We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous but higgledy-piggledy ”
Review of Fellworth House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fellworth House
Ranked #22 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights and was impressed by the look of the place and its stunning views over Nelson. It is a bit of a walk up a hill (though still central to town!) and also rather understaffed. I had to make an effort to pay for my visit as the guy on duty said he was new and couldn't take a credit card payment from me. I eventually paid when the owner (?) was around but only after tracking her down.
Curtains were sheers so I'd recommend bringing an eye mask if you are at all light sensitive.
To their credit, when they were around the staff were very helpful. The kitchen facilities were in great shape, there was no fight for shared bathrooms, and I overheard staff helping a difficult guest who was having a loud, panicked meltdown about light coming in the window. I made use of the free laundry which was great to have. Continental breakfast was provided and bottomless teas and coffees. Nice place just needs to iron out a few kinks.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank Minty_Danni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

A wonderful old mansion with beautiful views over Nelson.
Comfortable large room with recent decor.although the bathroom was shared,there was never a problem.you can make tea/ coffee in kitchen and a continental breakfast is available.Although staff are not in evidence,there is a Bell to call them.A nice notice of welcome awaits at front door.
It is within easy walk of the centre of Nelson via steps down though the garden.Would recommend if you are happy looking after yourself in nice surroundings

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank sagittarius7Middx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Beautiful grand house offering B&B for two nights in January 2013. Found the young duty manager very helpful and the facilities most comfortable. Able to get into the city and visit the Cathedral and meet some friends (who live in Nelson). Would certainly come again if in the city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdjulesdt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We too had an interesting experience at Fellworth House. We arrived in mid-afternoon, no staff in sight, small sign on front desk with our name and room number. We ventured upstairs to room #2, a beautiful corner room on the 2nd floor with incredible views of Nelson and harbor. We would highly recommend booking this room. We ventured into the other public rooms and only encountered a German family that did not speak English. In the kitchen we found wine glass, plates and a knife. Having had a large lunch at the Mussel Pot in Havelock (see review) we had not planned on dining out, but rather eating our cheese, salami, and crackers enjoying the incredible views from our room. One of the down sides to staying in a B&B is often the shared bathroom, but it was huge with a standalone tub and a shower. Since there seemed to be few guests there was never a wait. Breakfast was included in the rate and in the morning we found continental breakfast set up on a table in the kitchen, still no staff. We left around 9 AM and still no staff, so we just left, the room had been booked through booking.com and they had our credit card number. The Fellworth house is beautiful but the lack of staff was a little weird.

Room Tip: Ask for room #2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

What a wonderful place to stay in !
Nice people, greatest view, quite and peaceful accommodation.
Soft price for this lovely house. If you want to stay in the Abel Tasman region and enjoy Nelson, this is it !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCL92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

Highly recommended if you don't mind sharing facilities. There are 2 large bathrooms, recently renovated, with high ceilings, elegant chandelier, separate shower, tub & toilet. There is also an extra toilet room available for guests in the 9 bedrooms so there is no problem sharing. The kitchen is nicely appointed with lots of pantry space & modern Bosch appliances. Bedrooms range from budget to palatial depending on your price range. The view of the bay is fantastic. Sit out on the balcony with a bottle of local Sauvignon blanc, some NZ cheese & enjoy the scenery.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HatzicMission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Beautiful colonial house in peaceful surroundings. Very good location not far from Nelson centre. Apartment was spacious, clean and comfortable. It was serviceable and very good value for money. Strongly recommend for everyone. Love this place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.6 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 42 in Nelson
518 reviews
0.8 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.7 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
2.5 mi away
Apex Motor Lodge
Apex Motor Lodge
#1 of 1 in Tahunanui
16 reviews
4.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fellworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fellworth House

Address: 193 Milton Street | The Wood, Nelson 7010, New Zealand (Formerly Golden Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Price Range: £34 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fellworth House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fellworth House is an accommodation venue situated on the lower hills above Nelson City. This elegant two-storey wooden house is built in the ornate Victorian Italianate style, featuring exceptional architecture, gleaming native timber, and antique furniture while still offering homely bedrooms and guest areas that flow immaculately to beautiful balcony and veranda views out to the sedate beauty of the Nelson city, sea and sunsets.Fellworth House is located just 100 metres from the geographical “Centre of New Zealand” landmark and its conservational walking tracks are some of the best ways to see beautiful landscapes and explore some of the vast wilderness of Nelson. Fellworth House is situated an easy 10 minute walk to the shops, cafes, bars, restaurants, galleries and theatres of the Nelson City centre and the famous Saturday Nelson Market, Nelson Cathedral and Nelson Provincial Museum.In true Nelson style there is no reception and the procedure is kept casual and simple with a notice at the front door reception area directing you to your room number upstairs. The grand old wooden staircase will lead you to all our 2nd floor rooms, kitchen and living areas. All equipment in our modern kitchen, dining and lounge areas are available for use by our guests.We offer a fully equipped kitchen with free coffee and tea, free laundry facilities, complimentary on-site wireless internet access, free local phone calls, satellite TV lounge and dining room with pot-belly style fireplace.Built in 1876 Fellworth House welcomes both locals and visitors from all over the world to experience a slice of colonial history in this uniquely situated Nelson accommodation and function facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fellworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing