchen is tiny but that's not a problem at all. All in all it is absolutely lovely and if you miss your home go there because it honestly feels like.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julius k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Nice little place with a cozy sense of "home" to it! Friendly people around you. Free wifi, coffee and tea, and oftentimes freshly baked bread late afternoon or evening. Warm and cozy fireplace! This is the closest you will get to a home away from home! Book well in advance during peak seasons!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is the perfect place to relax, with an excellent location (less than 5 min walk to town)!
Very cozy and warm hostel, the fire place is on every night and the living-room is very comfortable, with many books to swap.
The kitchen is tidy, well equipped and clean, the dinning area is lovely. The two bathrooms are pretty big and modern, and very clean.
The rooms are nice, well illuminated during the day (like the rest of the hostel) thanks to all the big windows. Great beds and mattresses, and you'll find a yummy shortbread in your pillow on your arrival!
Free unlimited wifi, which is a plus. Free tea and coffee and free homemade bread every evening!
Jimmy the owner is really friendly and helpful : he will introduce you to the other guests, rooms, light switches, etc, and will make you feel like home!
The garden is lovely, with a beautiful deck, a lot of flowers, tables to sit, and even a barbecue.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calendulaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
484 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tasman Bay Backpackers
Tasman Bay Backpackers
#1 of 42 in Nelson
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trafalgar Lodge
Trafalgar Lodge
#21 of 42 in Nelson
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Gate Motel
Kings Gate Motel
#21 of 41 in Nelson
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shortbread Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shortbread Cottage

Property: Shortbread Cottage
Address: 33 Trafalgar Street, Nelson, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing