We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VALUE HERE”
Review of Saxton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saxton Lodge
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2011

After trawling the older motels close to Tahunanui and being given high room rates and without air con on a very hot day, we decided to head back towards Stoke as we needed to be their the next day. My husband was getting fed up by this stage and decided to try the Saxton and blow the cost (not like him at all). What a pleasant surprise the studio unit was much cheaper than any other quoted. No cooking facilities in room but a communial kitchen available, we were given a toaster to use as we wanted to cook toast and that along with the coffee and tea making facilities in our room was fine for breakfast, told to use any dishes from kitchen and take to our room.. The accomodation was very clean large comfy bed in a large room and great bathroom facilities. Manager was great and we will certainly go back again when in Nelson

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YVONNE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2010

This is a great motel if you are visiting friends or playing sport at the adjacent Saxon Field, but a car is essential; the motel is located between Nelson and Richmond - there are no shops or restaurants nearby. The room was huge, and had been warmed in advance of our arrival - a very nice touch on a bleak day. Unlike most motels in NZ, there are no cooking facilities in the units, but there is a large communal kitchen, and a small function room. It would be ideal for a sporting team, but not for a couples getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeoBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ela0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-Desma, Manager at Saxton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank YureQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-Desma, Manager at Saxton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank graciela482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-Desma, Manager at Saxton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Wibmer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-Desma, Manager at Saxton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank rigmorrolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-Desma, Manager at Saxton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
4.6 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
5.3 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn Nelson
Quality Inn Nelson
#13 of 42 in Nelson
135 reviews
2.5 mi away
Greens Motel Nelson
Greens Motel Nelson
#32 of 42 in Nelson
78 reviews
3.3 mi away
Beaches Nelson
Beaches Nelson
#16 of 42 in Nelson
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saxton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxton Lodge

Address: 103 Saxton Road East, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: £66 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saxton Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering you comfortable, spacious motel style accommodation in Nelson for holiday vacations, group functions, sports team, business or corporate travellers. Saxton Lodge is the perfect option for anyone visiting Nelson. We offer spacious modern units for your comfort and conveniently located opposite Saxton Field, only 15 minutes' drive to Nelson city centre, 30 minutes' drive to Motueka, 3 minutes' drive into Stoke or Richmond, and approximately 5 minutes' drive from Nelson airport. We also offer a free airport transfer service on demand, subject to availability. For families coming to Nelson, the Saxton Field sporting complex is directly across the road and this has a children's playground. The aquatic centre is a 2 minute drive down Main Rd Stoke (toward Richmond) and we offer barbeque facilities, a spacious lawn for children to play safely and free off-street parking. With 84 car parks on the property, we can accommodate large vehicles, towing vehicles, camper vans, buses and trucks with ease. The property also has a fully equipped communal kitchen for you to prepare simple meals and a self-service laundry is also available onsite. Our accommodation is a two-storied complex with 48 generous sized units, consisting of Studios, and 1 & 2 Bedroom Units. All of our units have SKY Select 50+ TV, UFB Internet and Wifi, individual air-conditioning in each room so you can control your temperature, blackout curtains for a relaxing sleep, double glazed windows and soundproofed rooms to ensure quiet enjoyment, tea/coffee making facilities, and a mini fridge and an ensuite bathroom with shower. We also have rooms that have wet-floor showers to accommodate guests with limited mobility and all of our downstairs units have sliding doors opening out to patios. A number of our upstairs units have balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Saxton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing