We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sands Nelson
Nearby Hotels
The Sails Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$134
US$130
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rutherford Hotel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$192
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aloha Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Century Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palms Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trailways Hotel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delorenzos Studio Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palazzo Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbourside Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
39
17
8
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
17
8
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusy roadstayed in a bedroom apartmentthe penthousefish n chipsmodern appliancestop floortahuna beachbeds were comfortableplace to staysky tvsouth islandbalconycafesbedroomedlaundryhost
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed in a 3-bedroom apartment, very spacious and clean and convenient for the beach. There are some local shops and cafes/ restaurants but you really need a car as it is outside Nelson itself. The only negative was that the reception is not open very often- you have to contact the manager of the building by phone- my Australian phone didn't work in NZ! Perhaps a buzzer to contact the manager would be a better idea? he was very friendly and helpful once summoned! The beds were comfortable but there was some traffic noise- needed the air-con on all night to drown it out.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the second floor in Jan 2013.The Location is excellent if staying near the beach in "Tahunanui" is what you are after, but if you did not have a car and wanted to spend a fair amount of time in "Nelson city" shopping or going to galleries/ markets etc or going to restaurants/bars then this would not really the best area to base yourself. It is too far to walk and you would need to bus or taxi into the city, but in saying that I prefer to stay in Tahunanui and also we had a car so this was no problem. There are good cafes, takeaways & restaurants below or just a short walk from "The Sands" and the beach across the road is fantastic as are the views from the apartment balcony. The room was modern and fairly well appointed but the bed was terrible, it was so soft it was like sleeping on an old foam swab from school camp. As "The Sands" are apartments I think that they may be individually owned and each differently appointed and furnished, also note that as these are apartments the office is not very often open, even during the day and you need to ring for service ( we had to call to get the room key on arrival and as we are overseas visitors this was a international mobile phone call). Overall this is a good place to stay, I don't think that I would call them luxury apartments as per their web site description but it is worthy of four stars, the views are a five star and as for the bed it receives just one star.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaryF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We had a one bedroomed luxury apartment with everything you will need. Views across to the beach, & a nice balcony. The Sands is centrally situated, a number of bars, cafes, takeaways & restuarants all within 2 mins walking. Great for a night out without the car. Dinner at The Smugglers is well worth it, fab food. Undercovered private parking outside your apartment was wonderful. Neville the Manager is great, nothing is any trouble for him. We will definitely return for another stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front for the views. Wifi is provided at a small cost.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

One of the best hotel we stay in the trip .. private car park ... room with 3 bathroom and a excellent view of the beach.. The children love the bathtub and there is playground across the apartment which help to drain some energy off them

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdwardLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed at the Sands in January 2012. We had a one bedroom apartment on the 2nd floor with sea views. It was a little breezy but the apartment was sunny and very well appointed with very modern appliances and appointments. The only thing I wasn't as taken with was the bedroom being at the back of the apartment backing onto the parking building was dark and only had small windows at the ceiling line so at night it was nice but very dark during the day. It was very large and spacious with a lovely ensuite bathroom. The lounge/kitchen/dining area was lovely - light and spacious with a good sized plasma style TV and a lovely balcony with sea views towards Tahunanui Beach. It had shops and a good cafe below and the beach was adjacent with a park and nice seaside walk with cafe's and playgrounds.
We also had a secure carpark for our room which was just outside the door - very convenient.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay again. It was not cheap but very nice and the manager was extremely obliging and pleasant to deal with.

Room Tip: I enjoyed our beachfront room with great views so would recommend asking for beachfront and being slightly elevated on the 2nd floor gave better views than the floor beneath.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZedder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews