We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking and swimming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cable Bay Holiday Park
Ranked #15 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Went to explore historic Cable Bay, but found this delightful smaller camp and decided to stay. Good grassed area for our tent with plenty of water taps, plus trees for shade. A short walk to a safe but mainly stoney swimming beach. The owners allowed us to go through their farm property to join the hilltop walkway. Very clean facilities and a well equipped kitchen stocked with utensils and crockery. You'll need a boat if you want to catch fish. In the lounge is a fascinating folder with a family member's recollection of early settlers in the area. Very quiet except for one night when a long-term resident was having noisy drinks outside until midnight.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GypsyFrog_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara S, Owner at Cable Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Its great you enjoyed our stay with us at Cable Bay we appreciate your frank comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

Campervan sites are few on this small holiday park but set on a huge land area primarily used for farming and forestry owned by the family. Had a warm reception. The cable bay walk was closed near sept/Oct for lambing season, heard it is great but i was able to go on an alternative route, a great walk up the mountain to see fabulous views of cable bay and adjacent delaware bay. Greeted with interesting flora and fauna along the walk. delightful birds along the way and sheep all around. Enjoyed the fact that there i had a huge area to explore and no one to block my view. It's a sidetrack from the main highway when travelling from picton to nelson but more often than not, this means you get to visit let commercializes spots and savour a piece of beauty for yourself. One of those things that makes a visit more unique. No dumpstation though so dump b4 u go. cosy and compact amenities cater for everything u need. I highly recommend this for ppl who enjoy quiet nature, a leisurely walk and kids who love farm animals. One more thing, drive carefully when near the village, the roads are a bit narrow but manageable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Docjoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Small holiday park (18 places powered and 8 non) on the end of the cable bay road near Nelson of the SH6. Beautiful surroundings and an nice place to swim or walk. Powered site is $34,- and al the facilities are clean and well maintained. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thaddeus73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Nice camping ground. Out of Nelson but only about 40 minutes away. Worth it. Cable Bay it beautiful. Camped here but it looked like there were a few units as well. The customer service is barely there but they are nice. They also run the farm so aren't there a heck of a lot. But they seemed lovely. Old rusted tractor there made quite a beautiful picture. Very close to the sea and the walkway. Both beautiful. So clean and pretty good facilites. Small and quite cozy. Great place if you just want to get away for a few nights.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NelsonGibbygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Annemarie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016
Thank moret_julien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank Bloodfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
9.4 mi away
Tahuna Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motel
7.5 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
6.9 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Apex Motor Lodge
Apex Motor Lodge
#1 of 1 in Tahunanui
17 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
713 reviews
11.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cable Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cable Bay Holiday Park

Address: 800 Cable Bay Road | 8K Off SH6 at Hira, Nelson 7071, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Price Range: £110 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cable Bay Holiday Park is one of those off the beaten track experiences, situated on a farm that is on the site of the first international telegraph Cable Station (1876). Guests can swim, take a guided Kayaking trip, visit Happy Valley Adventures, walk the Cable Bay Walkway or just enjoy the peace of Cable Bay at neighbouring Cable Bay Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cable Bay Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing