We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and friendly”
Review of Arcadia Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arcadia Motel
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and friendly”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights and our stay was very comfortable. The room was very clean and there is a small heated swimming pool outside, there is also free wifi. Andy and Gena are extremely friendly and helpful with a wealth of knowledge about the surrounding area.
We would thoroughly recommend this motel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi Ron,

Many thanks for your review.We are very happy you had a great time. We hope the rest of your NZ trip was a super experience. Thanks for your recommendation to other travelers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    61
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
70
91
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We received a very friendly and helpful arrival from owner Andy. Whatever you need, he is very willing to help.

Our apartment had plenty of room and seating including a small area for sitting outside. It was well equipped - with full cooker - spotlessly clean and we enjoyed nice hot showers. There were plenty of opening windows and power sockets.

The wifi was the best we've experienced - fast, virtually unlimited and free. There was also a Sky TV box with loads of channels which is handy if the weather is poor.

There is a small pool which is a super option when it's hot. The washing machine cost $2 and powder $1.

The motel is very well positioned - close to a lovely beach and on the Abel Tasman side of Nelson.

It was a great choice and a definite recommend.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank phil100652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Phil,

We enjoyed very much your visit. and many thanks for the super review. It is always good to know that you have found our apartments very clean and tidy. Also that the free WiFi and Sky channels was appreciated. Many thanks for your recommendations to other holidaymakers. GB.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

After a long drive to Nelson on a rainy day we were met with a warm welcome at reception.

We were offered a 2 bedroom unit which exceeded all our expectations.
Spacious and well equipped, really comfortable beds, peaceful, quiet and superbly clean

The owners were extremly friendly,

This is a motel that is trying hard to offer good value and we recommend them for all travellers.

Would we come back to this hotel - YES, of course.

Thanks Andy & Jena for a pleasant stay.

//Matti & Ulla Siren, Uppsala, Sweden

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Matti,

Great to have you guys stay with us here at the Arcadia. It was our pleasure to accommodate you guys. Many thanks for your recommendations to other travelers. Really good to know you enjoyed your NZ experience and we would look forward to seeing you on your next Kiwi adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Great place to stay in Nelson. it is very close to the Tahunanui Beach. We love the 2 bedroom we stayed in , it is Large, open accommodation ,very clean and homely.
Plenty of parking, we have parks that are undercover too . there is a swiming pool , it is good idear for us stay there during the hot weather.

Andy and Bob are always the gracious and friendly host. we are definitely going back next time.

Room Tip: Our room is number 1 , it is very suitable for family (4 people ) staying in .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qiuping S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Guys,

Very happy to accommodate you guys on your trip into Nelson. It was good to see you and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for your review. We do like the homely touches such as providing over 70 digital Sky channels and Free Unlimited WiFi also the luxury sleepyhead super king beds! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed here in January for a family wedding. The hosts were extremely accommodating, allowing us to completely dominate the pool/BBQ area twice for family functions! The units are very spacious, which is not so common any more. It's so nice to have room to move and spread out when at a motel. I would definitely choose Arcadia again when I visit Nelson. It is an easy walk to the beach and to several GREAT coffee shops!
Cheers you guys you are great
Serra :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serra_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Serra,

Many thanks for staying with us here at the Arcadia. We appreciate your time to place a review and are very happy that you guys all enjoyed your stay. We do have spacious apartments and full cooking facilities which is a good bonus when staying for a few days or more. Do give us a call on 0800 427 223 on your next visit to Nelson and we will be happy to be of further service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

We chose Arcadia based on Trip Advisor reviews and its location and were not disappointed. The room was comfortable and very well equipped with a very pleasant outlook. Wi-fi & TV worked better than in many NZ motels we've stayed in, and the proprietor was friendliness and helpfulness itself. It is an easy walk to the beach, away from the hustle of the town centre and handy for the airport and for WOW. It is also on the right side of town for an easy drive to the Abel Tasman National Park.

The room was competitively priced, and all in all, we had a very comfortable stay. It did not match the best we have stayed in in NZ, but we were well content with our stay here.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hi Bob,

Really good to know you were comfortable and content with your visit here. It is our intent to provide our guests with all the extras such as Free Wifi and super Satellite Digital TV channels for no additional costs. We are glad you made the most of travelling in and around Nelson. Enjoy the rest of your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We booked for 3 nights for our family of 2 adults and 3 kids.

The owner said he had a small room for the first night and a larger one for the last 2 nights and booked us in.

We arrived he upgraded us for no extra cost to stay in the larger room the whole time. Free wifi, good location and clean rooms.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a car port - useful if the weather is very sunny or raining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hi Stuart,

Great to know you guys all enjoyed your visit with us here at the Arcadia. Its our pleasure to offer FREE Unlimited Wifi for all guests as we know it helps to keep in touch while your travelling. Cleanliness is paramount and we are pleased you found the apartments to a high standard. Give us a call for your next trip into Nelson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
2.2 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Nelson
Quality Inn Nelson
#14 of 41 in Nelson
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
2.6 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
667 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amber Court Motel
Amber Court Motel
#18 of 41 in Nelson
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Motel

Property: Arcadia Motel
Address: 36 Golf Road | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arcadia Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arcadia is a beautiful, quiet motel with an off-street courtyard situated only 500m from Tahuna Beach, 1km to the Nelson Links Golf Course and a short walk to excellent local cafes, bars and restaurants. We have 12 fully equipped spacious units ranging from studio to 1 & 2 bedroom family apartments. All units have Luxury Sleepyhead beds, full kitchen and bathroom facilities, High Definition MY SKY TV in each apartment with Record, Pause, Rewind features! Dont miss your favorite shows! Progressive DVD players, Truly Free Unlimited Hi-Speed Fibre WiFi access for all guests. IPod Docks and off-street parking. Relax by the solar-heated pool or experience the many cultural and adventure attractions that Nelson offers. Walk or mountain bike to the center of New Zealand or Rabbit Island and enjoy the spectacular views. Visit the weekend market and pick up something special. Founders Park and the Japanese Gardens are great places to relax with the family. Nelson - your stepping stone to the Abel Tasman National Park, Rainbow Ski Field and Marlborough Sounds. Arcadia Motel - your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Arcadia Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing