We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unmet potential”
Review of A Woodsy House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Woodsy House
Ranked #27 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unmet potential”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Unfortunately I have to give this place a negative review. It takes a little while to get used to the room, of which our initial impression was that it was rather creepy looking. It had a damp smell to it and the towels, duvet, and bathrobes were so old and faded I couldn't tell if they had been properly washed or not. We assumed a "private bathroom" meant an ensuite bathroom when in actual fact we had to pass through the shared corridor to enter it.

Surprisingly the owners will not provide you a key even when asked. They assured me it was safe and nothing has happened but I definitely prefer to keep my door locked when out or sleeping for my own peace of mind.

Locationwise it's not far from the town centre, the owners are most thoughtful, friendly, accommodating, and eager to help. I wish I could give it a more positive review, and probably would have if only the room got an upgrade and a little redecoration. If that happens, I'd be keen to give this place another go.

Room Tip: I don't know about the other rooms but the Crystal room does not have an ensuite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boolnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harmony88, Owner at A Woodsy House, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
We are deeply dismayed and saddened when we discovered this review.We take great pride and pleasure from satisfied and happy guests.and believed our website to be pretty accurate in its pictures and descriptions of individual rooms. We howvever had no idea of the level of discontent as these guests did not accept our hospitality of coffee home made cake, wine or delicious home baked breakfast nor did they use the guest sitting room although it rained all day non stop. We like to respect guest privacy. However the criticisms they listed are factually inaccurate. There is underfloor heating and a new rich wool carpet. The duvet and bathrobes which they said were old and faded were both less that 6 weeks old, and there is ceritanly no mildew in the room. Rooms are cleaned daily with organic lavender essential oils . Our website clearly states it has private bathroom and not an ensuite..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    9
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Stunning victorian house overlooking nelson. Warm cakes and coffee was served when we arrived and the hosts were a delight, extremely helpful. Do not miss the breakfast which was simply delicious! The takeaway at Milton is a must as well. Sit by the garden to watch the sunset. If you love cats, you will adore theirs. She snuggles up to u. Did not want to leave the place and will definitely be back !

Room Tip: we had the Topez room which is the biggest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anndrea21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

After staying in hotels and motels around the South Island, this was like arriving at a friend's home. We were greeted with tea/coffee and homemade cake. The room was spacious and although we didn't have an ensuite we had a private bathroom two doors away. As we had the Crystal Room on the ground floor we also were the only guests to use the lounge which had tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge to store beer, wine or food. There was also free use of a computer to check and send emails.
The hosts were very welcoming and I would recommend A Woodsey House to anyone travelling to Nelson.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thehughes48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Spent a lovely time in the peace and tranquility of this charming B&B. The owners provide the warmest of welcomes and can't do enough to make sure you trip runs smoothly. We also had the best sleeps ever - it was SO quiet. I thoroughly enjoyed a trek up the hill to the geographical centre of NZ (just behind their property). Amazing views! We also loved the local Take-A-Way that brought your fish & chip order into the pub next door to enjoy with a large glass of NZ Sauv Blanc:) Oh, and if you love cats, you'll want to take Sophie (their adorable Burman) home in your suitcase:) We will return!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R4YJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quarry Bonk
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

An old house on a hill looking over the town but still an easy walk to the centre. Decent-sized room with lovely old furniture. The bathroom (including the longest bath either of us had ever seen!) was separate but that posed no problem; it's two steps from the bedroom. Breakfast was superb - lots of home-made goods in a big kitchen with large windows. There's an upstairs balcony for communal use, pleasant for a drink while looking over the town to the sea. Nelson is an interesting place -- lots of artists, a good museum, nice parks and walks in the hills or along the river. You should take a look, and this B&b is a great place to stay, with friendly, interesting owners.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffAstle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

We enjoyed our two night stay here. Peaceful location, tucked into a hill with great views and surrounded by a beautiful garden. Walk to central town in 15-20 min. Also easy to walk to a couple of scenic trails. Driving in Nelson is also easy, if you don't feel like walking. The homemade bread and granola at breakfast are top notch. Enjoyed chatting with the hosts about culture, economics, etc.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zipper4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Cere
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Selene and Shane offer a warm welcome to their historic house set back from the town of Nelson. Lovely views from the guest balcony especially the sunsets. Good spacious rooms with private bathroom down the corridor. Lots of interesting artefacts in the house giving it the personal touch. The hosts have lots of local knowledge and are always keen to help you in any way they can.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lacam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.0 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
3.6 mi away
Greens Motel Nelson
Greens Motel Nelson
#32 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riverlodge Motel
Riverlodge Motel
#23 of 55 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
3.1 mi away
Courtesy Court Motel
Courtesy Court Motel
#26 of 55 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
1.0 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#15 of 55 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Woodsy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Woodsy House

Property: A Woodsy House
Address: 121 Grove Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A Woodsy House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your A Woodsy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing