We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nikau Apartments

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Nikau Apartments
Ranked #35 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Absolutely Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Clean Apartment, Fast internet Affordable Price!!!
Easy walking distance to town took 7 minutes
Helpful and friendly reception staff
Plenty of space
Full kitchen with more than enough for us
Much better than any motel or hotel
$120 for 2 bedrooms and 1Gb Internet
One thing: $15 for 1Gb of Internet is a Tad high. Internet is fast though
field across great for exercising

Room Tip: Bottom Rooms for to avoid construction noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rickstar228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    16
    7
    6
    8
See reviews for
18
9
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
136 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on the first night of our South Island trip with another couple. The apartments are modern and in a great location. For $150 we got a 2 bedroom apartment with a double bed and 2 singles. The beds are very comfy. Thoroughly recommend to anyone

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicem2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Place was comfortable and handy to town. Ideal if you only want a bed for the night. Only real problem was that we arrived late at night and the windows were wide opne (third floor) so took a while to heat the place up.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillipM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

they decided they would give us four hours notice to move out and then take half of our bond to pay for damages that were pre existing and did not lodge our bond with the tribunal. the owner seems nice at first but since living there for a while we have realised she is two faced. our toilet and fridge were leaking and we asked three times for it to be fixed but still nothing got done. our door jams were broken by the people before but because they did not do an ordit form we are getting the chargers,even though we had informed management many times. they rip you off wherever they can and only want to make money off students who have no money to start with by expensive rent and laundry charges etc. i advise anyone looking to stay there to run for the hills and find somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nelson hotels

Placentia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

This is a student apartment housing which they rent out during the summer seasons to tourists. The location is great, smack in the middle of town and walking distance to all you would want to see in Nelson. The price is also great; we paid 95 NZD per night, probably the cheapest I can find given its location in Nelson. The manager Jacqui is very sweet (motherly). The reception area, a few feet down the street from the apartments, have tons of brochures for tourists.

The positives said, you do get what you paid for. Our studio unit is pretty small, does not come with air conditioning so it gets quite stuffy when you close the window/door. But if you leave the window open, you get noise from the courtyard below - college students who often stand there chatting to each other or smoking, TV/radio noise from the other units in the building across, etc. Sound insulation is not great, and traffic noise can get quite loud if you're in a unit in front, like ours was. IT IS a dorm, not a hotel, keep that in mind when you book. The wardrobe in our unit was falling apart, the back wood panel had separated and opened up. The internet was sporadic and scant, difficult to get a good reception. Furniture all consist of really cheap stuff you would find in a typical college dorm room (worse than IKEA). Overall, I would say if you want to save money, stay here, but otherwise I would stay somewhere else if money if not a consideration.

Room Tip: get units in the back, away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentFlyerAlso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Nikau Apartments, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for your kind words , we do try to go the extra mile for our guests, as they have come that extra mile to see us in Nelson . Our staff are all local residents with lots of knowledge of the many great things to do here
Our studios are compact, but totally private and self contained . Stuffiness is not usually a problem in our wonderful climate , but fans are available from the office if window opening does not clear the air.
Your visit in April coincided with an upgrade to a new internet system which I am very pleased to say is hugely successful . I apologise for any problems this caused you at the time.
Yes your cupboard is now top on our list for upgrade . We were concentrating on providing high quality beds for a good nights's sleep and other reviews have shown that this was the right decision !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

My wife and I stumbled across Nikau by chance due to lack of availability of all other Backpacker/Budget accomodation in Nelson. It turned out to be a blessing in disguise.

Although we arrived after the reception opening hours, the host Jacqui was happy to come and meet us after hours. The self contained accommodation, whilst small, easily accommodated a double bed (the most comfortable we have ever slept on), storage facilities, writing table, dining table, kitchenette and good sized bathroom.

Proximity to town was brilliant, an easy and safe 3 minute walk to the heart of the retail and restaraunt precincts, art galleries, pubs, Saturday Farmers Markets. We stayed over what was a long weekend and yet not once did we have any noise disturbance from students in the adjoining rooms or accommodation blocks.

Overall, the accommodation was top value for money and I would be happy recommending it to couples or singles travelling on a budget.

Two other tips if you are in Nelson:
- try the "authentic" Pad Thai at the Golden Bell Restaurant
- if you're looking for a wine tour, Bay Tours were exceptional. Roy, our driver and owner of the business was an absolute champion.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Youmatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

The lady who manages these apartments is extremely friendly and willing to assist with any questions etc. The fully self contained apartments are located in a great location. They are mostly rented to students with others rented to the public. Wouldn't hesitate in staying again and great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamBrisbane77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.5 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.6 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.5 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Almond House Backpackers
Almond House Backpackers
#12 of 43 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge
0.3 mi away
Downtown Backpackers & Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nikau Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikau Apartments

Property: Nikau Apartments
Address: 79-85 Nile St., Nelson 7101, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nikau Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nikau apartments is a 42 apartment complex comprising 3 four bedroom apartments , 9 three bedroom , 21 two bedroom and 9 studio apartments in three houses on three levels. Contemporary and modern, we provide complete independent facilties for both long term or short term stays in Nelson. We welcome tourists who want affordable comfortable independent facilites to rest and relax. We are situated on the edge of the CBD within easy walking distance to many top quality cafes restaurants and bistros. Gentle nature walks along the river or to the Centre of New Zealand beckon in the other direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Nikau Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing