We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch beside the sea”

The Boathouse Society
Ranked #4 of 20 Coffee & Tea in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Boathouse is a large attractive wooden heritage building built over the sea on the picturesque Nelson Haven. It is owned & run by The Boathouse Society that was set up in 1986 to restore the building and today it operates as a Cafe, Event & Performance Space, Wedding & Function Venue, Community Hall & Club. Cafe open to the public Wed, Thursday, Friday lunchtimes & Friday evenings. Please note we are NOT the Boatshed Cafe !
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch beside the sea”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Lovely location, looking over the sea towards Haulashore Island. Delicious food and great service. Quite a fine dining experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    30
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oliver, Canada
Level Contributor
244 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Basic good....... Food Line up like a cretin...........”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Attended "Buskers gone Bad" tonight............and it was "bad" as in a tin of tuna that had been sitting open for 3 days. Absolutely the MOST amateur performance I have ever witnessed including "little theatre" in towns with less than 5,000 people . For GOD's sake..........spend your money on anything but this travesty of an evening of "entertainment"............It was a BAD joke.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rahall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, beautiful sunset”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We had a table on the deck overlooking the water and watched the sun set while sipping our delicious wine. It had been a glorious, hot day so the table was the best in the house! The food was delicious. We shared a salad to start, - so beautifully presented, - and then I had the steak and my husband the fish. Finished off with delicious coffee. No room for dessert. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great water views.......”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Relaxing views over the water. Seafood chowder had curry taste and was disappointing. "In house bread seemed commercial.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food, great view.”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Not only do they have one of the best views in town, they also have amazing staff, a great menu and decent prices. I had the lamb salad and it was by far the best I've had. I'd highly recommend it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Punkysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boathouse Society also viewed

Nelson-Tasman Region, South Island
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Boathouse Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing