We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was it really time for a change?”
Review of The Monaco Kitchen

The Monaco Kitchen
Ranked #38 of 179 Restaurants in Nelson
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Monaco Kitchen is in a well-known location on the Monaco peninsula (Nelson, New Zealand), presenting a new dining concept in a stunning location. Championing our local produce we aim to provide a sharing experience with small bites, sharing plates and feasts that you can enjoy with your friends, family or your sweetheart
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Was it really time for a change?”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I loved the previous decor and can't see the need for the change. The green plastic chairs really cheapen the look and are certainly not comfortable. While our food (mainly steaks) were cooked as we wanted and tasted great, the portion of food served has gone down considerably from when we have dined there previously. I object to paying additional money for side dishes. The men in our party don't want to go back, as they are 'average Kiwi blokes' who like more food than what they got. The service was 10/10 and the toilets were worth a look, as some of the best I have ever seen anywhere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoisMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    75
    29
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice meal,cold room,meal service a bit slow”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Had nice steak meal...relatively expensive especially with no veges but very nicely cooked.
Had to wait quite a long time for meal and then noticed another table of 4 who came in well after us had their meals.I said to the very helpful waitress that we were waiting on our 2 meals.She was very apologetic and offered us a free glass of wine or coffee at the end...excellent service.Where we were sitting was cold as draughty and had to put my husbands puffer jacket on while eating.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We really enjoyed it!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Lovely meal on a Grab one voucher. The Charcutiere platter was delish....
The Steak perfectly cooked to rare, as requested...the potato flip, too salty for our palate.
Best of all was the friendly, willing and knowledgeable service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal out with friends”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Visiting friends in Tasman from the UK. Friendly, attentive service, particularly enjoyed the confit duck ravioli, the beef cheek with chorizo and the Canterbury lamb. Well worth a visit if you're in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia6048_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A classy venue worth the visit.”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Great food and a venue with a lovely atmosphere. The restaurant is part of the Grand Mercure Monaco and could be a one stop venue for those who don't wish to seek alternate dining venues. It offers all that you need with a style and class worthy of the setting. Prices were upper margin for the area but fair for the high quality of food and service delivered

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JANDK2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Monaco Kitchen also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Monaco Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing