We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Almond House Backpackers
Ranked #12 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
tokoroa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“close to city”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Almond House was a great place to stay, one and half blocks to walk to our conference. Really great gardens etc on the way Staff are friendly and helpful rooms clean and tidy. Priced right for our budget. Shuttle took us to and fro from air port. complementary bikes. loved the fact that Tea and coffee available also a microwave. staying in Nelson recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    6
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
26
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

spent 4 weeks at Almond House and enjoyed every minute. Fiona has lots of great advice on what to do in the area and makes you feel welcome. it is an easy 5-10 minute walk into town, close to shops, bars and restaurants in a quiet neighbourhood.
the rooms are spotless, clean and really comfy. lots of storage, bedside lamps, plenty of plugs, free wifi. shared facilities are fantastic too and always kept super clean.
both kitchens are superb and everything u need is in it. Did lots of baking here :-)
the lounge has a lovely fireplace and lots of space to relax and have a chat.
loved Missy the cat!
will always come back here!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlenaKoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaikohe, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2013

A group of four of us stayed at Almond house in Feb/March 2013. It was a great experience. This backpackers is quiet, clean, and extremely friendly. It is so close to the main shopping area and central city. Their loan bicyles were a great help to us!! Despite having to change our booking several times the staff were helpful, friendly and efficient. We are returning to Nelson again in Feb/March 2014 and will definitely stay here if we can get a booking. Thank you Peter, Fiona and Staff. Howie and Vicki

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The Almond House became my home away from home while I was living in New Zealand. The facilities are FANTASTIC and Paul and Fiona (and the kids!) are really welcoming and ready to assist in any way they can. I was a long term resident here and I loved every minute of it! You get a wide range of travellers who stay here, so it's not focused on just the younger crowd. The place was always kept clean and there was always space for everyone to hang out together or do their own thing. The location is perfect too; only a short walk to the city center and to many nice walks and hikes around the area.

And out of all the backpackers I've stayed at, this is by far my favorite. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I stayed a few nights here in a double room in the main house. From the moment I arrived, I was made to feel welcome by Fiona, and the whole place just oozed class and comfort.

The bedroom was spacious and spotless with plenty of storage. The bed was large and extremely comfortable. The shared bathroom was also kept immaculate.

There is a lovely modern kitchen area, with a relaxing lounge section opening out onto the terrace and the cosy back garden. There is a PC with free internet available in the lounge / kitchen and WiFi is also available.

Parking is free on the road, but there is plenty of space and it's perfectly safe.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leemwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, Gelderland, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I arrived late in Nelson and I saw Almond House in the BBH. I gave them a rang and it was no problem for me to come. They gave me the choice to sleep in the main house or in the backyard/garden house. I took the last one for 2 nights and I have noooooo regrets! The backyard was big but also cozy. I had the, really good equiped, kitchen/livingroom for myself and I could play music without bothering anyone. The bed was really comfortable and the bathroom was in really good condition. The owners from the Almond House were really nice and friendly! I really do recommend this hostel/house, I enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bargara, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The best backpackers I have stayed at in New Zealand to date. Spacious, comfortable, clean, quiet, plenty of amenities including hammocks in back courtyard and free internet/wi-fi. Fiona is a lovely and helpful host. Cheers!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyP54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.4 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
658 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
477 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bug Backpackers
The Bug Backpackers
#4 of 42 in Nelson
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tasman Bay Backpackers
Tasman Bay Backpackers
#1 of 42 in Nelson
235 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Prince Albert Backpackers
0.4 mi away
Aurora Backpackers
Aurora Backpackers
#33 of 42 in Nelson
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almond House Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almond House Backpackers

Property: Almond House Backpackers
Address: 63 Grove Street | The Wood, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As world travellers ourselves we know what makes a great stay - whatever the season. Almond House summers are all about sunny garden bbqs and hammocks while in winter our log fire gatherings are the place to be. All year round you can go exploring on our bikes or yours (we're super cyclist friendly!), plan your next adventure (we'll help!), unwind with a book, stay connected with free internet and wifi, or - simply throw down your bags and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Almond House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing