We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arcadia Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arcadia Motel
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

My wife, I and our 3 children stayed at the Arcadia for 5 nights towards the beginning of January 2013. We spent over 3 1/2 weeks traveling NZ, stayed in varied levels of accommodations throughout both islands and found the Arcadia to be one of our favorites. Great place to call home for a few days while exploring the area. Great location, easy to get to, and close to so many things. Andy, his family and team made sure our stay was unforgettable. Helping us arrange daily family friendly activities, suggesting places to eat, pointing out places to go, whatever we needed they seemed to have a way to help. They even went as far as helping us to arrange a sitter for our 3 kids while we attended a wedding. I would not hesitate to stay at the Arcadia again and would recommend to all my friend and family.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLong5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millener, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Hi Guys,

We really enjoyed your visit and it was our pleasure to offer our hospitality to such a nice family. We are lucky to have such a great location here at the Arcadia, only a short distance to the super Tahunanui beach, Nelson Fun Park and other great activities, the kids love it! There are also some really good local restaurants that are only a few minutes stroll away. Many thanks for your recommendation to other travelers. We do hope or paths will cross again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    61
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
68
90
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Utterly disappointing! The two bedroom family unit we were provided for our stay was incredibly overpriced, barely three star and bore little resemblance to the website we had researched. The couch was falling apart, filthy and threadbare. The unit had an unpleasant odour. There was no room up the left-hand side of the master bed so had to crawl into bed (obviously no bedside table either), the tiny corner shower leaked and (when we wiped the floor with a towel), it was black!, a tissue had been stuffed into an electrical switch, the kitchen was very dated with no dishwasher and the swimming pool was cloudy and completely unusable.

If you're wondering why we stayed, we checked all over town but there was nowhere else available that night so had no choice but to stay. We left the next day (although still had to pay the hiked up rates despite explaining in detail our utter disappointment with this unit). I was appalled they could charge "4 star" rates when our room was so substandard.

Room Tip: I understand the owners are updating the rooms, which is why there are some good reviews for this mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandjcarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millener, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Hi,
There are a few issues with your review that I would like to address. You made your reservation 4 months in advance for a 2 night stay. Our cancellation policy clearly states 48 hours notice for a free cancellation. Your cancellation of your second nights stay was made via email from your apartment at 11pm the night you arrived and your reason for cancellation was you had to attend your friends funeral the next day, not due to being unhappy with our accommodation. So unfortunately we had to charge for your second night as per our cancellation policy. Because of this and as per your threat on leaving, you mentioned that you would place a bad review here on TripAdvisor.
During your stay there was uncharacteristic weather with 70+ Kms blustering winds as other happy guests have mentioned on previous reviews. Once you had departed we noticed that you had left your bathroom window open all night, therefore the dust had settled on the bathroom floor. Cleanliness is of maximum importance and a priority to us for our guests, all our other reviews are praising our servicing and cleanliness of our apartments.
The corner shower is a 900 x 900 which are usual dimensions for a shower and so not tiny.
The swimming pool had been hit with those 70+kms winds for 3 days. I had cleaned the pool 5 times in 2 days and other guests and their families were still very happy to use it. I am not sure about the tissue in the light switch though it is pretty dangerous to poke that in there just for a photo.
The sofa is a sofa bed taken with the mattress hanging out. Our kitchens are very serviceable, with full ovens, hobs and fridge freezers with all utensils and quality tableware provided and whilst it is true there is no dishwasher in our apartments our staff are instructed to complete all washing up during the daily service. Our Beds are all new Sleepyhead Super kings and are all of medium resistance. It is difficult to provide hard or soft beds as maybe the guests preference and so medium is the best option to try to accommodate all tastes.
We feel that although we have here a somewhat bad review that sensible future guests will take into consideration the other 100 or so pretty good reviews that we have received and decide this review was placed due to the customer being charged for a night booked that they didn't want to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Our family group enjoyed a week at Arcadia Motel. Sincere thanks go to the owner, Andy, who was extremely helpful with all requests and very knowledgeable about activities in the Nelson area. Without a doubt one of the friendliest places we have ever stayed in. The two units our family used were very well appointed, clean and came with free WiFi, (which we had to pay for elsewhere in New Zealand) and Sky TV. Lovely Tahunanui Beach was within 500 meteres of the motel complex.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millener, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Hi Vicki,

We are very pleased that you guys had a great stay with us here in Nelson. It was our pleasure to offer free WiFi and Digital Satellite TV. We are happy that you found are apartments well appointed and clean and tidy. It was super to meet you guys and we hope the rest of your NZ trip was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed for a week in a 2-bedroom unit with our son and grandson. We found the manager and staff friendly and helpful. The pool was a bonus and regularly cleaned despite some very uncharateristic winds that continually blew debris into the pool. Although the beach is only short distance away we made good use of the heated pool in between beach trips. The units were serviced daily above our expectations. We would highly recommend these motels.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millener, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Hi Michele,

Many thanks for placing a review and for your recommendation to other travelers. Its great that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with your apartment and our service. It was uncharacteristic weather we had during your stay, but it is good to know that you did make the most of it and still enjoyed your time with us. We welcome the opportunity to be of further service during your next trip into Nelson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed for one night - the manager was welcoming and we settled into family room. The room was a little tired but was fairly comfortable and was most importantly clean.

We made use of the pool and free wifi - welcome bonuses - and enjoyed an afternoon on the beach - just behind the motel through a caravan park.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tattmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millener, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Hi,

Thanks for your review. We are happy that you found our apartments comfortable and clean and tidy and that you made use of the super Tahunanui Beach only 600m stroll. Its our pleasure to offer free WiFi and 50+ digital satellite channels. We are continuing to make upgrades on a regular basis to our apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

Overpriced. We paid as much for this tired two bedroom unit as we had done for five star accommodation in Queenstown. Very run down, minuscule pool with no seating, toilet that did not flush and far, far out of town. Room smelt, old fittings and unhelpful staff. The only disappointment in our entire trip to NZ. Photos on website are not an accurate representation of what the hotel and its facilities really look like.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Downunder1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millener, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thank you for your comments. We have had excellent reviews and comments from most of our other travelers and so your review does come as somewhat of a surprise. Should you of bought to our attention some of your issues during your stay we would of been happy to rectify them. The apartment has new Lakewood dining chairs, new Sleepyheead SuperKing beds, new curtains and bedding. Photos of the apartment are listed on our website and booking engines. Our prices do reflect the position we are in the marketplace during the summer season here in Nelson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

My partner and I stayed for two nights at this wonderful family run hotel. Andy and Jena the owners were wonderful with our accommodations. We had a one bed-room apartment equipped with kitchen, free wifi (rear in New Zealand) and cable TV. The room was clean and spacious and parking was right in front. Andy made really good suggestions to food and places to venture out during the day. The hotel was not right at City Center but it was easy to drive to and it's situated in a very quiet residential neighborhood. I had a bad glitch with Expedia double booking my accommodation. Andy was very helpful in talking to the booking agent. He Didn't charge us the extra booking, even though Expedia had charged them for the booking commission. That to me was extra special and I am very appreciative of their understanding and accommodation. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely return when and if I return to Nelson.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWonder94131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millener, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Hi Guys,

Many thanks for placing a review for us on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here. Never mind about the misfortune with the booking engine. These things happen. We would look forward to your visit on your next adventure to NZ. Keep us in mind for a direct reservation via our website or freephone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
2.5 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Nelson
Quality Inn Nelson
#15 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
2.6 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.6 mi away
Amber Court Motel
Amber Court Motel
#16 of 42 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Motel

Property: Arcadia Motel
Address: 36 Golf Road | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arcadia Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arcadia is a beautiful, quiet motel with an off-street courtyard situated only 500m from Tahuna Beach, 1km to the Nelson Links Golf Course and a short walk to excellent local cafes, bars and restaurants. We have 12 fully equipped spacious units ranging from studio to 1 & 2 bedroom family apartments. All units have Luxury Sleepyhead beds, full kitchen and bathroom facilities, High Definition MY SKY TV in each apartment with Record, Pause, Rewind features! Dont miss your favorite shows! Progressive DVD players, Truly Free Unlimited Hi-Speed Fibre WiFi access for all guests. IPod Docks and off-street parking. Relax by the solar-heated pool or experience the many cultural and adventure attractions that Nelson offers. Walk or mountain bike to the center of New Zealand or Rabbit Island and enjoy the spectacular views. Visit the weekend market and pick up something special. Founders Park and the Japanese Gardens are great places to relax with the family. Nelson - your stepping stone to the Abel Tasman National Park, Rainbow Ski Field and Marlborough Sounds. Arcadia Motel - your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Arcadia Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing