We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food and atmosphere”

Smugglers Pub and Cafe
Ranked #9 of 196 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: SUPREME WINNER TOP SHOP 2014 and WINNER FOOD, BEVERAGE & HOSPITALITY CATEGORY - NELSON The Smugglers Pub and Cafe is famous for its hearty meals, foaming craft ales and great wines all served up in a unique old world atmosphere.Located within easy walking distance from Nelson's Tahunanui Beach and set amongst the areas' busy motel district, the Smugglers is ideally placed to cater for your group no matter how large or small. Food is available all day and into the evening with extensive snack, lunch and dinner menus including gluten free and children's menus for young smugglers. We stock a variety of regional, national and international wines along with Mac's & Speights beers, Guinness, Kilkenny, Becks and Stella Artois.We are open seven days a week including most holidays and absolutely no surcharges ever. So come on down relax and enjoy the award winning atmosphere that is so unique to Smugglers.
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Love going to this place they have a great menu to choose from and the portion sizes are very generous, great service and the prices are very reasonable. The restaurant and bar has an awesome atmosphere and it's a very welcoming place, highly recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MzDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alibeare001, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers Pub and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback, its great to hear that you enjoy the atmosphere and food at Smugglers, look forward to your next visit.

Mick & Paul (Co-Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 405 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I regularly go to Smugglers.
Great service, and always made to feel welcome.
Good pub food. Never had any problems with the preparation or cooking of the food.
As a couple of 'oldies' we do enjoy the Seniors meals.
The portions are just right.
Definitely worth a visit if you haven't been there yet.
It's a great wee place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank blackdog47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alibeare001, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers Pub and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Glad you enjoy your visits to Smugglers, our Seniors meals are very popular and it is nice to hear feedback..Thanks again..

Mick & Paul ( Co-Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have been to this restaurant over the years several times either with my husband or in a group. The staff are always pleasant and helpful. The food was well cooked and plentiful with a selection that my grandchildren enjoyed. I have recommended it to other people who have also enjoyed the experience. Going there next month for a birthday and looking forward to the meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alibeare001, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers Pub and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for reviewing Smugglers we always try to make everyone feel welcome, look forward to seeing you for your birthday party

Mick & Paul (Co-Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is an unpretentious pub, our local actually, with interesting and well done pirate themes. There's plenty of choice for different types of seating - outdoor, large benches (with a little fire pit thing), nooks and seats up near the bar, or TVs.
The service is always friendly and prompt. Its good pub food, and the mains are generous, wiht plenty of vegetables.
I'd recommend this place for meeting friends for a casual night out - its lovely and warm inside!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alibeare001, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers Pub and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

We appreciate your review and glad that you enjoy Smugglers enough to call it your local, look forward to seeing you again soon.

Mick & Paul (Co-Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I found the service to be ok, nothing better than that. Food came out in a reasonable time after ordering, But 4 out of the 6 meals ordered were below average, Headless chicken meals x2 both were very bland and under cooked (tough to eat), Steak meal was grissly and even with a steak knife was not worth eating, 3/4s was left on the plate. and the pork meal tasteless, way under seasoned, even adding salt could not help it. Maybe the chef needs Gordon Ramsey to show him how to do it. The Fish and chips meals were ok, hard to stuff that up. Prices for meals were medium to high for that type of meal, the sides on the meals were only average. Also it was very noisy there, hard to talk over the table as other tables were loud. None of the people in our party will go back there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CoralandGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smugglers Pub and Cafe also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Smugglers Pub and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing