We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, perfect hosts”
Review of Retiro Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Retiro Park Lodge
Ranked #6 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Beautiful location, fabulous knowledgeable hosts (nothing was too much trouble for them).Thoroughly enjoyed and didnt want to leave! Thank you both (and the breakfasts were incredible!) Lovely having all the animals around as well..peaceful and quiet..the most beautiful green property with lush green stunning gardens. Thoroughly recommend going to stay. Thank you very much Robert and Victor, and all the best for the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kriszty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retiro36, Owner at Retiro Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Dear Krizsty, thank you for taking the time writing such lovely review. It was a pleasure having you amongst us and sharing our local the knowledge over the beautiful places that abound in the area, and that we like to tell everybody about. We wish you all the best and hope to see you again at Retiro Park Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Retiro Park Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2013

Coming upon Retiro Park was the highlight of our trip. Robert and Victor, our hosts were superb. A welcome drink and short walk around the lower farm let us escape into the beautiful surroundings carefully cared for but not so that it spoiled the natural settings. Our suite was everthing it claimed in the advertisment - and more. Bed comfortable and dressed with good quality linen, furnishing of the best and in good taste but most of all it had an ambience that made one feel welcome and very special. The homestead, is immaculate and very comfortable. We indulged in a sumptious breakfast enjoying the outdoors and splendid weather. This an accommodation experience not to be missed. So near to town and all the surrounding attractions but away from the hustle and bustle of the too many people. It was refreshing, rejuvenating and it is hoped we can retun in the very near future. Thank you so much Robert and Victor for all your kindness.

Room Tip: Book the 'barn' well in advance - really something special.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank May A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We arrived at Retiro Lodge midway through our trip of a lifetime to NZ, to be met by Robbert and
dear Flavia, with the offer of a cup of tea in the beautiful garden, immediately we felt at home, our
fabulous accommodation was in the barn, which made the experience an unforgettable one.
The hospitality of Robbert and Victor was truly exceptional, wonderful conversation, superb food
and the location of Retiro Lodge "Breathtakingly beautiful" and so peaceful. So sad we live on the other side of the world. We have promised ourselves we will visit again sometime.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retiro36, Owner at Retiro Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Dear Janet and Richard, We are glad that your experience at Retiro Park Lodge makes you feel wanting to come back to New Zealand and stay again amongst us. Thanks very much for having taken the time writing such lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We've been to a number of B&B places in NZ and abroad over the years, and this is definitely right up there in terms of the overall experience. The location is obviously spectacular – and the sights within close-range are second to none – but the lodge itself sets itself apart with some really nice touches. We couldn't have hoped for a better stay while we tripped around the South Island. Many thanks again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waikatonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retiro36, Owner at Retiro Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Dear WaikatoNZ, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Retiro Park Lodge. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Robert and Victor are marvellous hosts and made for great company over dinner - Victor is an excellent chef with food for both breakfast and dinner excellent (Tip:dont let Robert make the tea!). The lodge setting is visually beautiful and peaceful, with plenty to do for a family given various animals on site and walks around the estate. I stayed in The Barn and the room was spacious and very well presented - and with only a few rooms at the lodge overall it makes for a more personal and less hurried experience. I thoroughly recommend Retiro Park. M Walker - November 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retiro36, Owner at Retiro Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Dear Malcom, Thank you for taking the time to write this encouraging review. We are glad you had a good time. We take your tip! in the future Robbert will be in charge of to the baking! We hope to see you soon again at Retiro Park Lodge in your next trip to beautiful Nelson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed three nights at Retiro Lodge and loved every minute of it. Our hosts Robbert and Victor were lovely, very accommodating and always ready to have a chat.

We stayed in the Barn accommodation, which was well appointed, very comfortable and clean - it was so comfortable we spent a day in relaxing when the weather turned.

Victor is a wonderful cook and we ate dinner at the Lodge on our first night, which was delicious and he cooked a feast for breakfast every morning. The property itself is well cared for with a beautiful garden and farm, with many animals happy to say hello.

Make sure to but this on your destination list when you go to Nelson!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retiro36, Owner at Retiro Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Dear Jessica, thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor. Your comments encourage us into maintaining the standards to give our customers the best possible experience when staying at Retiro Park Lodge. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My stay in Retiro Park Lodge was a wonderfoul experience.It is located in a valley with amazing views.You can disappear from the routine of the city, and feel the Nature 100% . I learned a lot about wine, animals, fruit trees..The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. But above all I enjoyed a lot, Victor and Robert are lovely people and very friendly. I hope to return again. Thank you very much for your hospitality and your great spirit. I wish you all the best.
THANK YOU !!! GRACIAS!!! BEDANKT!!

Sergio

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChechuNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
6.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
672 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#15 of 41 in Nelson
381 reviews
6.8 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Te Puna Wai Lodge
Te Puna Wai Lodge
#3 of 55 in Nelson
332 reviews
6.5 mi away
Shelbourne Villa
Shelbourne Villa
#8 of 55 in Nelson
171 reviews
6.5 mi away
Joya Garden & Villa Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retiro Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retiro Park Lodge

Address: 152 Teal Valley Road, Nelson 7071, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: £152 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Retiro Park Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retiro Park Lodge offers friendly, personalyzed, memorable accommodation in an oasis of quiet country luxury: Surrounded by an extensive garden, in a 90-acre park-like property, nestled amongst hills and sitting along the river in beautiful Teal Valley, but minutes away from Nelson City’s bustle. The property rears Llamas and Alpacas that roam freely in the paddocks surrounding the lodge and also has its own producing vineyard, olive and almond groves. Our Bed and Breakfast is a destination on its own and the perfect base to explore the region’s most sought after attractions: it is within easy reach for day excursions from “The Abel Tasman”, “Kahurangi” and “Nelson Lakes” National Parks and “The Marlborough Sounds” and its wine growing region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Retiro Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing