We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden treasure”
Review of Crusoes Cafe

Crusoes Cafe
Ranked #30 of 175 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Cafe, European, Fusion, International, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open Tuesday-Sunday 7am-3pm for breakfast & lunch Crusoe's is the ideal place to dine. Indoor & Outdoor sitting, fully fenced kids playground, free wifi. Crusoe's food is quality comfort food, We buy our supplies from local growers, make and bake everything from scratch, the traditional way, no chemicals and powders involved. Huge selection of GLUTEN FREE, DAIRY FREE ,VEGETARIAN, PALEO, LCHF & VEGAN dishes. Special Functions tailored to your likes and needs.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
153 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Crusoe's is my cafe of choice when I am in Nelson.
It doesn't matter if I am alone or with a crowd, they cater specifically to my needs and wants.
The food is always excellent, the owners & staff are friendly and welcoming.
I love that they cater for allergies so well, the meals are made from local fresh produce, and your plate is always attractively & deliciously presented.
You will never leave hungry!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Raewyn7150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    8
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Eating at Crusoe's Cafe, Nelson”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I was a bit disappointed in the food as I order smoked chicken and instead of the usual smoked chicken I was given dried meat from their smoker, so rather wouldn't be in a hurry to go back there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 450Eileen450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anated, Owner at Crusoes Cafe, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Dear Eileen,
We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience at Crusoe's.
We have a "check on the guests" policy and if they are not happy we replace the dish.
If you'll be kind enough, please tell us what did you ordered from our menu so we can double-check.
Kind Regards,
Crusoe's management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An afternoon treat for ourselves and friends.”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

What delicious food. This is the second time I have eaten here and I highly recommend it. Beautiful fresh food, and lots of it! A fantastic ambience, nice and warm on a cold evening and beautiful eating al fresco in the summer. I highly recommend this great cafe and it's warm and friendly owners.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank k1w1chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stopped here at around 11 am, on our way to an early afternoon flight out of Nelson. We both had a nice breakfast, in an attractive courtyard. Service was very good (not crowded at that hour on a weekday)

Helpful?
3 Thank SBSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
420 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
“Lovely courtyard, great amosphere, great food”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is a hidden gem in Stoke, Nelson for coffees, or lunches. The large outside courtyard also has a playground for young children. The food is fresh and well prepared. I enjoyed my lunch there recently so much that I went back again the following week with my parents. The indoor area has a fire place I think, but I enjoy sitting outside in one of the many tables available. They also have a great range of drinks. They have a range of food dishes on the menu from Seafood to steak sandwiches, salads, fish, chicken, pasta. I think there is something there that will appeal to everyone

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nzp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crusoes Cafe also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Crusoes Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing