We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of Hopgoods

Hopgoods
Ranked #1 of 179 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Good honest local cuisine, served in a casual environment.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Location of this place is quite central. Service is really friendly. Good dinning atmosphere.

I like how delicate their food looks. The size is also good.

Chocolate mousse is my favorite.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cherc37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    824
    136
    31
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wairoa, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Flawlessly delivered delicious food”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

From the warm welcome to the stunning choice of food - this was a really enjoyable restaurant to visit. Exceptionally capable and attentive staff made the whole experience even more enjoyable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lake_Road_B_and_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We booked in advance which was as well as it was busy. Food was good especially the starters. Try the scampi and ham yum. Good wine list and great service. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DAFYDDHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Beautiful starter and tasty food, very high standard”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We were pleasantly surprised at the level of culinary sophistication of this place. It was very beautifully presented and tasty. The ambience of this place is warm and inviting and the cleanliness of the toilet is a plus.

We ordered the buff oyster (again served without shell) - it was very fresh and tasty. Prawn is genuine good sized serving to share between the two of us. It was very tasty, a little salty but great flavour bursts into the mouth that means little happiness. :) definitely best starter I had in nelson and the serving is for sure value for money (which is really a rarity in most of the places that we have been in this trip).

For main, we ordered the both the lamb and the steak. Both were really beautifully presented although lamb dish was a little bit salty according to my friends but its really tasty with veg and potato. Its a great sized main to go with the size of a good starter - one just enjoy the food at the right quantity. The steak, I think is beautifully cooked, I think the NZ steak without any aging process still tastes the best in the world. It came with the potato mash and the salad of grapes and other vegetables.

We will definitely go back if we come back to nelson to visit, its a great place and very closed to the cathedral so a quiet walk after dinner is also a great bonus for tourists.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth-Therese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Bon Appetit at Hopgood's”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was by far the best meal we have enjoyed while living in New Zealand. The menu was imaginative and accessible, the meal could not be faulted - beautifully cooked with a balanced fusion of flavours and textures. The waiting staff were exceptionally polite and helpful and the atmosphere of the restaurant was comfortable and cosy. Prices were on a par with other restaurants in Nelson and as we believe you get what you pay for, we were happy with our bill. We cannot not recommend this place too highly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank heloise12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hopgoods also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Hopgoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing