We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hosts and large clean units” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arcadia Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arcadia Motel
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hosts and large clean units”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed here in January for a family wedding. The hosts were extremely accommodating, allowing us to completely dominate the pool/BBQ area twice for family functions! The units are very spacious, which is not so common any more. It's so nice to have room to move and spread out when at a motel. I would definitely choose Arcadia again when I visit Nelson. It is an easy walk to the beach and to several GREAT coffee shops!
Cheers you guys you are great
Serra :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serra_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Serra,

Many thanks for staying with us here at the Arcadia. We appreciate your time to place a review and are very happy that you guys all enjoyed your stay. We do have spacious apartments and full cooking facilities which is a good bonus when staying for a few days or more. Do give us a call on 0800 427 223 on your next visit to Nelson and we will be happy to be of further service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    61
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
68
90
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

We chose Arcadia based on Trip Advisor reviews and its location and were not disappointed. The room was comfortable and very well equipped with a very pleasant outlook. Wi-fi & TV worked better than in many NZ motels we've stayed in, and the proprietor was friendliness and helpfulness itself. It is an easy walk to the beach, away from the hustle of the town centre and handy for the airport and for WOW. It is also on the right side of town for an easy drive to the Abel Tasman National Park.

The room was competitively priced, and all in all, we had a very comfortable stay. It did not match the best we have stayed in in NZ, but we were well content with our stay here.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hi Bob,

Really good to know you were comfortable and content with your visit here. It is our intent to provide our guests with all the extras such as Free Wifi and super Satellite Digital TV channels for no additional costs. We are glad you made the most of travelling in and around Nelson. Enjoy the rest of your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We booked for 3 nights for our family of 2 adults and 3 kids.

The owner said he had a small room for the first night and a larger one for the last 2 nights and booked us in.

We arrived he upgraded us for no extra cost to stay in the larger room the whole time. Free wifi, good location and clean rooms.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a car port - useful if the weather is very sunny or raining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hi Stuart,

Great to know you guys all enjoyed your visit with us here at the Arcadia. Its our pleasure to offer FREE Unlimited Wifi for all guests as we know it helps to keep in touch while your travelling. Cleanliness is paramount and we are pleased you found the apartments to a high standard. Give us a call for your next trip into Nelson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is my choice of motel in Nelson. Facilities are excellent in all aspects, and the owners are very friendly and helpful. There is a gate through to the camping ground if, like me, you have family camping there.

Room Tip: One unit has a large spa bath. My 4 grandchildren loved this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennieH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hi Jennie,

It was great to be able to accommodate and see you again. Thanks for your review. Good to know you enjoyed your stay in one of the Spa apartments. We do look forward to your next visit. Just give us a mail or call for any Nelson accommodation requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

After 3 busy and exhausting days in Abel Tasman we were very happy to find a little paradise in Nelson. We did enjoy a very nice room for the 5 of us, made the most of the pool and we cooked our dinner on a great BBQ. Owners are very friendly and helpfull. Thank you and I might come back for business trip later on.
Philippe

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hi Phillipe,

Many thanks for staying with us here at the Arcadia and for placing a review. We would welcome the opportunity to accommodate you in Nelson on your business travels. Give us a call on our Free Phone: 0800 427 223
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I stay here about 7 times a year and I get fantastic service. Very friendly people and overall just an awesome place to stay. Rooms are tidy with all the necessary essentials. Pools is lovely and warm. Nice and close to the beach and park.
See you in January :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Hi Nathan,

Many thanks for your kind review. Its great to know that you find the Arcadia a super place to stay. We value your business and point of view. A very Happy Christmas and New Year to you, we look forward to seeing you in Jan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Very comfortable rooms with excellent Facilities. Full Kitchen & Very Clean with excellent customer service. The owners are very friendly & helpful. There is full Sky TV in each room which is fantastic. The Motel is very nicely located. I would highly recommend this Motel to anyone visiting the Nelson region.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busty_cam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hi Colin,

We are glad you had a great time here in Nelson. Many thanks for your review and recommendation to other guests traveling to stay with us here in Nelson. Our full kitchens and full digital Sky package do make our guests stay more comfortable. Being 600m to the Tahunanui beach is a super location and although we are a 3 min drive to town we do have some excellent bars and restaurants within walking distance. We are are happy you made good use of all this and your trips to the Abel Tasman and Nelson Lakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
2.5 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Nelson
Quality Inn Nelson
#15 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
2.6 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.6 mi away
Amber Court Motel
Amber Court Motel
#16 of 42 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Motel

Property: Arcadia Motel
Address: 36 Golf Road | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arcadia Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arcadia is a beautiful, quiet motel with an off-street courtyard situated only 500m from Tahuna Beach, 1km to the Nelson Links Golf Course and a short walk to excellent local cafes, bars and restaurants. We have 12 fully equipped spacious units ranging from studio to 1 & 2 bedroom family apartments. All units have Luxury Sleepyhead beds, full kitchen and bathroom facilities, High Definition MY SKY TV in each apartment with Record, Pause, Rewind features! Dont miss your favorite shows! Progressive DVD players, Truly Free Unlimited Hi-Speed Fibre WiFi access for all guests. IPod Docks and off-street parking. Relax by the solar-heated pool or experience the many cultural and adventure attractions that Nelson offers. Walk or mountain bike to the center of New Zealand or Rabbit Island and enjoy the spectacular views. Visit the weekend market and pick up something special. Founders Park and the Japanese Gardens are great places to relax with the family. Nelson - your stepping stone to the Abel Tasman National Park, Rainbow Ski Field and Marlborough Sounds. Arcadia Motel - your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Arcadia Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing