We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to re-group pre/post Abel Tasman Walk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Century Park Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Yealmpton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great place to re-group pre/post Abel Tasman Walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Clean modern motel with all facilities made by the really friendly and helpful owners. Rooms have good facilities and are spotless. Also have quiet balconies. The owners make the place helping with arrangements and transport. Easy 5-10 minute walk to city centre for food. Would definitely stay again

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StaresDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    62
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
94
372
39
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Great owners very friendly and welcoming. very comfortable beautiful rooms clean and a bed I just sunk into. Fanatastic location walking distance to down town quiet rooms. Everything you need is in your room. Will be staying again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

The Century Motor Lodge is deceptively superior to other motels we have stayed at during our 8 week visit to NZ.

First, the premise's are modern, bright, fresh and clean. Second, Jan was extremely helpful in her guidance and advice about the area. It is only a few minutes away from most of the better dining places. And third, she accommodated graciously, a necessary change to our 6 day length of stay without penalty.

We believe this lovely place's value is underestimated. It really is a spectacular venue. We only wish we had booked a bigger room than the studio. At least that will be our recommendation to our friends and family.

On a personal note, Jan, you could not have been more helpful in your medical guidance around Nelson and more caring and sympathetic about our scheduling conflict. And more honest about the on-sale. For those attributes you are to be applauded.
Best wishes
Brian and Tish.

Room Tip: On hindsight we wish we had chosen a larger room than the studio. Although perfectly adequate we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopMotel, Owner at Century Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hi Brian & Tish
Thank you for taking the time to do a report on TripAdvisor. We loved having you stay with us recently, and really appreciated your great sense of humor. Glad you could spend some time in this gorgeous part of NZ. Kind regards Ross & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights after I did the Abel Tasman 3 day Kayak trip. The owners were amazing. Very friendly & helpful people. They were very accommodating & even drove me to the airport when I left. The room I had was very modern & nice. The bed was comfortable, the TV worked and there was a nice walk out with a table and chair to enjoy some fresh air and read and have a coffee in the mornings. They also have a selection of DVDs that you can watch in your room if there is nothing on TV to your liking. The motel is central to everything in Nelson. You can walk to the many restaurants and also if you are there on a Saturday - a walk to the market is definitely recommended! Overall a very enjoyable experience. I hope to make it back sometime!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopMotel, Owner at Century Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
We are glad you could spend time in the Abel Tasman area - isn't it amazing! We really hope you manage to get back to this area so we can show-off some more of the wonderful things to do in this area. Kind regards Ross & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

when away from home on a business trip, its rare to find somewhere that you truly feel at home and i really feel at home , Jan and her husband make you feel so welcome ,
we had to stay on a Friday night an there is nothing i like better than a barbeque , Jan offered her own back yard complete with all the utensils and tissues and oils to cook a good BBQ it was very relaxing
i always stay at century park lodge and will do in the future
thanks for making me feel welcome in sunny Nelson

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopMotel, Owner at Century Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hi Mark, it was great having you stay with us again. We always love hearing about the new and 'cutting edge' products your company produces - they sure are leading the way. We look forward to having you back again with us sometime in the future. Regards Ross & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Excellent motel with a very high standard of decor and a feeling of luxury (felt more like a hotel room, than a motel room). Wonderful comfy bed, great spa bath and very good value for the price. The welcome at reception was friendly and efficient too. We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 262CatherineM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopMotel, Owner at Century Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hi Catherine, it was great having you stay with us at Century Park and we look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future when you make your way back to the Top of the South. Regards Ross & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

The owners were extremely helpful right from when we walked through the door. We arrived early morning, so our room was not yet ready. We were able to leave our luggage at the hotel and head out to explore the town. We were given a map and told about all of the great places to eat.

Jan and Ross were very easy to deal with and talked us through the many attractions to see and do in the Nelson region. They were able to organise us a rental car on the spot , from Dollarsave Autocentre. We were picked up within 10 minutes to go and collect a car.

The rooms are very clean and well finished. We will defiantly be returning to Nelson to explore the region further and will certainly be staying at Century Park Motor Lodge!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennes19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopMotel, Owner at Century Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
It was great having you stay with us a short time ago and we are glad that you enjoyed the parts of this area that you had a chance to see. Next time you come back, perhaps we will be able to tempt you into seeing some of the 'hidden treasures' that this incredible part of NZ has. Glad you found DollarSave Rental cars good, they sure give you a reasonably priced rental car. Kind regards Ross & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.8 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.7 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.7 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Park Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Park Motor Lodge

Property: Century Park Motor Lodge
Address: 197 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nelson
#1 Spa Hotel in Nelson
#1 Family Hotel in Nelson
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Century Park Motor Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Nelson's newest luxury accommodation right at the heart of the city. A fantastic team ready to welcome you and help with your vacation needs. The best beds available in New Zealand. Come along, we would love to meet you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Century Park Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Park Motor Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing