We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly hosts/staff”
Review of Saxton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saxton Lodge
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly hosts/staff”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights recently - a couple of days after Christmas. The host (Darryn) was very friendly and welcoming. The cleaning staff were also very friendly. We had a downstairs room facing the road. The room was spacious and we could hardly hear much from the road itself. The motel had an excellent communal kitchen and dining area - you can cook anything in this kitchen! It was also a bonus that the motel was very close to parks and playing fields. We had a great game of volleyball one afternoon in Saxton Park. The location was good - in between Richmond and Nelson City. We would recomment this place to anyone visiting Nelson and would certainly stay here again next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    39
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
40
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed one night in Saxton Lodge. The communal kitchen was large and well stocked and the motel very handy to the Richmond mall. Friendly and efficient check in and check out. The room was huge and the beds comfortable. The bathroom could have done with a more thorough clean (toothpaste marks etc visible on the bathroom vanity and mirror) but overall were happy with our stay here.

Room Tip: The units facing the road are very quiet - I was worried that there would be traffic noise - but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I'm a frequent traveller for work and always enjoy staying at the Saxton Lodge. My sister frequents this place alot with her sports affilliated job so she recommended it to me.
I speak more highly of the wonderful, friendly hosts- and they are the mian reason for my return visits. Very clean and spacious rooms. Fantastically comfy beds and hot, great pressured showers. Excellent value for money
There is a huge car parking area. The site itself is very quiet and very minimal (if any) road noise. They do have tea and coffee making facilities in the room and the communal kitchen supplies anything else you may require.
I would certainly recommend this place for group/family get to gethers, conferences or like myself, someone wanting a nice, quite and safe place to stay.
I look forward to my next trip :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Stayed 4 nights and was most impressed with the service - Staff very friendly and obliging , rooms very spacious and cleaned daily, very clean communal kitchen, shuttle free of charge to and from airport - overall a very pleasant experience and would recommend the Saxton Lodge to any travellers.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Pleasant/Professional hosts. Stayed three nights in a unit on the Saxton Rd side of the complex - no traffic noise & a spacious unit. The rate was very reasonable. Communal kitchen well stocked - white goods are due for a deep clean but other than that the kitchen area was of a good standard. Was a little disappointed that a request for daily vacuming was confirmed however never happened. Overall a very pleasant stay.. Thanks

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viv T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We met my folks in Nelson for a couple of nights and Dad booked us in Saxton Lodge. My sister & I literally chanced upon the hotel before needing to pull up a map. Huge amount of parking (so many other hotels/motels have one park per room). Iron & board, hair-dryer, coffee & tea making facilities in the room. We expected there to be a toaster etc and when there wasn't one we thought "oh - more like a hotel than motel then". Then Dad went for a walk & found the communal kitchen for his toast in the morning. Great idea. The rooms are VERY spacious - four of us in one room & not squashed. The rooms were very clean and had a wee courtyard (several chairs missing from outside rooms though). Some road noise, but did not keep me awake at all and the bed was good quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juanita93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I stayed at Saxton Lodge for one night and really liked it. The linen is spotlessly clean and the furnishing make you feel like you are in a luxury lodge. The room was huge and about the size of my studio/bed-sit apartment when I lived in Vancouver, BC, Canada. Really liked the huge shower and private balcony facing the sunset. It is a bit out of town, but central to driving to town, beach etc. Ample parking and easy to find. Nice quiet neighbourhood (no bars!) so a good quiet place to sleep.

Room Tip: Upstairs has no lift but the have balconies to sit outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richards1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
4.6 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
5.4 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
670 reviews
5.3 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
5.4 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
146 reviews
5.2 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saxton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxton Lodge

Property: Saxton Lodge
Address: 103 Saxton Road East, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Saxton Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering you comfortable, spacious motel style accommodation in Nelson for holiday vacations, group functions, sports team, business or corporate travellers. Saxton Lodge is the perfect option for anyone visiting Nelson. We offer spacious modern units for your comfort and conveniently located opposite Saxton Field, only 15 minutes' drive to Nelson city centre, 30 minutes' drive to Motueka, 3 minutes' drive into Stoke or Richmond, and approximately 5 minutes' drive from Nelson airport. We also offer a free airport transfer service on demand, subject to availability. For families coming to Nelson, the Saxton Field sporting complex is directly across the road and this has a children's playground. The aquatic centre is a 2 minute drive down Main Rd Stoke (toward Richmond) and we offer barbeque facilities, a spacious lawn for children to play safely and free off-street parking. With 84 car parks on the property, we can accommodate large vehicles, towing vehicles, camper vans, buses and trucks with ease. The property also has a fully equipped communal kitchen for you to prepare simple meals and a self-service laundry is also available onsite. Our accommodation is a two-storied complex with 48 generous sized units, consisting of Studios, and 1 & 2 Bedroom Units. All of our units have SKY Select 50+ TV, UFB Internet and Wifi, individual air-conditioning in each room so you can control your temperature, blackout curtains for a relaxing sleep, double glazed windows and soundproofed rooms to ensure quiet enjoyment, tea/coffee making facilities, and a mini fridge and an ensuite bathroom with shower. We also have rooms that have wet-floor showers to accommodate guests with limited mobility and all of our downstairs units have sliding doors opening out to patios. A number of our upstairs units have balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Saxton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing