We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Almond House Backpackers
Ranked #12 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Laid back and friendly”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Almond house is a great antidote to the countless faceless, chain-run party hostels around NZ. We stayed here about a year ago but if it is run by the same family then I doubt it will have changed. As another reviewer has stated it does feel like you are staying in somebody’s home, but I found this to be a big positive rather than negative thing! Fiona was welcoming and took the time to show up a map of the area and recommend things to do. There was a nice communal atmosphere and we enjoyed a couple of great evenings sitting in the lovely garden area and sharing food with new friends.
I would definitely recommend Almond House to anybody looking to get away from the Kiwi-Experience crowd!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyEllenN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    7
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
26
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Thanks Fiona and Paul for your wonderful hospitality. This is a warm cosy and very clean backpackers. Only a 5 min walk to the town centre. Free WIFI tea and coffee, together with a nice warm fire made this a memorable stay for us. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelJulie1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

It was great until the last day when the owner was rude and short with me for waiting in the living room too long after I checked out. It was barely 12pm and no one else was there but after what was a more or less pleasant stay (minus the lack of toilet paper in the washrooms and the ant problem in the room...yuk) I was sad to have been treated with such blatant disregard. It was not necessary but I suppose everyone has a bad day day? I won't be returning to this place though.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whereshegoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona_Lulham, Owner at Almond House Backpackers, responded to this review, 7 April 2011
In line with the majority of backpackers in New Zealand, we have a check out time of 10:00am. With prior arrangement, some guests may stay until 11:00am if they have not finished breakfast or have a later bus to catch. In this instance, I don't recall that any special arrangements to stay later were made. I'm sorry that this guest found my attitude in asking her to leave 2 hours after check out upsetting.

We do our utmost to maintain a clean and comfortable hostel. In all of our bathrooms, we provide extra toilet rolls in holders at the side of the toilets and these are refilled regularly throughout the day. Occasionally we have a guest who may not see our toilet roll holders.

We did have an instance this summer where we had ants in one bathroom, but they were quickly dealt with and to my knowledge this was the only occasion.

I'm sorry that you did not enjoy the end of your stay with us - although am pleased to note that the beginning of your stay was great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Small family-run and friendly backpackers away from all the party animals.
Two kitchens, spotlessly clean, garden area, hammocks and cat.
Close to the Sprig and Fern pub and the fish and chip shop-what more do you need?
5 minutes walk into Nelson and supermarket
Free internet and wifi

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andythetramper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.4 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#7 of 41 in Nelson
484 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
670 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#6 of 41 in Nelson
540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tasman Bay Backpackers
Tasman Bay Backpackers
#1 of 42 in Nelson
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Prince Albert Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almond House Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almond House Backpackers

Property: Almond House Backpackers
Address: 63 Grove Street | The Wood, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As world travellers ourselves we know what makes a great stay - whatever the season. Almond House summers are all about sunny garden bbqs and hammocks while in winter our log fire gatherings are the place to be. All year round you can go exploring on our bikes or yours (we're super cyclist friendly!), plan your next adventure (we'll help!), unwind with a book, stay connected with free internet and wifi, or - simply throw down your bags and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Almond House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing