We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you are looking for”

Maitai Valley Motorcamp
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maitai Valley Motorcamp
Ranked #36 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just what you are looking for”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We were more than pleased when we came across Maitai Valley Motorcamp! We were met at reception by a gorgeous wee girl learning the ropes of being an up and coming receptionist who showed us where to go and to pick any space between the trees. When we got to the right end of the camp it had such a great vibe! It was busy with backpackers and the freedom to park where you like (zero sites marked out) created such a great atmosphere. Set in a very peaceful place surrounded by trees and bush it it was so relaxing and for only $8 each! Man what a deal. Showers and toilets were clean, a little run down but no problem for us. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cg_mount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    4
    4
    0
    5
See reviews for
3
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Beautiful tree filled surroundings with lovely river and swimming hole on tap...waspy things at the swimming hole were a bit annoying but they weren't into landing and stinging thank god. Great level and roomy powered site, private and quiet. Nice welcome from lady at reception and very flexible with rules - thank you - hope you enjoyed the chocolates. We started off with a 5 night stay and loved the area so much we added another night. Recommend a drive further on up the Maitai Valley too. Fantastic showers at a good rate. We would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Located about 7 minutes from town, away from the hustle and bustle - this spot is great if you want some peace and quiet. We stayed in our camper van. There's kitchen facilities and paid Internet service. It's 8 dollars (non powered site) per pax so that's great value for money.
Hot showers is 2 dollars for 6 mins.

Great place, clean and lots of grassland.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank terence7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

This is not the friendliest camp site I have stayed out, but was excellent value for money and a great location. They are currently doing sites for only $6, so great for a couple of nights to explore Nelson or as stop over before getting Picton ferry. It has a kitchen and good shower facilties.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nirry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

Maitai Valley Motor Camp is about 5 minutes out of Nelson, great swimming holes, golf course down the road, peace and quiet, and best of all I can take my little dog, we only satyed one night, but we have already booked in again for another weekend, partner wants to check out the cycling tracks, and I want to sit back and relax.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janizs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
3.1 mi away
Tahuna Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motel
6.7 mi away
Cable Bay Holiday Park
Cable Bay Holiday Park
#14 of 42 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nelson City TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
1.1 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.0 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maitai Valley Motorcamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maitai Valley Motorcamp

Property: Maitai Valley Motorcamp
Address: Maitai Valley Road | CMB Box 3, Nelson, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Number of rooms: 365

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing