We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a Sunday brunch”
Review of Melrose House Cafe

Melrose House Cafe
Ranked #3 of 175 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a Sunday brunch”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

My wife and I wanted somewhere nice to have brunch to celebrate our 30th anniversary before going to movies. Ended up having a great lunch each and had coffee and cakes after instead of rushing to movies. Sat in the sun on the terrace. Young wait staff were really on to it and the whole thing was relaxed and well-paced. We've had tea here before, and that's great, but this felt like the special occasion we wanted and we really enjoyed everything about it. Will definitely be back. My wife had an all-day brekkie but I didn't have my usual food envy by having fish of the day, which was a fish-heavy Laksa that I really loved. Thanks!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rigornz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    78
    18
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Made to feel so special”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

As we walked in the lovely Angela greeted us as though she had been waiting all morning for our visit. What a beautiful cafe to spend time in. The food and coffee are superb and the atmosphere is relaxed and warm. If you have time before or after your food and drink do spend time in the garden which has wonderful old trees surrounding the beautifully restored house.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Could have been great!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stopped here on the way to the airport really liked the sound of the duck however we were running out of time so we decided to have scones and Juice- the pear and lemon juice was so nice and the scones were perfect! Date coming with jam and cream. Ladies were really friendly!

Here's the bad.. They serve the food with fresh flowers from the garden and my particular flower had ants. I counted at least 6 which really put me off eating. I told the lady and she brushed it off saying that it was because they were from the garden. Even so nobody wants a plate full of ants!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eva N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION,EXCELLENT FOOD & SERVICE”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Called in last Saturday for a late lunch,
the staff was very kind and professional and the food was simply amazing.
I had an entree with mozzarella cheese and parma ham ande then beef filet as a main with veggies and an ice cream ( gelato ) at the end!
Ange and Jess are managing the guests in a fantastic way!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raf19712014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best morning tea!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Spoil yourself to a divine morning tea at Melrose House. Excellent service and a beautiful setting. The plates and cups that are used are special. The scone (with cream!) had a lovely camilla flower on the plate as decoration.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank 493Catherine3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Melrose House Cafe also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Melrose House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing