We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Nelson” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambria House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cambria House
Ranked #15 of 59 Nelson B&B and Inns
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best in Nelson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

What a joy to stay here. Came home with house envy. Comfortable and spacious accommodation. Lovely breakfast in a family friendly dining room where you get to eat with other guests around a huge table and share stories. Karole and Dave could not have been more helpful, booking a trip to Abel Tasmin national park for us. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Wonderful stay, highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarelAnne, Owner at Cambria House, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thankyou for your high praise; we always aim to be the best! Kind Regards, Karel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    16
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
52
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We really enjoyed our two night stay at this delightful property, within a 15 minute walk to Nelson town.Karel and David made us feel really at home and as they are N.Z born and bred had a vast knowledge of this beautiful country.
Our room was very comfy although we did find the en suite rather small (a minor detail).Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and top ingredients.Another nice touch was the free wi fi which in many of the big hotels you have to pay for.If you need to book any trips Karel is always there to arrange it for you.Parking is close at hand at the front of the property.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDMWareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarelAnne, Owner at Cambria House, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thankyou for your complimentary and informative review. Cheers, Karel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Cambria House at the end of a tour of South Island. We had family near by so this was an obvious choice for us to stay at Cambria House as the location was perfect. However, we do not think we could have picked a better place ourselves, it was perfect in every way. The hosts, Karel and David could not do enough for us and were informative yet respectful of our privacy. They were flexible with our arrival and departure times to suit our ongoing plans and the place itself is just beautiful. The breakfast is plentiful with a large variety to choose from and the added free wifi was just incredible. If you don't have your own device there is a pc for your use, this is very rare in NZ but so useful for keeping in touch with home. We would not hesitate to stay again and would highly recommend anybody wanting to stay close to the centre of Nelson without all the bustle.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BevTren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarelAnne, Owner at Cambria House, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thankyou, a pleasure to have you, Karel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

Although we only stayed here for one night, we thoroughly enjoyed it. As other visitors have said the hosts were extremely friendly and helpful, especially after we arrived fairly late following the ferry crossing and and wet drive down to Nelson. After leaving our cases in the spacious and comfortable room, we were given recommendations for restaurants in town. The choice of restaurants in Nelson is excellent and it was pity is was so wet that evening because the main area in town for restaurants is just great for open-air dining on the wide pavements. In fact after breakfast the following morning we went back to the town centre just to stroll around (it was sunny) and found lots of locals sitting outside the restaurants having coffee and brunch (Sunday morning). We were really pleasantly surprised about Nelson and would have preferred to stay at least one more night, but unfortunately our scheule didnt have that flexibility.
Cambria House is excellent and the hosts provide excellent accommodation and breakfasts, Recommend to anyone looking a peaceful stay on their NZ Holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarelAnne, Owner at Cambria House, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
I am pleased you enjoyed Nelson. We often hear our "one-nighter guests" wishing they had longer to stay in Nelson. Take note all ye who are in the planning stage! Thanks for your response, Karel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

We stayed at Cambria house for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon trip around New Zealand.

The house is beautiful and our room was very large with a comfy bed. The bathroom was fantastic with a free standing bath and seperate shower. Karel's breakfasts were very good and she happily accomodated our request for an early breakfast when we were travelling to Abel Tasman for the day. She was also very helpful in booking our Abel Tasman trip.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JB246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarelAnne, Owner at Cambria House, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thankyou James, Always happy to provide an early breakfast for those going to the Abel Tasman National Park. Best Wishes to you both, Karel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

An extremely well run B&B. I can only repeat and agree with all points made by other previous reviewers. Suffice to say that hosts Karel & David go out of their way to ensure you have a pleasant stay making it "a home from home".Their advice and recommendations ensured that our three day stay with them gave us a flavour of both Nelson and the Abel Tasman National Park. Our large room with a garden verandah together with the modern bathroom made for a very comfortable and pleasant stay. A delicious and hearty breakfast of choices always provided us with a proper start to our day. In addition the choice of free sherry or port if required in the evening added a unique touch.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alsaldevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarelAnne, Owner at Cambria House, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
A delight to have you stay, Alan and Sally. Do come back! Best Wishes, Karel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
137 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

A superior bed and breakfast is how it markets itself and it meets those boasts easily. We had a very friendly welcome from both of our hosts who could not do enough to help you.

The huge room had period furniture and also had an equally large bathroom with both a bath and separate shower cabinet and a bonus was a switch for under floor heating. Our room had the usual TV but also had a DVD player and full micro stereo system with use of the house CD's and DVD’s if we wished.

Breakfast was served at our designated time of juice, muesli / cereal followed by a choice of cooked breakfast with toast and the usual jams and honey. One choice at breakfast was smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. All were served freshly cooked to our requirements.

Karel and David both were very helpful in suggesting places to visit and eat e.g. a bus and boat trip to Abel Tasman Nature Reserve for a very interesting walk. The bus picked us up from just around the corner and Karel did all the hard work by booking the trip for us. We, like all guests, had free use of David's desktop computer with full access to the internet at no cost. Most unusual in New Zealand.

A quiet place that is very close to the centre of Nelson. Really the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank makesholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarelAnne, Owner at Cambria House, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thankyou for your complimentary review; hope you will come again. Best Wishes, Karel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.9 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
4.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.3 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#6 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria House

Property: Cambria House
Address: 7 Cambria Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambria House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cambria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing