We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well equipped apartment”
Review of The Sands Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sands Nelson
Ranked #13 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Suffolk
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Well equipped apartment”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Apartments are situated out of Nelson centre but across the road from the beach with a number of eating options close by. Well equipped kitchen and comfortable living area. Living room is quiet, even though facing a road. However, found the bedroom was noisy as the window "looks" (high up so not for views!) out on to the secure car park. The light was also on all night which made it difficult to sleep without blackout blinds or curtains. Good location for visiting the local area. Nelson's Saturday markets are a great place to visit, as is Morrison Street Cafe for breakfast

Room Tip: Request a room not adjoining the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    17
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
18
27
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Very Modern, Clean and spacious, great cooking facilities, fixtures and fittings.
Comfortable bed,
Fabulous and very extensive views across the water.
Short drive into town.
A little noisy when trucks pass on the main road but it didnt b other us when we closed the doors to balcony at night.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catbark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We booked a three bedroom apartment at The Sands and were so excited to be upgraded to the Penthouse when we arrived. This apartment was large, spacious and had awesome views across the beach to Haulashore Island and the mountain range beyond. Gorgeous sunsets to be enjoyed. The apartment was well fitted out with comfortable bedding and linens. Convenient and easy access car parking. Very friendly and unassuming hosts were appreciated. The amazing huge decking area was fantastic as an extension of the living area and a great space to enjoy drinks with friends visiting us. I would highly recommend and think The Sands Apartments are good value for money. Before staying here I wondered if traffic noise may be a problem but hardly noticed it and slept with the doors open one night and just enjoyed the sound of the sea.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Always in motels, I was working in Nelson for 4days and came across The Sands.I booked online and had reply email to contact manager on arrival. He met me gave me key and remote. The entrance was a security fence and rolladoor as you parked up you were at your door. walking in was like an Apartment Ive lived in sydney really open,clean and modern. It was fully furnished with black leather seating dining table and everything you would have in your own home. The bedroom had Tall Drawers & Wide Wardrobes and the Lounge area had Folding Doors and opened up to a Balcony which on a Beautiful Nelson Day you overlooked Tahunanui Beach . We sat there and had some beverages before walking out to the lift and on ground floor is CAFE623 - a Bar/Restaurant and Breakfast.
We practically lived in there, we had their Thai Tuesday special $10 it was beautiful, Pizza the next night which was eat all you want and then the Saturday night they were fuly booked, however they told us they would get a seat and created a special table with 2 huge chairs it , one being white leather we looked like Queen and King!

Fantastic Place, Fully Recommend for 2 days plus!!

Room Tip: Book in Advance especially Summertime!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank repinsight05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We really loved our 3 night stay at The Sands and enjoyed the benefit of low season travel by being upgraded to a two bedroom, two bathroom apartment.

The apartment was very modern, clean and spacious and the managers friendly. Yes, it is on a busy road which may be an issue in the warmer months, however we had the doors closed as it was cool and opened the windows for ventilation at night time. Our bedrooms were at the back so the noise wasn't a big issue.

The apartments are a short drive out of the main area of Nelson but in a good location and the beach across the road is lovely.

I would definitely stay at The Sands again....... if I'm lucky enough to visit Nelson in the future!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAM1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Very disappointed with whole expereincefor the price we paid. Not only were the rooms were not that clean the main bedrrom linen looked like it need a good wash and the 2nd bedroom was very small.
View was great but yet again furniture on balcony very old looking.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUNSHINE COAST AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
237 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in late December 2010. The apartment was excellent, bathroom a bit small, but bedroom was quiet. Traffic noise really is a problem - it is on a very busy road, and you could not watch TV with the balcony doors wide open. Same with sitting on the balcony, the traffic noise was a problem, although my husband like watching the planes take of and land. But we had a restful 3 days before heading south.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rojaan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
2.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
2.0 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
660 reviews
1.9 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Amber Court Motel
Amber Court Motel
#18 of 41 in Nelson
89 reviews
2.0 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
1.9 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Nelson

Property: The Sands Nelson
Address: 623 Rocks Road, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sands Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sands Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing