We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed - room smelled of curry”
Review of Arcadia Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arcadia Motel
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

Booked this motel based on TripAdvisor rating but was very disappointed. We had a two roomed unit that smelled strongly of curry from the previous residents. Unit was clean in the obvoius areas but we did spot a used tissue under one of the single beds just before checking out.

The unit was pretty old and at $210 was about $40 too high compared to similar NZ properties we have stayed at during our 3-week tour of NZ.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnFLUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millener, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Hi John,

We apologize that your apartment had a curry odor. The previous guests were from overseas and did not adhere to the rules in regards to cooking in the apartments. It is an unfortunate part of being a motel owner and of course we would of switched your apartment if we could, though we had full occupancy at the time. Please accept a Loyalty Discount Special offer of 20% off our rack rate for your next visit and please feel free to call me on 0800 427 223 to collect. We do keep a very close track of our seasonal tariff pricing and we know for sure that we have competitive rates in comparison to alternative Nelson accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2013

Great motel. Andy the owner was most helpful, particularly as I had booked a suite by mistake instead of a 1 bedroom and he immediately offered us an alternative room to resolve our problem.
The motel is in a good location and we enjoyed a walk to the expansive beach in the evening.
Rooms were modern, clean,with a large bed and we were able to park immediately outside the door. The kitchen was well appointed and we were also pleased to see a full sized oven which enabled us to vary our usual evening meal. The small pool was also spotlessly clean and inviting.
We would happily stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millener, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Hi Sue,

Many thanks for your kind review. It is good to know that you found our full kitchen facilities handy and you enjoyed the Tahunanui Beach just a short stroll away. We would be happy to further extend our hospitality should you return to Nelson in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed here just for one night and would stay for more. The bed was a real bonus, really comfy and quality one, so we had a good sleep. Room was clean and had all the basics you need for a comfortable stay.
The host, Andy was very nice and helpful with recommendation on activities.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlgaFranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millener, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Hi Olga,

Great to know you guys really enjoyed stay and you found our super kings really comfortable.We are happy to recommend the super activities and things to do in Nelson to our guests. We would look forward to your next visit. Thanks for placing a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We booked this motel and what a fantastic place it is. Our rooms (2 bedrooms) beautiful bathroom and kitchen and super size lounge / dining room. TV with masses of channels and wifi.I am an extremely particular person about where I stay in respect of cleanliness - this was absolutely spot on and would recommend this beautiful motel to anyone. The host Andy and hostess Jena were extremely helpful even though our journey took longer than expected and we were very late arriving - nothing was too much trouble - and Andy was a mine of local and other varied information. Thank you for making our stay wonderful. I have no idea what the other people were talking about re room 2 - THIS MOTEL IS clean to a very high standard - I mix with the elite Cheshire set and Premier League Footballers & England Footballers past & present and Welsh Rugby Captains are amongst my friends and I would recommend this motel to anyone. Good Luck for the future Andy & Jena all the best and thank you from Debbie, Martin, Carly & Craig :)

Room Tip: Room 2 was brilliant for us - quiet on the end and opposite the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debmart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millener, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Hi Deb,

Many thanks for your super review! We are very happy that you found our apartments both spacious and clean and made good use of the Sky and Free WiFi. It was our pleasure to be of service and we look forward to seeing you guys again should you be returning to Nelson for a vacation or short break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Enjoyable stay. I have stayed here before on Business. Came down with my wife for a 3 day break. We had a great time, roomy rooms, nice and clean. Host was nice and helpful and friendly. It was so warm when we were here we spent sometime in the pool. It was nicely warmed to take the chill off, would stay again. No real street noise.

Room Tip: Motel is off main road so any room good for no street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millener, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Hi Cameron,

Super to see you again and thanks for your review. Keep us in mind for your next biz trip into Nelson or even a long weekender. Great that you found our apartments roomy and clean. Look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Booked the two bedroom suite for myself and my traveling companions on a 3 week trip in New Zealand. Stayed here for 5 nights. The place was clean, comfortable and the host and hostess, Andy and Jena were very accommodating and extremely helpful. Liked the feature that the king size beds could be separated so we each had a bed. Andy suggested many places to see locally, booked some reservations for us and was always available to us when we needed assistance. Enjoyed sitting out on my deck with our glasses of wine each night. Loved the area!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjt673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millener, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Hi Guys,

Thanks for staying with us during your trip into Nelson and for your time to place a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found our apartments comfortable and clean. It was my pleasure to make arrangements for your trips and to let you know about the great things to see and do here in Nelson. Keep us in mind for your next Kiwi adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I am a Sales Representative and I stay at The Arcadia for three nights every 6 weeks and have been returning here for almost one year. The motel unit is very comfortable, the beds are of a good size and very also very comfortable. The units are serviced every day and smell fresh and clean when I return each night.
The TV system is great with a huge range of channels.
I have been coming to Nelson for about 3 years and have tried about 6 other Motels all of which had shortcomings. No problems at the Arcadia.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millener, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Hi Mike,

Many thanks for taking the time to place a review. We value your comments and your business. Its great to know you are comfortable when you stay with us and make good use of our services. We look forward to being of further service on your next trip in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
2.6 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
702 reviews
2.2 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.6 mi away
Amber Court Motel
Amber Court Motel
#18 of 42 in Nelson
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Quality Inn Nelson
Quality Inn Nelson
#13 of 42 in Nelson
128 reviews
2.6 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#6 of 42 in Nelson
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
#4 of 42 in Nelson
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Motel

Address: 36 Golf Road | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: £74 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arcadia Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arcadia is a beautiful, quiet motel with an off-street courtyard situated only 500m from Tahuna Beach, 1km to the Nelson Links Golf Course and a short walk to excellent local cafes, bars and restaurants. We have 12 fully equipped spacious units ranging from studio to 1 & 2 bedroom family apartments. All units have Luxury Sleepyhead beds, full kitchen and bathroom facilities, High Definition MY SKY TV in each apartment with Record, Pause, Rewind features! Dont miss your favorite shows! Progressive DVD players, Truly Free Unlimited Hi-Speed Fibre WiFi access for all guests. IPod Docks and off-street parking. Relax by the solar-heated pool or experience the many cultural and adventure attractions that Nelson offers. Walk or mountain bike to the center of New Zealand or Rabbit Island and enjoy the spectacular views. Visit the weekend market and pick up something special. Founders Park and the Japanese Gardens are great places to relax with the family. Come see us at the Arcadia! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arcadia Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing