We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet corner of Nelson with Views to Match”
Review of A Woodsy House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
A Woodsy House
Ranked #28 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Our stay at Woodsy was so relaxing and soothing, and the location is wonderful: in the foothills looking out over the town. Shane and Selene were gracious and helped us plot our stay in the area. While downtown is a little walk, parking is easy and there is a great bodega, takeaway and pub just a block away. We stayed in the Lilac room and the bed was dreamy and soft. The breakfast was great, and it was wonderful to eat it looking out watching the sun rise over the city.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2012

An older home that has been renovated over the years. If you want a place that is like an older estate home - this is the place. Large comfortable rooms and attentive care from the owners. The breakfast was an extra cost but well worth it for the home made food. If you are expecting polished granite and modern furniture like a major hotel chain - you will be disappointed. TVs in the bedrooms could use an upgrade. Easy 20 minute walk to the town centre. Beautiful gardens and great views. Not open year round and they do not take credit cards.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mawman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harmony88, Owner at A Woodsy House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2012

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay ! Cards are held as a security on Agents sites and not released. A full receipt is given on departure after payment. We are waitng for Nelson to become digitilised with Freeview in April before upgrading. Thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

My wife and I recently had a lovely stay at the Woodsy house. A great old house and fantastic location - also very secluded from main area as well which is a perfect balance for a nice restful sleep (as well as for ourselves in having a van crammed with furniture away from the eye on the main street).

Owners were great company and we shared a number of stories from our combined travels. Breakfast was very yummy too - all home made and the muesli, yoghurt, bread and muffins were gorgeous. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scandikiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Lovingly restored old house with comfortable rooms and nice views. The owners provide lots of tips for Nelson area and also do pickups from the local bus station; nice cup of tea upon arrival. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

On our arrival at Woodsy house we had a lovely welcome with tea & home made cake which was much appreciated. We also received plenty of advice about what to see & do in the Nelson area.We did not take advantage of the breakfast provided as we were happy to do our own e.g toast which we managed in the guests lounge but I got the impression that we were in the minority. Our room was furnished with olde worlde furniture in keeping with the rest of the house. It was really handy having free internet access. Overall rating of the property was fairly good.

Room Tip: Although we stayed in the room downstairs, we were shown a room upstairs before we left which had gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed 3 nights here and really loved the character of the place which was a traditional historic wooden house in a charming elevated position about 15 minutes walk from the centre of Nelson (which is also charming). Also great location for nice river walks and walks to the centre of NZ.
We stayed in Topaz room which was large and comfortable with nice wooden furniture and tea and coffee making facilities. We had our own bathroom with a large claw foot bath and double shower which was across the landing from our room but gowns are provided for the night time visits!
The constant noise of the crickets does take some getting used to but fortunately it is just during the day and not a problem at night. Also worth using insect repellent as sand flies are a pain here.
The skylight in the room does flood the room in the morning so don't expect too much of a lay in.
The breakfast was really lovely with fruit, yoghurt and home made grenola and home made bread and muffins (Yum).
Shane was a wealth of information and gave us lots of ideas of what to see and do locally.
There was a small fridge that we were able to use and wired internet was available for limited time. Free wifi and laundry facilities would have been good.
We were also picked up from town and dropped back, which was really useful as we were travelling on intercity bus.
This is a great place to stay in Nelson for the money and would recommend it.
Tip try the sprig and fern pub just down the road great beers and can use the great take-away next door and eat in the pub. Also stefannoes pizzas in town are excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This was the most wonderfully, relaxing and indulgent break I've experience in years. The location and house could not have been more exquisite.....the owners know how to cater to all ages and desires; this was a slice of pure heaven and my partner and I wanted for nothing. It was just what we were looking for - peace, beauty and a place to recharge our batteries after a long flight. The breakfasts were spectacular and the overall service second to none. I would highly recommend booking in advance before this gem of place becomes too popular.... By the way, we stayed in the Crystal Room which boasted a private bathroom for our soul use. The people who wrote the last review must have got their hotels mixed up... the fresh scent of lavender oil and beautiful new bed linen and bath robes added a touch of sheer indulgence and made our stay even more wonderful. I know this will not disappoint!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harmony88, Owner at A Woodsy House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Nannette, Thank you for your very glowing review. Your the second couple from London to come straight here to our Nelson abode this year and after disappearing into your room for 15 hours we were delighted when you finally emerged after such a long sleep and really enjoyed your vivacious company , interesting conversation and great sense of humour for three days . Crystal is actually our smallest room but with its huge comfortable super king bed maybe we will re name it to the" jet lag room"!!! Hope the rest of your trip and repose from your very full lives in London fill you with new inspiration. Do pop in for a coffee and spa if your coming back this way on your from Queenstown and west coast. it would be lovely to hear of all your adventures. Selene and Shane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.8 mi away
Nelson City TOP 10 Holiday Park
1 mi away
Joya Garden & Villa Studios
0.7 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.7 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
3.4 mi away
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
#3 of 42 in Nelson
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Woodsy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Woodsy House

Address: 121 Grove Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: £53 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A Woodsy House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your A Woodsy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing