We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another superb stay at Arcadia!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arcadia Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arcadia Motel
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another superb stay at Arcadia!”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Fantastic value, great location, and the best staff!! They are totally flexible, and incredibly accomodating, and always make our staff feel welcome. Thank you for all you do to make our trips to Nelson such a pleasure :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D2DTCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hi D2D,

It was great to host your guys again here in Nelson. Many thanks for taking the time to place a review for us. We are very happy your guys enjoyed their stay with us and we look forward to being of further service in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    61
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
69
91
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Great little motel with the most comfortable bed I have ever encountered away from home. Lovely friendly owners. Nice units with everything you need. Enjoyed the heated pool. Free wifi. Close to beach and handy to plenty of eating places. Breakfast can be provided. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi Dawn,

Nice to know our Luxury Sleepyhead Beds are fully appreciated! Many thanks for your review and recommendation. We always try to give the "home from home" experience for all our guests and provide those little xtras (Free Unlimited WiFi and 70 Sky channels) to make the stay more comfy. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Thanks for providing 4 lovely clean units for our Pegasus Belles Leisure Marching Team from Christchurch, who attended the Nationals held in your city over weekend of 7 and 8th March. Your units are well equipped, clean and the beds were so comfortable. The heated swimming pool was enjoyed by many of us after a hard day's marching (and shopping)!! A wonderful place to stay in the beautiful city of Nelson. Such a lovely family running these motels and their children were a delight.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Our pleasure Janne!

Thanks for staying with us. Great to know you guys all had a super time. If any of your team fancy a short break during the year please do not hesitate to give us a call on the Free Phone:0800 427 223 for some great rates!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Owner Andy made us so welcome on our arrival.places to visit,eat and relax,all spot on.We had unit No.3 which was very clean,comfortable and not near a main road.You can walk to a beautiful beach in less than 5mins and restaurants about the same.true unlimited wifi here no restrictions.If you visit Nelson you should stay here ,10 out of 10

Room Tip: Unit three
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi Ronald,

Many thanks for your review and recommendations. We are very happy you enjoyed you stay with us. We do have a good spot here by Tahunanui Beach. Great for that relaxed vacation! Keep us in mind on your next trip in where we would happy to be of further service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

On arrival we were informed that we had been upgraded, fantastic as it had been a long drive. kids immediately got in to their togs and utilised the pool. Wifi access was of a high standard compared to some places we had stayed. Andy the owner went above and beyond to make sure that we were comfortable. Also recommended a fantastic restaurant and we were not disappointed. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was huge. We would recommend it and hope to return. On returning home we had received a voice message from Andy about an item left in the room, only something small, but because Andy had made the effort to contact us about it was very soon back in our possession. Thanks Heaps Andy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sues09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi Sue,

We were happy to be able to offer you a Free Upgrade and that you made use of our Unlimited WiFi. It is our pleasure to offer options for dining and super "things to do in Nelson" We want to make sure that you had a good time! Great that you found our apartments a good size. Thanks for your time to place a review. We hope to get to see you guys on your next trip in to Nelson. Give us a call on 0800 427 223 to place your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights and our stay was very comfortable. The room was very clean and there is a small heated swimming pool outside, there is also free wifi. Andy and Gena are extremely friendly and helpful with a wealth of knowledge about the surrounding area.
We would thoroughly recommend this motel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi Ron,

Many thanks for your review.We are very happy you had a great time. We hope the rest of your NZ trip was a super experience. Thanks for your recommendation to other travelers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
265 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We received a very friendly and helpful arrival from owner Andy. Whatever you need, he is very willing to help.

Our apartment had plenty of room and seating including a small area for sitting outside. It was well equipped - with full cooker - spotlessly clean and we enjoyed nice hot showers. There were plenty of opening windows and power sockets.

The wifi was the best we've experienced - fast, virtually unlimited and free. There was also a Sky TV box with loads of channels which is handy if the weather is poor.

There is a small pool which is a super option when it's hot. The washing machine cost $2 and powder $1.

The motel is very well positioned - close to a lovely beach and on the Abel Tasman side of Nelson.

It was a great choice and a definite recommend.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank phil100652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Phil,

We enjoyed very much your visit. and many thanks for the super review. It is always good to know that you have found our apartments very clean and tidy. Also that the free WiFi and Sky channels was appreciated. Many thanks for your recommendations to other holidaymakers. GB.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
2.5 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
457 reviews
2.6 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Nelson
Quality Inn Nelson
#15 of 41 in Nelson
83 reviews
2.2 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
2.6 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Motel

Property: Arcadia Motel
Address: 36 Golf Road | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arcadia Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arcadia is a beautiful, quiet motel with an off-street courtyard situated only 500m from Tahuna Beach, 1km to the Nelson Links Golf Course and a short walk to excellent local cafes, bars and restaurants. We have 12 fully equipped spacious units ranging from studio to 1 & 2 bedroom family apartments. All units have Luxury Sleepyhead beds, full kitchen and bathroom facilities, High Definition MY SKY TV in each apartment with Record, Pause, Rewind features! Dont miss your favorite shows! Progressive DVD players, Truly Free Unlimited Hi-Speed Fibre WiFi access for all guests. IPod Docks and off-street parking. Relax by the solar-heated pool or experience the many cultural and adventure attractions that Nelson offers. Walk or mountain bike to the center of New Zealand or Rabbit Island and enjoy the spectacular views. Visit the weekend market and pick up something special. Founders Park and the Japanese Gardens are great places to relax with the family. Nelson - your stepping stone to the Abel Tasman National Park, Rainbow Ski Field and Marlborough Sounds. Arcadia Motel - your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arcadia Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing