We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a cold pint at the museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Founders Park

Founders Park
Ranked #6 of 80 things to do in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Glen Innes, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“a cold pint at the museum”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We arrived late in the afternoon and were admitted free at this interesting assemblage of old colonial buildings.
They had a craft beer brewery on site, it being a sunny day we enjoyed a couple of pints of the finest brew el fresco, immersed in a place of the past, worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank michael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    129
    49
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
358 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Nelson City Council has a great tourist attraction in this venue but most importantly it helps preserve the invaluable history of the region. The tastefully built structural recreations allow you to step back in time to a previous era of NZ. The entrance fee was not much more than you pay for a cup of coffee and this is bargain attraction.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JANDK2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a piece of history”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

A piece of Nelson's history, a lot of old buildings and displays which were gathered from places around Nelson and re-erected in Founders Park. They also have an old railway train which runs on the weekends I think (in a circle). A little bit llike Shanty Town but I like Founders Park better. Plus they have lots of festivals and concerts there for which it is a very good location. Great beer there too at the cafe which is brewed in Founders park. Well worth visiting. Much underrated in the tourist industry. Could be promoted better I think

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franz Josef, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Was okay, just!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We visited the day after ANZAC day and everything appeared to be in 'recovery mode'. Maybe this was the reason why we left somehow disappointed. Beside the tidy up crew in action not a lot to see. Most likely not a normal experience if we would have visited another day.

Helpful?
Thank Alexander T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We really enjoyed wandering around this extensive historic village. The displays are interesting and well maintained, the staff and volunteers friendly and helpful. Great place to spend a few hours with the family. We had a train ride, explored the displays and enjoyed lunch at Founders Brewery where there is a great playground and excellent kids options on the menu. Entry is cheap.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Founders Park also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Founders Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing