We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to love this place”
Review of 623 on the Rocks - CLOSED

623 on the Rocks
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are situated across the road from Tahuna Beach, we have fabulous indoor out door dining, Family friendly WE are here to please and give you a great experience on our menu we have a great variety Chowder, Salmon, Steak, Pastas, Salads with Vegetarian & Gluten Free options Breakfast ,Lunch, Dinner & Desserts. Wine, Beer and wide choice of beverages.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Used to love this place”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

As the title says my husband and I used to love this place but the last few visits has put us off going back, we got the big breakfast each and when they came out the bread was cold the bacon uncooked (like always) every time we get something here with bacon it is so uncooked, the eggs were fried but underdone and still had the clear slimey bit that needed a lot more cooking, the fizzy drink is more often than not flat, we have the same trouble with the town 1 of bland food and undercooked things or very oily, we will be rethinking before we come back again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MzDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    29
    26
    15
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food but too noisy”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

It was my birthday and I didn't want to cook. I had Grab One vouchers for half price food at 623 so decided to take my three children there for dinner. It was a Tuesday evening and I rang beforehand to make sure we could get a table. The place was quite busy with about half of the tables occupied. We were seated straight away, given menu's, told the specials and asked if we wanted any drinks. The waitresses were friendly and efficient. The menu selection was varied and we all had no trouble finding something we liked. Whilst waiting for our dinners we attempted to chat but the acoustics of the place made it very noisy. Also the sun was setting and shining straight through the windows into our eyes. The food arrived within a reasonable amount of time and was hot, tasty and well cooked. We all enjoyed our meals. We had gourmet pizza, hot dogs and chips, seafood gumbo and spicy wedges. The children had sundaes for dessert. The total bill was just over $95 but with the vouchers we only paid $55. We enjoyed the food but there are plenty of other restaurants with equally as good food and a much better ambiance so I won't be rushing back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“confusing on the rocks with in the city?”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We visited 623 on the rocks, at Tahunanui, south of Nelson, the same as the thread title, but the picture shows a different place presumably in the town centre.
On the rocks:-
Pleasant reception as we went in, we chose to sit in the far part oft he room to avoid bar music. Waiting staff were good and helpful. We had three different meals - fish and chips, big nachos and cannelloni and each was good. They forgot the the water for the table until the end of the meal.
Beer and wine was good.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank nuf_said_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Better off eating somewhere else.”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We used to really like this place and were regular customers here but in the last few times our meals have been completely substandard and unenjoyable.
The first time this happened we were served lukewarm and congealed pasta after a 40 minute wait. When we commented on this the waitress told us that it was handmade and took ages to make and did apologize for the delay - I found this to be a little odd as it was the daily special so you would have expected it to be somewhat pre-prepared.
She then offered to have it made for us again but not being prepared to wait for another 40 minutes we declined and left having only had a coffee.
We decided that perhaps they were having a bad day and so went back for lunch a few weeks later. On this occasion we decided to share a pizza and some fries – both of which we have enjoyed in the past.
When the pizza arrived you could count the number of pieces of salami on one hand and the mushroom slices weren't much better.
When we tasted the pizza it was immediately obvious that it was a cheap store bought base with a few ingredients tossed on top – it was dry and tasteless and certainly not worth the $19.90 they charged for it – a $5 pizza from Pizza Hut would have had more topping and taste.
The bowl of fries had diminished in size from generous to a side portion yet the $9.50 price remained the same – what had been good value in the past was now extremely poor value.
We don’t think we’ll be giving 623 on the Rocks a third chance as they are plenty of other places to go instead.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breakfast Beauty”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I had breakfast here- perfect hangover cure! Large meals, great service and heaps to choose from the menu.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Juana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 623 on the Rocks also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing