We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This should be the benchmark for all accommodation”
Review of Ascot Lodge

Ascot Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ascot Lodge
Ranked #20 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 February 2011

It's the little details that matter when I travel. This place has covered them all. Small things like coasters on the table. Doesn't have to be there, but it is - and makes the place that much more homely. The cleanest place we've ever stayed in by a country mile. Hats off to Lynn & Stephan. When cleanliness is noticeable from the moment one walks in the door, you know the rest of the stay will be a pleasure. Our 2 bedroom unit was just great. Nice and quiet too.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SANZtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Ascot Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2010

My husband and I, and the couple we were travelling with were absolutely delighted with the two bedroom unit we stayed in overnight - so much so we regretted we weren't staying longer. Close to the airport, yet not overwhelmed by noise overnight (Nelson is a small city - flights do not go on overnight) it was really convenient. The unit was fresh and sparkling - high quality linen and superb attention to detail by its hosts. Its kitchen, had we needed it, would have been more than adequate. However, we made use of the very moderately priced continental breakfast, which was delicious. Hosts were so obliging, even though we arrived on the last flight in at 10pm, and made every effort to make us comfortable and welcome. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiontourSmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Ascot Lodge is a great place to stay - quiet, close to the beach and eating places (10 minutes walk). Lynn and Steve are great hosts and make your stay feel like you are one of the family. I have been coming here for over 5 years and can truly say that it is an enjoyable place to stay -from the welcoming beer to the home made cookies on arrival to the brilliant cooked breakfasts (should you choose them). A pleasant garden is available to sit in the summer evenings and while away the time, perhaps catching a glimpse of a tui eating nectar from the trees on the adjacent property.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grafted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Firstly i would echo every recommendation that was made in the last review and agree that YOU WILL NOT FIND BETTER ACCOMMODATION ANYWHERE ELSE IN NEW ZEALAND.
The rooms are scrupulously clean, fully equipped with spotless furniture and fittings, and very comfortable. Lyn & Steve are perfect hosts, will make you feel so welcome and help you any way they can.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetwocvsandoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We stayed one night in Nelson, and the I-sites ( which we used every day and also loved) guided us to the Ascot Lodge. Of our 20 nights in New Zealand motels on both islands, this was our favorite motel by far.
Lynn and Stephan are such friendly, gracoius hosts. Besides running a fabulous motel, they were also extremely helpful as travel guides with great recommendations for the rest of our tour of the South Island.

Ascot Lodge was spotlessly clean and extremelhy comfortable, so much so that we wished we were staying multiple nights. Extra touches like current magazines, a nice play to sit outside, and a couple of cookies waiting for us made us feel so cared for. There's also a really lovely garden in back to enjoy.
Lynn and Stephan are such modest but conscientous recyclers that they caused us re-examine our own recycling efforts when we returned home. ( Be sure to read the in-room information book for more insight into who they are.)
Lynn and Stephan are just delightful people, and it shows in what a great experience we had for that one night. We've already recommended Ascot Lodge to friends in Wellington who frequently visit Nelson area.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RSKDenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cornelia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vereme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
2.7 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#6 of 41 in Nelson
152 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
672 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
2.3 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
2.6 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Lodge

Address: 69 Golf Road, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: £74 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing