We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“confusing on the rocks with in the city?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 623 on the Rocks - CLOSED

623 on the Rocks
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cafe, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are situated across the road from Tahuna Beach, we have fabulous indoor out door dining, Family friendly WE are here to please and give you a great experience on our menu we have a great variety Chowder, Salmon, Steak, Pastas, Salads with Vegetarian & Gluten Free options Breakfast ,Lunch, Dinner & Desserts. Wine, Beer and wide choice of beverages.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“confusing on the rocks with in the city?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We visited 623 on the rocks, at Tahunanui, south of Nelson, the same as the thread title, but the picture shows a different place presumably in the town centre.
On the rocks:-
Pleasant reception as we went in, we chose to sit in the far part oft he room to avoid bar music. Waiting staff were good and helpful. We had three different meals - fish and chips, big nachos and cannelloni and each was good. They forgot the the water for the table until the end of the meal.
Beer and wine was good.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank nuf_said_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    29
    26
    15
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Better off eating somewhere else.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We used to really like this place and were regular customers here but in the last few times our meals have been completely substandard and unenjoyable.
The first time this happened we were served lukewarm and congealed pasta after a 40 minute wait. When we commented on this the waitress told us that it was handmade and took ages to make and did apologize for the delay - I found this to be a little odd as it was the daily special so you would have expected it to be somewhat pre-prepared.
She then offered to have it made for us again but not being prepared to wait for another 40 minutes we declined and left having only had a coffee.
We decided that perhaps they were having a bad day and so went back for lunch a few weeks later. On this occasion we decided to share a pizza and some fries – both of which we have enjoyed in the past.
When the pizza arrived you could count the number of pieces of salami on one hand and the mushroom slices weren't much better.
When we tasted the pizza it was immediately obvious that it was a cheap store bought base with a few ingredients tossed on top – it was dry and tasteless and certainly not worth the $19.90 they charged for it – a $5 pizza from Pizza Hut would have had more topping and taste.
The bowl of fries had diminished in size from generous to a side portion yet the $9.50 price remained the same – what had been good value in the past was now extremely poor value.
We don’t think we’ll be giving 623 on the Rocks a third chance as they are plenty of other places to go instead.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breakfast Beauty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I had breakfast here- perfect hangover cure! Large meals, great service and heaps to choose from the menu.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Juana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We found the place noisy (7pm) but staff were accommodating when we wanted to move away from the main bar area. My starter of grilled haloumi with bread and hummus was disappointing. The haloumi was cold and tough. Hummus was unavailable but I was offered other dipping options which was good. My husbands starter of calamari was chewy, suggesting it was overcooked. My main of spinach, pumpkin and 3 cheese cannelloni was another disappointment. While it looked great there was no cheese to be found (or tasted). It was all spinach and where was the pumpkin?? My husbands nachos were not appealing - he said I've made way better ones at home. It's a shame this place didn't live up to our expectations as it was highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tasha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
261 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Friendly food OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

The staff very friendly and helpful. The crispy chicken salad was good but the serving of calamari my husband had was small. He had asked for an entree as a main and paid for that but there was not much on his plate.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 623 on the Rocks also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing