We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good facilities but noisy due to airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tahuna Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motel
Ranked #11 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Kakanui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good facilities but noisy due to airport”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great location just outside of Nelson and near to beautiful Tahuna beach. Cabin was a good size and came with some basic in-room facilities like a fridge, kettle, toaster and heater. Communal kitchen was clean and tidy and nearby. Bathroom facilities were also well placed and clean although it did take a long time to get hot water for a shower in the morning. Great kids playground. I will definitely stay here again as it was good value for money with a family. Only issue was the noise from in-coming planes which landed from early morning and late into the night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanieWigzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    48
    35
    12
    8
See reviews for
56
58
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
397 reviews
276 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Tahuna Beach Holiday Park Nelson is located south of Nelson, a bit off SH6. The Kiwi park is in front of a muddy inlet and has Tahunanui Beach Reserve at walking distance.

You have great views of propellor planes at low altitude as the park is right under the flightpath of aircraft landing and departing from Nelson airport.

The huge park offers cabins, studio units and powered & unpowered sites. Apparently the park is a popular holiday destination. In summer it must be a crowded place. The communal toilets and showers were clean and well maintained.

Facilities include coin-operated laundry, shared kitchen & dining facility annex TV room, internet kiosk, children's playground and a BBQ area which we all didn’t use. Wi-Fi internet is extra.

Considering its seaside location and notwithstanding its mass-tourism outlook we found Tahuna Beach Holiday Park OK priced for the quality offered.

We recommend the park to all who need a site for their camper-van and like landing aircraft.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsPiket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancefield
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed in a unit witch was very roomy and I loved the out lay. The site it self is a bit run down and could do with a bit of work. The staff were lovely. Cleaning standards could do with some improvement. Over all I would stay again as the location is great and I don't mind washing dishes before we use them.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Very old dirty smelley silver fish in the unit. Cobwebs clock battery was flat. Bed very hard. Expensive at $130 per nite small.no dish cloth for the dishes. Second morning the towel in the bathroom was very stained horrible. Staff very rude. Got our money so they were happy. There was alot of other accomodation available for the same money.was told if i wanted a new motel i should have book that one. Not worth the money a rip off.

Room Tip: Not unit 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 285diane285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
185 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed in a Studio Motel Unit which we found to be spacious but fairly tired and cleaning standards quite poor. However great location, warm units and staff always friendly and helpful. A special thanks to Gavin and Whetu whose service was always exceptional. Short walk (8-10mins) to awesome Sprig and Fern Tavern, as well as takeaway food and coffee shops - great location!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadicnevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This was a massive campground! We went at the tail end of summer and it was largely deserted, so had a lot of the facilities to ourselves, but I can only imagine how noisy and busy it would be in high summer. Not for the faint of heart! We happened to like the sound of the planes coming and going but that might not be music for all. The washrooms were clean and tidy, kitchens also although we only washed up there. We liked the easy access to the beach. Check in staff was helpful and friendly and we could park our RV pretty much where we liked. Using the sani-dump facility was reasonably easy but again, in high summer, could be a very busy place. We enjoyed our stay of two nights but I don't think I would come in early or mid summer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Facilities were fine and there was privacy over at the far end of the camp where it was quiet, but we'd hate to be there when it was full - this was by far and away the biggest place we stayed and it just felt too big for us. Also you're right next to the airport so be prepared for the noise of planes landing and taking off (not all night but throughout the day). Not a bad place to stay if it's quiet.

Room Tip: Try to get to the far side of the camp if you're in a van.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieandAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
2.5 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
2.5 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Nelson City TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
#3 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
2.9 mi away
Paradiso Backpackers
Paradiso Backpackers
#10 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahuna Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahuna Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motel

Property: Tahuna Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motel
Address: 70 Beach Road | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tahuna Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tahuna Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing